Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

I met dr Julie Burge and staff in 1995. She is so dedicated to helping healing and house calls, I also have so much respect for all her care and love she provides birds in need. You can count on her for her help whether it's for rescuing birds in need a screening the adopted parents of a bird or owner in need of assistance. Dr Julie Burge and staff are a wonderful ,caring loving rescue organization that should be commended for their devotion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes I could think of except they are deserving of any grants available.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2014

more

May 31, 2014

I just started going to Dr. Burge a few months ago, and I think she is incredible. She obviously knows her stuff, and is willing to give excellent advice to help you with any bird problems that arise. I feel bad for her and the other people that work there, though, because they see so many sad cases day in and day out. Believe me, she and her staff are very much appreciated out here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a $100,000 endowment so they could take in more birds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

I have never met an organization more dedicated to the health and well being of animals. They are open 6 days a week, and will even return your phone calls for emergencies on their one day off. I adopted one of my babies from there, and wouldn't take all 3 of them anywhere else for their care.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

We have been clients of Dr. Burge for 8 years. I have never met anyone so dedicated to the well being of birds. She works tirelessly for birds that need help for rescue or health issues. I have nothing but good things to say about Dr. Burge and Nurse Julie and their staff. We have adopted 3 birds from Burge Bird Rescue and she gave us the history and health issues of each bird. I have a lot of respect for the work they do to rescue birds.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

Dr. Julie and Nurse Julie are my heroes, as is their crew of volunteers who also work tirelessly to help abused, abandoned, and homeless birds, dealing with heartbreaking stories almost every day. Each and every bird is given compassionate, knowledgeable and thorough care, whether it be just grooming or life-saving surgery.
I first learned of Burge Bird Rescue several years ago when my Peach Fronted Conure became very ill and am firmly convinced he would not have lived as long as he did without their special care. It was like a breath of fresh air for appointments to be more like visiting with concerned family members instead of the, “wham bam, take a number and stand in line, Ma’am,” attitude so common with other bird vets.
Their dedication to and compassion for bird health and safety is apparent in their website, where they clearly state that they make house calls, (how many vets do that nowadays?) and maintain detailed information on care, feeding and steps that can be taken in case of emergencies.
I’ve since adopted birds from Burge Bird Rescue. They’re the only bird vet I will see.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

I adopted four budgies (parakeets) from Burge Bird Rescue in November, 2013. Dr. Burge was extremely thorough in her communication with me about the birds' history, any potential medical issues, their recent medical tests. I was extremely impressed with the facility (clean, organized, cheery) and the staff (knowledgeable, helpful, efficient). Adopting a parrot is rewarding but can also be stressful, and I felt more confident than I have elsewhere that the birds received top-notch care and attention.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer it money with which it could expand its facility and staff; such good work is done there that it would be wonderful to enlarge the endeavor.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

Dr. Burge is an exceptional avian veterinarian. She is extremely knowledgeable and practical and dedicated to helping birds of all kinds. She will help paying customers and sweet ducks that she rescues on her own time! She was very helpful in educating my 12 year old on bird care, as we are new bird owners and have a lot to learn! You will love this practice and the results that you will get!
Stacy Lyle, DVM

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

Dr. Burge is one of the most Amazing individuals I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. She works tirelessly to make the world a better place for every wild, neglected, abused, and injured bird that she meets. I've never seen anyone give to the extent she does- dropping everything in a moment to aid any bird or birds in distress. She made the news several months ago when she rescued 6 parrots who spent the winter in an unheated, abandoned house. Of course the birds were all malnourished and suffering from the experience, but she brought them all back to health. Words cannot express how much I feel this woman deserves to be noticed and appreciated!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I only wish I lived closer so I could volunteer to help her!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

I have never met a more dedicated Veternarian. She will be there for anyone at anytime if day to help a bird in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

I personally don't know of any other vet but Dr. Julie Burge that puts in so many hours to help the needs of all varieties of birds! She is truly dedicated to her work. It's not just a job to her.... But her passion, love and life. There's not nearly enough space or time to write about the countless acts of compassion and kindness she extends to so many. I have personally been a recipient of that. I would never take my birds any where else. No matter what... She never turns away anyone or bird in need. 24/7 she's there. Always helping the birds in need! She doesn't always just work in her clean office.. She's not afraid to roll up her sleeves.. Go out and get dirty to save many of these birds from being left in abandoned homes...etc.. a sincere outstanding bird vet she truly is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers