Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
Write A Review
October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I continue to be amazed by Building Hope in the City's staff and dedicated volunteers. At the annual City Serve event, a number of teens and women made adorable dresses out of pillowcases, which were taken to Haiti by a mission trip group. Not only did we participate in a tremendously gratifying program, BHITC also provided speakers who had been to Haiti to inform us of the conditions there. BHITC is the best, hands down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 15, 2012

more

March 15, 2012

Praise God for BHITC! I am always in awe of the stories I hear, about the people they touch and the lives they change. BHITC is the hand of God moving through the city and I am privileged to be a tiny cell within that hand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 14, 2012

more

March 14, 2012

Building Hope in the City is an organization that serves many of our most vulnerable. They handle these most desperate of souls with a grace and respect that is amazing and awe-inspiring. I have worked personally with Brian Upton and Nadia Abu-Amsha and continue to be amazed by their ministry, dedication and passion for their jobs. I have been impressed by all of the individuals who work at and for Building Hope in the City and the quality of the organization is unsurpassed! Every summer, my school aged children and I purchase backpacks for refugees before we purchase our own new school supplies; this is one of the many, many ministries of BHITC. Keep up the amazing work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 14, 2012

more

March 14, 2012

I have worked with Building Hope in the City on several occasions. Most often I have been a part of a day of volunteering called CityServe, which has organized hundreds of local volunteers in a day of service to the community. Each event has been very well organized and the service has been meaningful work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

I have volunteered for years with the Arabic Women's Ministry and with the tutoring ministry as well as working with the "Work Day" held every May. What an excellant chance to show Christ's Love to others. It is also an excellant chance to work with fellow Christians.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 5, 2012

more

March 5, 2012

What a blessing of God Building Hope in the City has been to Bethlehem Community Church and what a joy and privilege it has been for me as its Pastor and our people to partner with them in our common mission of demonstrating the presence and power of God to restore and maintain the well-being of our city. Building Hope in the City excels at linking volunteers to churches and communities to bring about mutually fulfilling events. Over the past several years their regular CitySERVE outreach has repeatedly brought together skilled and hard-working volunteers to complete much-needed projects at Bethlehem Church that would not otherwise have been be accomplished. As a church facing the challenges of serving Christ in an urban setting Bethlehem deeply appreciates and needs the support and service of organizations like Building Hope in the City, who exhibit the innovative commitment and enterprising initiative that brings hope and unity to the churches and people of our city. Our thanks to them and their faithful volunteers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

I have been involved with BHTC for the last several years as a volunteer for the Jobs Advantage program. I am very impressed with the leadership of BHTC and the goals of the organization. They make a strong impact in the community by the helping the people in many areas of their lives and at the same time demonstrate what Christainity is all about. I am proud to be affiliated with this ministryl

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

I have been a volunteer for Building Hope in the City for many years. I led a Saturday morning kids ministry program with them for four years. I've worked multiple CityServe events (a day long event where 500 people from the suburbs come into the city to do various service projects). I have served on numerous committees, participated in many of their programs, provided financial support and most recently joined their board to provide support in furthering the wonderful things that BHITC is doing in Cleveland & beyond. Building Hope continues to bless so many by its various efforts to truly build HOPE in the city. And I can honestly say that God has blessed me richly from my involvement with Building Hope in the City.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

Building Hope in the City is comprised of honest, good, passionate people looking to make a real difference in a variety of ways. I have volunteered tutoring refugees--helping with homework, like reading and math, and playing games that help build confidence and social skills. I also helped with City Serve--a day of spreading good deeds around the city, from building gardens and playgrounds to hosting an indoor festival. BHITC's creativity. reach and mission is truly limitless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

I have been privileged to work with Building Hope's leadership as the congregation I serve has looked for ways to support ministry in the W25th/Clark neighborhood. BHITC's expertise in strategizing for effective ministry with a variety of people groups is a big blessing for those of us with a "heart for the city." Many volunteers have had marvelous volunteer experiences at Iglesia Hispana Cristiana at 30th and Walton, because Building Hope helped us get involved in Kids Church about 7 years ago.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers