Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12.6345
Write A Review
November 13, 2014

more

November 13, 2014

I came across Dennis Claxton with this organization while at the Walmart in San Jose today, He was collecting funds for the holidays. The thing that struck me the most was his cheerful attitude. The next thing I noticed was his story. I have never done drugs or alcohol, but I have an alcoholic brother. I've seen the bad things happen. I wanted to commend Mr. Claxton and this foundation. Thank you for being there.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Good Evening,

I was at Save Mart in San Jose and I ran into one of your volunteers today. It was a gorgeous fall day and I had some extra time. I listened to Doug Scheurn telling a young woman how to find shelter for herself and her two small children.

Mr. Scheurn was well spoken
and quite open about the rewards and disappointments of his drug and alcohol rehabilitation. Within a few moments, Doug had finished. He simply told me 'God Bless You' and 'Have an amazing day!'.

I went to my car and drove home. I made Doug lunch, grabbed him a cold water from the fridge, dipped into my Christmas money, and returned to Mr. Scheurn.

Without a pause, I gave him a tupperware container of food, and ice cold water, and dropped a $20 in his bucket. Doug gave me the warmest hug, many thanks, and a little hope. Thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The man sent to Wal-Mart on Ballentine in Fremont is loud and rude. If people put money in the Salvation Army bucket, he would yell at that person saying"Hey, what about us!", at the same time if people put money in his container, the Salvation Army bell ringer never replied in kind, by yelling "What about us!" The bell ringer said good morning, good day, hello, thank you, have a good day, take care,etc.-never once asked for money nor demanded any.

He would talk so loud, that children covered their ears.

He would single people out by saying "Pretty lady from India" or "Man from India" and ask for money. Problem by doing that, if the person is Pakistani, they might feel offended as the two countries are not exactly bosom buddies. They could be from Iran, Egypt or even from Mexico. Because a person looks Indian, doesn't mean they are. We had friends from Israel and when we all went to Mexico, the people down there spoke to them in Spanish, just because they "looked" Mexican.

He would preach about how Abel and Cain were the sons of Satan and that Ham was the only true son of Adam and Eve. He had other portions of the bible mixed up too. His preaching wasn't just for a minute or so, but sometimes last for 10-15 minutes or longer. He also preached about the "New Order" and how they were going to do away with money and if you weren't one of them, you would be left with nothing and then he asked "what will you do when the lights go out?" Me? I'm lighting a freaking candle, just like anyone else would do.

Unfortunately, he had a problem with his clothing twice in one day. While going into the store, he pulled his shirt down in back. He should have pulled his underwear up instead! His jeans were down in the back so far, they apparently pulled his underwear down also, resulting in a large portion of his behind being exposed to everyone. Thankfully, no children were around at the time. I believe the parents would have complained to the store management.

How do I know all these things? I was the bell ringer for Salvation Army. People asked if he was part of the Salvation Army. I said no. They asked me if he was legitimate. My answer every time was I did not know for sure, but I believe he was; after that, it was up to them to decide. The majority put money in his container, only a couple people didn't.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Being loud does not mean you'll collect more money than you would if you were softer spoken. Loud makes people go out of their way to avoid you. You should never assume a person's nationality. And if people don't put money in your container (for whatever reason of their own) you do not have the right to yell at them demanding they give money to your group too. Being courteous to everyone should be a required action for people seeking donations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Except for a cool guy named Eric (Oakland, CA), these guys are a pain in the butt! You can't shop anywhere in CA and try to save money without running into these guys. These guys harass you on the way in and out of the store. They do lie and tell you they're volunteers. They're unprofessional, and clueless as to how to solicit properly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Train these guys how to solicit properly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

THESE GUYS ARE THE WORST! HERE COMES THE WORST REVIEW YET. WHILE SHOPPING AT WAL-MART (STONECREST-SOUTHERN CA), THIS OLD BLACK GUY WAS YELLING AT THE ELDERLY, LITTLE KIDS AND SHOPPERS IN GENERAL. THE MGR. CAME OUT AND TOLD HIM TO MOVE HIS TABLE AWAY FROM THE STORE. HE REFUSED TO MOVE, SO THE MGR. MOVED IT FOR HIM!!! WHO KNOWS IF THE COPS CAME, I COULDN'T WAIT TO GET OUT OF THERE. THIS IS IN A NICE NEIGHBORHOOD! IF ANYONE FROM THIS ORGANIZATIONS READS THESE REVIEWS, TELL THESE GUYS TO CLEAN UP THEIR ACT, OR FACE "PERMANENT INJUNCTION." MY DAD'S A JUDGE, AND HE COULD EASILY DO IT! YOU'VE BEEN FORWARNED!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

BAN THEM FOR LIFE!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

I see BSF in the East Bay, and what bothers me most is they never graciously accept the money you give them, so I stopped giving! These guys never smile or say "thank you". Never a "hey man, I appreciate it." Who wants to give to a lackluster solicitor? They have bad manners, and no social etiquette. I guess if you were never taught, and you just don't care, you're clueless! I hope these guys turn their lives around. I have my doubts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

First of all, I find it very interesting that the President of Building a Solid Foundation would write his own review, and give it 5 stars. He spells his name Rodney Nolan, but yet when I checked out this organization, his name is spelled Nolen! These guys from Oakland are a scam, just ask Rita Williams, KTVU Channel 2, Oakland, CA. They got busted!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

These men are obviously causing a problem in the general public, including harassing my 12 and 14 yr. old daughters for money. They're kids! Leave them alone! This orginization needs to get their act together as far as their solicition tactics, or someone needs to go after their permit. Permits can be denied, revoked or suspended.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2012

more

September 8, 2012

I see these guys all the time, and I believe they are a legitimate organization. (They appear to be legit with the IRS). They're in transitional housing, and they're disenfranchised. Perhaps their phone numbers aren't any good because they don't want any calls, or they don't have the money. I give them a little money now and then, and I hope they turn their lives around. It makes our communities safer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Don't give these people any money. Overly aggresive SCAM ARTISTS! They go on and on about God. It's all an act. And very offensive to people who are religious. GET A JOB! Do something productive with your time like volunteering in the community. Quit fleecing the general public. Don't tick them off. They're ex-cons straight out of San Quentin. Be very cautious, but don't give them money. Hopefully they'll go away.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers