Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
Write A Review
October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I continue to be amazed by Building Hope in the City's staff and dedicated volunteers. At the annual City Serve event, a number of teens and women made adorable dresses out of pillowcases, which were taken to Haiti by a mission trip group. Not only did we participate in a tremendously gratifying program, BHITC also provided speakers who had been to Haiti to inform us of the conditions there. BHITC is the best, hands down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 15, 2012

more

March 15, 2012

Praise God for BHITC! I am always in awe of the stories I hear, about the people they touch and the lives they change. BHITC is the hand of God moving through the city and I am privileged to be a tiny cell within that hand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 14, 2012

more

March 14, 2012

Building Hope in the City is an organization that serves many of our most vulnerable. They handle these most desperate of souls with a grace and respect that is amazing and awe-inspiring. I have worked personally with Brian Upton and Nadia Abu-Amsha and continue to be amazed by their ministry, dedication and passion for their jobs. I have been impressed by all of the individuals who work at and for Building Hope in the City and the quality of the organization is unsurpassed! Every summer, my school aged children and I purchase backpacks for refugees before we purchase our own new school supplies; this is one of the many, many ministries of BHITC. Keep up the amazing work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 14, 2012

more

March 14, 2012

I have worked with Building Hope in the City on several occasions. Most often I have been a part of a day of volunteering called CityServe, which has organized hundreds of local volunteers in a day of service to the community. Each event has been very well organized and the service has been meaningful work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

I have volunteered for years with the Arabic Women's Ministry and with the tutoring ministry as well as working with the "Work Day" held every May. What an excellant chance to show Christ's Love to others. It is also an excellant chance to work with fellow Christians.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

I have been involved with BHTC for the last several years as a volunteer for the Jobs Advantage program. I am very impressed with the leadership of BHTC and the goals of the organization. They make a strong impact in the community by the helping the people in many areas of their lives and at the same time demonstrate what Christainity is all about. I am proud to be affiliated with this ministryl

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

Building Hope in the City is comprised of honest, good, passionate people looking to make a real difference in a variety of ways. I have volunteered tutoring refugees--helping with homework, like reading and math, and playing games that help build confidence and social skills. I also helped with City Serve--a day of spreading good deeds around the city, from building gardens and playgrounds to hosting an indoor festival. BHITC's creativity. reach and mission is truly limitless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I started volunteering with Building Hope in the city close to four years ago and was a regular volunteer with the organization's African Youth Ministry program for a little over a year. Due to life circumstances I had to scale back my volunteering but I continue to stay in close contact with some of the African refugee families that I met through volunteering. The relationships that I have developed with these families are priceless to me. I spend time at their homes, I go to their kids' soccer games and music concerts, and I try to help out however and whenever I can. Building Hope in the City introduced me to these families and I am forever grateful to them for that. Throughout my time volunteering with Building Hope, all the staff and volunteers that I encountered were passionate, welcoming, and serious about getting things done. This was a great organization to work with, and I continue to support the work they do. I would recommend this organization to anyone passionate about urban ministry and/or working with people from different cultures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

Our family became involved with Building Hope in the City four years ago when my son was invited to play in a band at an event site. Since then, we've been blessed to work alongside other believers on several different projects. We continue to be drawn to the diverse opportunities that this organization offers. I think some of the appeal comes from the huge variety of ways to connect with people outside our regular sphere of life. Also, it's an obviously Christian organization and makes no apology for working for Jesus. I've been given great opportunities to put my faith to work. Our family has gained much more than we have given!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012

more

February 27, 2012

I have volunteered with Building Hope in the City on several blitz type projects such as City Serve days as well as volunteering for a time with the African Youth program. Working with the refugee kids was an educational and growing experience. Learning about some of the experiences of these young people educated me on how difficult life is for a 21st century refugee. They also do a good job with the training of their volunteers for the various programs. BHITC is an outstanding asset to the City, and I think they really do bring and build hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers