Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
197 Reviews
1234.918785
Write A Review
June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I have been a donor AND I also volunteered one week with this amazing organization. Every bit of resources goes into efforts that directly affect saving the buffalo. I work in the nonprofit area myself, so I am keen to seeing how a nonprofit uses its resources and the results it is attaining. Buffalo Field Campaign is one of those organizations that I am more than happy and willing to assist in its mission to save these magnificent icons of our nation's history. In addition to the animal rights work that they do, the organization also addresses environmental rights as well as human rights in relation to the "battles" that Native Americans still experience in the region, including those that connect them with the buffalo. Education and on-the-ground, one-on-one work with the buffalo and the public make this one of my top organizations to support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to focus on more television and Youtube coverage since our world is becoming more visual and many seem to get their news in this fashion. A "Saving the Buffalo" television series on Animal Planet or The Discovery Channel would be very compelling.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

BFC is one of the best front-lines organizations working for animal and environmental rights. I greatly admire them because they consistently distribute scientific evidence against the main underpinning of ranchers' prejudice against bison; and because they work on many levels to ensure the last wild bison can survive not just in Yellowstone, but also in more of their preferred habitat beyond park borders. Their on the ground coverage of what happens during the annual hazing of the bison speaks louder than any words they could say, and their love for the creatures is clearly their driving force.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their funding so they can have (more) staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Buffalo Field Campaign is one of the best nonprofits I've ever supported. Never have I seen such a professional outfit run by such passionate volunteers and staff members. It's obvious that they put their funds into their work for the benefit of the buffalo and not to benefit themselves as you sometimes see with other nonprofits. BFC's mission is clear, and they live it every day, in the field, in the courtroom, in ACTION to make a real difference. We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful nonprofit protecting America's last wild buffalo.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Few organizations -conservation oriented or otherwise - actually work in the field and keep their purpose as focused and pure as the Buffalo Field Campaign. This is a frontline, active group of dedicated people trying to preserve a vital part of our American heritage.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 29, 2012

I have been following and supporting this fine organization for over 10 years. They selflessly follow the last genetically wild remnants of the Great Herd that was all but wiped out in the 1800s. They... more

June 28, 2014

BFC was the first organization to bring the plight of America's last truly wild bison to the public view over a decade ago. Through bitter cold and heat 365 days /year they are in the field with the buffalo documenting and publicizing the senseless outrages committed by state and federal government agencies against these iconic creatures. They soldiered on through many grim sad days when 100s of bison were inhumanely rounded up and hauled to slaughter, for the supposed bogus reason of controlling brucellosis when the real purpose of the kills was for population control. Ranchers don't want bison grazing on range that they could be running cows on even if that range is located on the public's land.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing because these folks are truthful, hardworking and dedicated to the buffalo. They are frugal and can stretch a donation further than any nonprofit I know of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2012

I have been following and supporting this fine organization for over 10 years. They selflessly follow the last genetically wild remnants of the Great Herd that was all but wiped out in the 1800s. They document and spread the word about the atrocities commited against these buffalo by the federal government and the state of Montana who are perpetuating the range war against the buffalo. These icons of the West, which are valuable wildlife belonging to all Americans, are being senselessly harassed, injured and slaughtered with taxpayer money. Buffalo Field Campaign deserves my praise and donations because they efficiently and selflessly stretch those contributions; they are the only group in the field day in, day out patrolling on behalf of the buffalo.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 15, 2010

Their excellent newsletters keep me informed about what is happening to the herd and let me know what I can do to help out. They are compassionate, caring, committed individuals who have dedicated their lives to the cause of preserving this last remnant of a once mighty herd of buffalo. They have responded with handwritten thank you notes of gratitude for donations -- a couple I really cherish -enclosed in one was a small tuft of real buffalo hair that had been shed in the spring-- the front of another card had a group picture of the volunteers and staff with snowflakes falling. In the 10 years since I discovered the Buffalo Field Campaign they have worked tirelessly to protect these bison, have accomplished much and saved many buffalo lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing about the patrols which go out in all kinds of adverse weather and at all hours to monitor and record what heinous and ridiculous things governmental agencies are doing to the bison. I've also seen the volunteers who station themselves on highways

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I first heard of the Buffalo Field Campaign when a young man disrupted the slaughter of the buffalo this spring. I was very impressed with his commitment and understood his feelings and frustration at trying to deal with agencies that get so bogged down in red tape. I am very impressed with the amount of sourced, educational information on the Buffalo Field Campaign's website. These folks are so committed and clear in their goals and they make a lot of sacrifices to protect the buffalo. For those who value the lives of some of the last truly iconic and wild animals on our continent, this organization deeply deserves our support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

They go above and beyond to show the plight of our buffalo. They speak the truth and show the pictures of how the buffalo are being harassed by the state and fed govt. They are in the field with the buffalo rain, shine and snow, such dedication.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

The BFC is out 365 days a year working to protect the bison. They document, report and speak for the bison at meetings. And as far as I know they are all non paid volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

improve their public relations

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I love the work they do and the information they provide about the cause. I have learned a lot from them over the past year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

The Buffalo of the America's are a great symbol of strength.. an icon of what America once was and can be again.
The Buffalo Field Campaign is an amazing organization helping to protect these humble giants. Helping to preserve their rights and land access. They are one of the best non-profits
working in America today. I truly wish they would get more recognition and support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers