Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12.6345
Write A Review
March 21, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

First of all, I find it very interesting that the President of Building a Solid Foundation would write his own review, and give it 5 stars. He spells his name Rodney Nolan, but yet when I checked out this organization, his name is spelled Nolen! These guys from Oakland are a scam, just ask Rita Williams, KTVU Channel 2, Oakland, CA. They got busted!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2013

more

March 19, 2013

God Bless You, friends!

My name is Rodney Nolan and I am the President of Building a Solid Foundation. First, please allow me to apologize to anyone who has had anything short of a blessed time with ANY of our volunteers.

Building a Solid Foundation is a registered nonprofit
corporation in the State of California. We are registered with the IRS with the Tax Identification Number 03-517533. We operate in San Diego, Fontana, Long Beach, Los Angeles, and Oakland.

We accept no State nor Federal funds. Your donations provide 100% of our funding, keep our doors open year round, and help provide people with a second chance.

Over the last 10 years, we have helped THOUSANDS of men, women, and children whom have fallen victim to drug/alcohol abuse and homelessness.

Our volunteers are all recovering addicts. Please offer them support and encouragement.

Please feel free to visit our headquarters at 11070 San Leandro Street Oakland, CA 94603

Please take a look at our website http://www.buildingasolidfoundation.org.

Our phone number is (323) 833-7618.

You can find us on facebook, and google+.

Rodney Nolan, President
Building a Solid Foundation

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

These men are obviously causing a problem in the general public, including harassing my 12 and 14 yr. old daughters for money. They're kids! Leave them alone! This orginization needs to get their act together as far as their solicition tactics, or someone needs to go after their permit. Permits can be denied, revoked or suspended.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2012

more

September 8, 2012

I see these guys all the time, and I believe they are a legitimate organization. (They appear to be legit with the IRS). They're in transitional housing, and they're disenfranchised. Perhaps their phone numbers aren't any good because they don't want any calls, or they don't have the money. I give them a little money now and then, and I hope they turn their lives around. It makes our communities safer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Don't give these people any money. Overly aggresive SCAM ARTISTS! They go on and on about God. It's all an act. And very offensive to people who are religious. GET A JOB! Do something productive with your time like volunteering in the community. Quit fleecing the general public. Don't tick them off. They're ex-cons straight out of San Quentin. Be very cautious, but don't give them money. Hopefully they'll go away.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I also think this organization is a scam....very GHETTO! These guys are rude, unprofessional, scuffy looking....on parole.....go back to prison! Thy made their bed, they're lying in it! No empathy from me. I'm tired of seeing them everywhere!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

THIS GROUP OF LOWLIFES IS OBVIOUSLY A SCAM! DRUG AND ALCOHOL ADDICTED MEN STRAIGHT OUT OF PRISON! SHOULDN'T THESE GUYS BE LOOKING FOR WORK, OR AT LEAST TAKING CLASSES? I'M TIRED OF RUNNING INTO THEM. THEIR PHONE NUMBERS AND E-MAIL ADDRESS ARE NO GOOD. HMMMM.....

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a Christian organization that solicits for homeless men and women who struggle with drug/alcohol addiction. The men I've met I really like. Keep up the good work. Everybody deserves a second chance!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 11, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

This organization appears to be a scam. Their website shows them in Oakland, but the government website shows them to be in Long Beach and we saw one gentleman with paperwork showing them in Fontana. The e-mail addresses and phone numbers are no good. The website says they help single mothers, women and those with drug and alcohol problems. The solicitors that we have met are asking for donations for a shelter for homeless veterans. The city where this shelter is has never heard of them or their shelter. The legitimate veterans organizations in the area also have not heard of this suppose shelter. They are unprofessional in their soliciting tactics and don't appear to be on the up and up.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above. They don't think the laws and rules that eveyone else has to follow apply to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

prosecute them for taking money under false pretenses.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers