Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.25
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

Since I came to know about Bully Paws, almost three years ago, I have adopted two pibble mixes from Bully Paws Pit Bull Patriots, Inc. My first dog, Bubba, was adopted when he was just shy of six years old. My second dog, Zena, was adopted just shy of her one year birthday. I can't even begin to explain how much I trust and respect this organization. They are passionate, caring, dedicated, and steadfast in their mission to help save as many pit bull mix dogs as they can. The adoption process is thorough and the volunteers tasked with vetting potential adopters and foster parents really go above and beyond to ensure these dogs go to good homes. In fact, I had such an amazing experience adopting through Bully Paws, that I ended up volunteering with them. My experience, and my wonderful furbabies, made me want to do everything in my power to help other dogs like the ones I was blessed enough to bring home. I can't say enough wonderful things about Bully Paws and I would recommend them to anyone looking to adopt or foster a dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing. This organization does an amazing job as it is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

My husband and I adopted our male pit bull mix puppy from Bully Paws in 2013 and our female American Bulldog in 2014. The experience was wonderful and everyone, from the volunteers to the foster parents, are thoroughly dedicated to serving the dogs in their care to the best of their abilities. The process for adopting or fostering is extensive and time-consuming but that is only because Bully Paws seeks to ensure that each dog is placed with the appropriate family and that each family acquires the appropriate addition to their pack.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more information and training to fosters

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

We adopted our first APBT mix, a 9 month old male, from Bully Paws in late 2013. He has become an integral part of our family and we couldn't imagine our life without him. The process does take a while, which us completely understandable considering the nature of the organization and the added challenge of the breed focus. All rescues are trying to check that adopters will be, in fact, forever homes and minimize the chance a dog will be returned. Additionally, they have to check that adopters truly understand the breed and are adopting a family member, not scamming for a fighting dog (which is an unfortunate aspect of dealing with this breed) and that they understand the breed as well as the stigma they may experience adopting an APBT or mix. I find their thorough process and dedication to finding the best homes a positive not a negative, bc it shows how dedicated they are to the dogs in their care.

The people are absolutely wonderful and so friendly. Adopting from Bully Paws is like joining a community, I follow the volunteers and foster's and their dogs on Facebook and stay involved where I can be. We had such a pleasant experience with Bully Paws and love the community they have created that we adopted our second APBT mix from them last month, and we honestly couldn't be happier. I would recommend them to anyone looking to adopt and only wish we could do more at this time. Thank you for making our family the wonderful pack it is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

My husband and I adopted our female red nose mix from the organization in early 2013. The process took a while which confused us a bit but in the end we ended up with an absolutely wonderful new family member. We fostered for other groups before moving to VA and are now proud to foster and volunteer with the organization. I will say being behind the scenes sheds much light as to why the process takes longer from time to time. There are TOOOOOO many dogs looking for homes and not nearly enough volunteers to help them. Not only does BP assist the dogs in it's foster program, they also sponsor and try to assist local shelter dogs find their forever homes. Adopting from a rescue means you are willing to go above and beyond for the animal you wish to adopt. To those who don't agree with the training requirement, you're missing out. Training with our new BP adoptable was a great bonding and learning experience.

This rescue just like any other rescue and/or shelter organization I've dedicated time too has quirks that need to be worked out. I assure you these are things the coordinators and director take seriously and are always working hard to improve. If you aren't willing to be a part of the work to fix them, you probably shouldn't have anything negative to say.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve communication and require more training assistance to new volunteers and fosters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I adopted a 10-11 month old pitbull mix from them in February of 2013. I agree that the process took a while to get the checks done but i understood why. They want the best for their dogs and only want to rehome them once. I was so happy with how they operated that I decided to volunteer with them and still do to this day 1 1/2 years later. They do many events and I encourage anyone with sparer time to come out to walk dogs, clip nails, talk to people. The feeling you get by seeing your progress is hard to beat

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More volunteers! Come out people!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I have been working with Bully Paws for 2 years now and the greatest thing about Bully Paws is all the hard work that goes into it by volunteers only. I know its hard to please everyone and we aren't going to make everyone happy. But our goal always have and always will is the will being of the dogs. The bully breed already has a bad reputation and so many of them have been mistreated some of us can get a little defensive with some of us. There are always things we can improve as a rescue and we aren't the only one. But I am proud to call myself a volunteer, a proud pitbull mother of 3 (2 from this rescue) as well as a foster parent from this rescue. Seeing all the different dogs has been the best experience, finding so many homes brings tears literally to my eyes and making human friends as well truly makes committing to this rescue worth it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A little bit more organization and having more volunteers would make doing a lot of events, online work easier, but its hard to get trusted volunteers that make this a life-long commitment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I adopted a dog from Bully Paws in the fall of 2013 and couldn't be happier with the help that the volunteers and coordinators gave me and my family. They helped us to choose the right dog based on what we were looking for and those that they had available for adoption. We had two other dogs at the time and children, so we were very particular about the addition of a 3rd dog to our family. Bully Paws took their time to work with us and answered all of our questions. We couldn't be happier about the experience and were so impressed that we decided to become a foster family as well.

Thank you Bully Paws!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is no process in life that is without kinks, especially when you are working with an organization that is run 100% by volunteers, most with full time jobs and families. I know that if I see a weakness in an organization I believe in, the best way to help fix it is to become part of the solution. By being a client and becoming a foster, I believe that I will help improve the adoption process by being a member of the team. If you aren't part of the solution, you are part of the problem.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014

more

May 15, 2014

I was thrilled with my experience with Bully Paws. When I approached the animal shelter looking for a walking companion, they suggested I contact the Bully Paws group. I had a couple of small breed, older dogs, and wasn't sure about adopting a pitbull. My request was answered quickly by a friendly, smiling lady named Barbara. She walked me throughthe process and within 3 days I met the dog they had selected to match my lifestyle and home. The entire process of contacting my vet and references took about 2 weeks and then I got to take him home. Due to the effort they put into the process, the dog they picked for me was a perfect fit. I couldn't be happier! I can't imagine not waking up to his goofy face every day. Yes, the process may take a bit of time, but I'm positive I could not have picked such a great dog without their dedication to ensuring a exact match for both the dog and myself. Thanks again Bully Paws!
May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

We worked with Bully Paws for over 2 months trying to find a puppy for our family. All of our references checked out perfectly including the vet visit. They took forever to try and place the puppy and by the time the meet and greet happened the puppy was 4 months old. Then they decided we had to pay an extra $150 for untrained people to do obedience classes for the dog. Pet Smart trainers are not experts and certainly not worth $150 more on top of our $350. They spend too much time trying doing background checks etc, I understand some but to place more dogs in good homes they need to speed things up a bit there are too many homeless dogs out there and if you want them to have permanent homes you can't be as picky as they are trying to be. We were approved but decided not to move forward because of the extra money and how long it took to get the dog to us. You are better off going to a shelter to rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new President, too picky.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 18, 2012

Dealt with this organization while trying to find a dog to replace a pitbull that had recently died. While I'm sure that this organization means well, they're also an organization that tends to lend support to the notion that some rescue organizations are thinly-veiled fronts for pet-hoarders: pets remain in their care inordinately long times; they're unwilling to place pets into realistic situations; many of the dogs they bring to adoption events aren't actually available for adoption.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers