Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I started volunteering with Building Hope in the city close to four years ago and was a regular volunteer with the organization's African Youth Ministry program for a little over a year. Due to life circumstances I had to scale back my volunteering but I continue to stay in close contact with some of the African refugee families that I met through volunteering. The relationships that I have developed with these families are priceless to me. I spend time at their homes, I go to their kids' soccer games and music concerts, and I try to help out however and whenever I can. Building Hope in the City introduced me to these families and I am forever grateful to them for that. Throughout my time volunteering with Building Hope, all the staff and volunteers that I encountered were passionate, welcoming, and serious about getting things done. This was a great organization to work with, and I continue to support the work they do. I would recommend this organization to anyone passionate about urban ministry and/or working with people from different cultures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

Our family became involved with Building Hope in the City four years ago when my son was invited to play in a band at an event site. Since then, we've been blessed to work alongside other believers on several different projects. We continue to be drawn to the diverse opportunities that this organization offers. I think some of the appeal comes from the huge variety of ways to connect with people outside our regular sphere of life. Also, it's an obviously Christian organization and makes no apology for working for Jesus. I've been given great opportunities to put my faith to work. Our family has gained much more than we have given!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012

more

February 27, 2012

I have volunteered with Building Hope in the City on several blitz type projects such as City Serve days as well as volunteering for a time with the African Youth program. Working with the refugee kids was an educational and growing experience. Learning about some of the experiences of these young people educated me on how difficult life is for a 21st century refugee. They also do a good job with the training of their volunteers for the various programs. BHITC is an outstanding asset to the City, and I think they really do bring and build hope.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 27, 2012

more

February 27, 2012

I am a pastor in the same general neighborhood as Building Hope, and my wife & I have been able to share in a few planning sessions with their Executive Director, Pastor, and Tutoring Leaders. I have great respect for Building Hope, for the particular ministries that they do, and the great joy with which they do them. They are leaders in our community, setting a great example of diligent, patient faithfulness in quality, ever-evolving urban ministry.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012

more

February 26, 2012

I've had the priviledge of serving with Building Hope In the City as a volunteer and as a Board member. Most people don't realize how unique Building Hope's vision is. This group is committed to seeing more churches that include those in poverty in their ministry. Many churches do outreach to the poor. Too few are committed to ministering, on an ongoing basis, with the poor. Ministry is built on relationships and the staff and volunteers of Building Hope work TIRELESSLY to create long-term relationships in the city that reflect God's love. I have never seen as group of people more committed to the future health of Cleveland and who know that the only way to turn Cleveland (and other cities) around is through God's redeeming grace. I want to put my support behind a group like this. Please join us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2012

more

February 25, 2012

I have had many volunteer experiences with Building Hope in the City... every one of them has been fantastic. They are well prepared. The work is always for a good cause. They do a great job of mixing in the religious experience as well. The City Serve day of service projects is my personal favorite. My wife and I and our 3 kids (ages 11, 13, & 15) all participate and while we work hard, we feel like we get more than we give! Finally, the people that work for BHITC are incredible - so nice & helpful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

As a Human Resources professional, I had the privilege of working with BHITC on their Jobs Advantage program. The class was geared for people who were out of work and looking to develop job skills. I had the opportunity to coach the participants on job searching techniques, interviewing skills, developing a resume, etc. I found that they were engaged and eager to learn and also very appreciative of the help. Overall, BHITC came off as very well organized group with a warm, friendly atmosphere. I would highly recommend working with them and would definitely volunteer again.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

I started volunteering with BHITC when I heard that one of their street ministry volunteers had given the socks off of his feet to a homeless person in need of socks. A few months later, I helped out at one of the street ministries. I was struck by the caring nature of the volunteers who always treat the homeless people with dignity and respect. Every interaction I've had with BHITC has been positive. I helped out with a tutoring program over the summer and learned so much from the immigrant children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

I have been involved as a volunteer with Building Hope in the City for 3 years, in different capacities and for different levels of participation as time has allowed. From the start I was very impressed with their volunteer training programs. They offer a variety of different types and they offer them frequently. This organization goes out of its way to make sure the volunteers feel valued….can't say enough about that. Helping refugees and other inner city folks is a rewarding experience. There are so many ways to be involved with that. Strengthening people from the ground up and offering them the love of Christ is an awesome experience and very humbling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

As the director of another local non-profit organization with similar goals, we have interfaced with BHITC for the excellent training they provide for our staff, students, and associates. BHITC offers training in Refugee Mentoring, ESL, Tutoring Children, Cross-Cultural Communication, and Ministry to the Poor. The workshops are among the best that we have encouraged our staff and students to take to prepare and equip them for ministry in our urban centers. BHITC's awareness events have been eye--opening as we have participated in the Voices exhibit (with award-winning documentary) and Welcome to Shelbyville community movie night. Both have served to give us a heart for our refugee neighbors. One of the most exciting opportunities in our partnership with BHITC was to have our students volunteer as refugee mentors with Burmese refugees, specifically the Karen people group. One of our students is now ministering long term on the Thai-Burma border with the Karen refugees! BHITC encourages us to love our neighbors in practical ways in Jesus' name whether in our local community or overseas!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers