Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
125 Reviews
1234.9285
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 30, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 30, 2012

This is one of the best groups out there. I have spent time with them in the field. They make it possible for many people to directly support the yellowstone buffalo. They have housing, and activities for volunteer. They even feed everyone. Hand down, best green non-profit i know.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 28, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 23, 2010

I have spent 5 spring seasons volunteering with BFC and find them to be one of the most dedicated front-lines environmental activist groups out there. They have a true vision of a land full of wild fr... more

April 28, 2012

BFC is an incredible organization that does more on the buffalo issue with a small budget than most of the big name, big budget enviros put together. They are amazing to volunteer for, and have trained countless new activists with skills they will carry for the rest of their lives, as well as a respect and understanding for wild that is irreplaceable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2010

I have spent 5 spring seasons volunteering with BFC and find them to be one of the most dedicated front-lines environmental activist groups out there. They have a true vision of a land full of wild free-roaming buffalo that is inspiring, and have a multi-faceted practical approach to getting there - working not only in the field with the buffalo, but through the courts, through the legislative process, through public awareness campaigns, and through impressive coalition building.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the experience of working and living with such a dedicated team.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

inspirational and knowledgeable.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

The BFC is a one of a kind project. A camp open to all who want to come and help protect the Sacred Buffalo, located in some of the prettiest land and last intact eco-system in the lower 48 states. I have been serving with BFC for almost 15 years. I have been honored by being able to grow close with the buffalo herd we protect, the family of volunteers who come from all over the world to live and work together, nature in its still and majestic ways, and most importantly with my self. I met my wife through the campaign, and we have lived together with our children there. We live on the west coast now, but will always come and volunteer when we can. There is no community quite like it. Please help support the last pure and wild herd of Sacred Buffalo, help bring back the buffalo in our lifetime, and come on down to the Buffalo Field Campaign to be on the front lines of this historic movement, there is always an extra bunk, great healthful home made foods, gear and all you need to stand with the last of the wild ones.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012

Volunteering in the field for the Buffalo Field Campaign is one of those great experiences in which you truly do hands-on work that directly fuels results toward the mission of the nonprofit. In this case, you get to experience first-hand what is happening to the buffalo, what the threats are, and how you can help the buffalo. A volunteer with this group gets real-life education on the history of the buffalo and about the daily lives of these great animals. They are a remnant of our country's great history and a link to our continent's fascinating past; you could never get this type of experience through a book or by volunteering in an office somewhere. The Buffalo Field Campaign is indeed on the front lines 365 days a week, 24/7 with dedication toward saving the last wild and free-roaming herds of buffalo through courage to protect these animals from their enemies, education of the public about the buffalo's plight, and compassion for these beautiful animals. Because of the large numbers of volunteers, the organizaiton is also able to use its donations wisely and to get the most bang out of every dollar donated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I volunteered with BFC for an entire season-October-May. I was amazed at the nonviolent direct action work that is done everyday(including wekends). BFC is committed to videoing the cruelty done by state & federal agencies to these gentle creatures. BFC is the only group out on the front lines, trying to stop the hazing operations and senseless slaughter of the buffalo. I am truly grateful for having had the opportunity to be in the midst of such amazing creatures. I am truly grateful for the neverending commitment of BFC to defend & protect the last wild buffalo. I invite all lovers of the wild, of buffalo, of nature to support in any way, physically,monetarily, or legally the work of BFC. THANK YOU.ALOHA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

April 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012

Buffalo Field Campaign, wow where to really begin I went to visit them when I was 13. They are the only few organizations that are out in the field gathering information about the cruel and bad acts that are being done to our nations last wild and pure buffalo in Yellowstone National Park. They are out doing hands on work getting the word out and informing the public out what is being done to wild bison. They are also a very kind hearted group, when we went to go visit they gave us clothing and a place to stay as well as food that was also very vegan and non vegan friendly. They are an amazing group of people with an amazing cause .

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hebgen Lake, Montana

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow them to have more funds, they essentially work on donation, although its not a whole lot they do make the best of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

They actually helped me get better at skiing, it was required for us to get around various terrains to spot the bison in certain areas. I also met lots of new friends!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It was pretty life changing, it brought to my attention something I didn't even really know existed, how badly our Yellowstone bison were being treated.

April 26, 2012

more

April 26, 2012

I Volunteered with the BFC in the spring of 2011, and the experienced changed my life. The entire crew was welcoming and I soon felt like I was home with BFC. Learning about the plight and suffering of the buffalo was heart breaking and inspiring. This history of genocide and control of the wild runs deep and is pervasive in every aspect of our lives. Freedom for the buffalo to roam and freedom from a toxic and degraded environment is crucial for our well-being and prosperity. All of our struggles for justice are interconnected. BFC is at the forefront of this struggle! Also the continuation of the way of life of the Buffalo People, the indigenous folks of this continent family with the buffalo, is integral to supporting the biological diversity of the wild. BFC is forging these relationships and networks to maintain cultural and biological diversity. Learning how to confront destructive government policies and their agents in a constructive manner was a valuable lesson that I gained from my time at BFC. These people are amazing and deserve all the support we can give! Thank you!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

expanding the world's consciousness about the buffalo's struggle.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I was deeply effected by my experience and came away with new friends, knowledge, inspiration and skills.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt supported and that I was making an improvement to the state of our sick world.

April 26, 2012

more

April 26, 2012

the buffalo stand for freedom rember if wee luse them there is no usa

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

BFC is in the field, following bison and what is being done to them, throughout the year. They document hazings, capture, shipment of wild bison to slaughter and injuries done to bison during these operations. It is deeply upsetting to witness, but they keep doing it day-in and day-out year after year. And they will keep doing while the bison are being treated like livestock instead of wildlife. The damage done to ecosystems through these activities is not just upsetting, it is detrimental in ways we have not yet begun to understand. The US government is continuing a policy of bison capture and slaughter instead of protecting this vital species as the federal mandate for National Parks instructs them to do. Bison are a national treasure and should be conserved as such. The status quo of hazing and slaughter for bison has to be changed and without BFC in the field, we would be far more ignorant of how federal and state governments are handling bison populations--BFC brings light to a dark, upsetting situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

No other group is in the field every day in defense of the last wild buffalo population in the U.S. They are working to stop the the slaughter of Yellowstone's wild bison because each animal lost is a tragedy for our nation. There were 1631 buffalos killed in 2007 and last year 29 in 2011. They continue to fight to keep the wild free-roaming bison in their natural habitat despite all the numerous obstacles from the government.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers