Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.853665
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

The students' enthusiasm for entrepreneurship is amazing and so is their personal conduct. I cannot believe that these teenagers come from disengaged and low-income communities, because they are organized, well-spoken, disciplined, and creative in solving problems.

I can only imagine how
far the students have come and I am thrilled to have the opportunity to help them grow further and succeed as adults.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

This organization is run extremely well. Having face-to-face access to students allows for rich and meaningful impact. The 1/week consistent meeting frequency is an excellent way to optimize time with students and see their growth over time. The program and site directors are top notch and provide a full support system for mentors and students alike. I highly recommend participating in or funding this nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I am a small business owner and high school teacher, and I have been volunteering as a business mentor with BUILD for 3 years now. BUILD has set me up with a co-mentor and four students that have really become an extended family. I've seen marked improvements, some radically stark improvements, from all four of my mentees in the past few years as a result of their interactions with me and my co-mentor, and their involvement in the program. I have no doubt in my mind that BUILD is the reason at least two of my students are on track to graduating high school at all.
BUILD provides the structure and support for student success through their model. It's not to say that every student buys in, and every mentor commits long-term, but the system is in place for this to occur. I think

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Brainstorm ways to increase mentor long-term commitment. It's a time-consuming gig and not all business people are "kid people." Find ways to strengthen student-mentor bonds even further for those where it's not completely natural.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Read an article I wrote about my experience with BUILD...

http://section925.com/2013/06/27/get-stoaked-an-oakland-clothing-line-is-determined-to-challenge-perceptions/

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Being a BUILD mentor is a big commitment but an amazing way to make a tangible difference. I've worked with a small group of students for 3 years, and I've seen them grow into really sharp young entrepreneurs. BUILD gives them an opportunity to flex their intelligence and work ethic in a way that doesn't feel as forced as school. If you want a way to help close the achievement gap in just a couple of hours a week, this is an organization that does that work in a way that few others do and that leverages mentors' knowledge of the professional world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

BUILD puts some flexibility into scheduling, so there are times that I show up for mentoring and the session doesn't have a very concrete plan for the students because there's a lull in the schedule. This can be a bit of a time-waster for both students and mentors, so I might just cancel those sessions when students are ahead of the game.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I've only been working with BUILD for a few weeks so far and am so glad I am able to be a part of this organization! They have a wonderful mission and treat their students, families, staff, and volunteers with respect and enthusiasm. I can't wait to see what the future holds for BUILD!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Instead of whining about how bad things are, I started volunteering at a place where I could help real people build real skills and learn life lessons that will be with them forever. By helping kids graduate from high school and successfully pursue post-secondary school, Build.org helps our young citizens create future wealth and build tomorrow's society. Every day I am impressed and pleased at how these kids mature and learn and figure things out. These are good kids who are up to the challenge, and take our help and mentoring seriously. They put the lie to ridiculous stereotypes and fear mongering. I am more than happy to have helped them along their path.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help more schools and mentors participate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

At BUILD, I can volunteer by doing what I love - brainstorm how to start a business! I love business and want to help others. The BUILD method has found an incredible way for me to help youth achieve their goals and get into college by teaching them business schools. The most impressive thing about BUILD is how well run it is. From the very first session, BUILD has planned activities that make facilitating relationships with your mentees incredibly easy and natural.

I tell all my friends about how great my experience is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I am a new mentor with BUILD this year at a high school in Redwood City and have been absolutely impressed by the BUILD staff and program. They are extremely organized with training and weekly update emails on what we will be covering in mentor sessions. The teachers at the high school are very enthusiastic about the program and hold the students to a high standard of professionalism. I am looking forward to continuing the year learning and growing with the group and students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I was invited to be a guest at the Build Gala fundraising auction in San Francisco earlier this year. It was my first introduction to this amazing organization. I was deeply moved by their cause after meeting many of the kids who participate in this program. I knew immediately that I had to get involved beyond being a donor. Becoming a Build mentor has allowed me to have a positive impact on some wonderful teens who are at a critical point in their lives. With Build, I am able to leverage my experience as an entrepreneur and father to help put kids on a college-bound trajectory, one that will change their lives forever. Build is simply awesome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a business advisor and distribute seed capital to youth entrepreneurs, or judge a youth business plan competition! Volunteer