Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

Building Hope in the City continues to grow in its impact in the Cleveland area as it shares the love of Christ with everyone they touch. I have been blessed to be involved in several ways: as a ministry partner in my staff position at Bay Presbyterian Church I have been involved in numerous outreaches over the past several years, served as a hostess at the annual Advent Tea, which brings together women of many cultural backgrounds to share what Christmas is about and most recently I have been part of Sisters of the Heart -a ministry with Eileen Wilson(Refugee Resettlement Ministries) and Nadia Abuamsha(Arabic Community Worker) that brings together American and Middle Eastern Women and stresses the importance of building relationships. I love working with these very dedicated women and meeting women who have recently moved to the area from other countries!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

It was a pleasure working for Building Hope! Working with our immigrants, helping them with their ESL was pure joy. The ladies were so appreciative and they seemed to like the interaction that volunteers offered them. What a terrific ministry to be involved in, serving the Cleveland area!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

BHITC is a wonderful way to make a difference in the inner city, where hope is sometimes scarce. I chose to get involved with the tutoring and recall helping several young students who were struggling with schoolwork. One girl with a troubled history found herself in an advanced math class, even though she lacked basic math skills. I remember apologizing for my rusty geometry knowledge, but she said, "That doesn't matter. What matters is that we are working this out together." I read that as meaning "What counts is that someone cares enough to help." Thousands of people and dozens of churches could say that about all the programs of Building Hope In the City. I have chosen to make substantial donations on a regular basis to the mission this group offers to Cleveland and now other cities as well.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

"Oh, the places you will go, the people you will meet, the work you will do..." All blessings from Building Hope in the City. I've been a volunteer for about 10 years, starting with Children's Church on Saturday mornings once a month, working on CityServe with other Ernst & Young people who helped paint some of the BHITC buldings, then onto the Development Committee to raise funds for the wonderful ministry that is "Buiilding Hope in the City." I love, love, love all of it. Building Hope is a true blessing to me. God Bless us one an all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 23, 2012

more

February 23, 2012

The best way to get involved in a non-profit is to find one that matches your ideals and goals. For me, a lifelong resident of the Cleveland area (with most of that time spent in the urban core), Building Hope in the City completely matches my interests. BHITC offers a diverse core of volunteering opportunities, ranging from literacy and immigrant services to fund raising to community service and more. Whatever one's talents or interests, BHITC has an opportunity for you. Best of all, however, is the camaraderie found among the full-time staff and the volunteer corps. BHITC does great work for the city I love and serves as a wonderful model for other urban ministries looking to make the difference in the lives of citizens.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

As a mother to a 7-year-old boy from the suburbs, I want my son to realize that not all people are as fortunate as he and that one component of being a Christian is to give back to others in love. We have participated in Building Hope in the City's backpack and Christmas gift box programs. Both of these events gave my son the opportunity to shop for children in need in Cleveland's inner city. My goal in these shopping trips is to get him to understand that there are others right in our area who cannot just go to Target and afford all new school supplies or head to the mall at Christmas and pick up the latest toys. I feel fortunate that we have been able to partner with Building Hope in the City -- it is a win-win for all. For my son, who is learning life lessons and also for the children who receive needed items for heading back to school or some new books, toys and other essentials to make their Christmas season a litte brighter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

A great organization that gives true Hope to those in cities that have been forgotten. Refugee ministries, feeding the hungry, warming the cold and planting the true Hope of Jesus Christ to all brands of people. If you volunteer with Building Hope, your life will probably be changed also.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

I have volunteered with this charity for about four years. They do so much to help the needy with in our city. At Christmas we provide gift bags with toys, books, shoe gift cards and candy to about 250 children. It really brings a smile to their face.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

I had a wonderful experience with Building Hope in the City. Over time I worked with refugees from many areas of the world through mentoring programs and ESL classes. Their support of their volunteers is top notch and their training is wonderful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 18, 2012

more

February 18, 2012

Volunteering to teach and mentor in the Jobs Advantage program I have enjoyed teaming with members of other churches -- urban and suburban -- to help people discover themselves, their gifts, and their place in society. The participants and volunteers form a community that thrills to each success made along the way. "What would success mean to you?" we asked a recent class. One woman's reply: "Not having to depend on another government check!"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers