Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
125 Reviews
1234.9285
| 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
April 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
May 15, 2010

Their excellent newsletters keep me informed about what is happening to the herd and let me know what I can do to help out. They are compassionate, caring, committed individuals who have dedicated the... more

April 29, 2012

I have been following and supporting this fine organization for over 10 years. They selflessly follow the last genetically wild remnants of the Great Herd that was all but wiped out in the 1800s. They document and spread the word about the atrocities commited against these buffalo by the federal government and the state of Montana who are perpetuating the range war against the buffalo. These icons of the West, which are valuable wildlife belonging to all Americans, are being senselessly harassed, injured and slaughtered with taxpayer money. Buffalo Field Campaign deserves my praise and donations because they efficiently and selflessly stretch those contributions; they are the only group in the field day in, day out patrolling on behalf of the buffalo.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 15, 2010

Their excellent newsletters keep me informed about what is happening to the herd and let me know what I can do to help out. They are compassionate, caring, committed individuals who have dedicated their lives to the cause of preserving this last remnant of a once mighty herd of buffalo. They have responded with handwritten thank you notes of gratitude for donations -- a couple I really cherish -enclosed in one was a small tuft of real buffalo hair that had been shed in the spring-- the front of another card had a group picture of the volunteers and staff with snowflakes falling. In the 10 years since I discovered the Buffalo Field Campaign they have worked tirelessly to protect these bison, have accomplished much and saved many buffalo lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing about the patrols which go out in all kinds of adverse weather and at all hours to monitor and record what heinous and ridiculous things governmental agencies are doing to the bison. I've also seen the volunteers who station themselves on highways

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 29, 2012

more

April 29, 2012

BFC is a wonderful organization bringing awareness of the plight of the American Buffalo to the public. Their compassion and endeavors to educate make them a phenomenal group that has been effective in protecting Buffalos. Thank goodness they exist.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 23, 2010

I have spent 5 spring seasons volunteering with BFC and find them to be one of the most dedicated front-lines environmental activist groups out there. They have a true vision of a land full of wild fr... more

April 28, 2012

BFC is an incredible organization that does more on the buffalo issue with a small budget than most of the big name, big budget enviros put together. They are amazing to volunteer for, and have trained countless new activists with skills they will carry for the rest of their lives, as well as a respect and understanding for wild that is irreplaceable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2010

I have spent 5 spring seasons volunteering with BFC and find them to be one of the most dedicated front-lines environmental activist groups out there. They have a true vision of a land full of wild free-roaming buffalo that is inspiring, and have a multi-faceted practical approach to getting there - working not only in the field with the buffalo, but through the courts, through the legislative process, through public awareness campaigns, and through impressive coalition building.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the experience of working and living with such a dedicated team.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

inspirational and knowledgeable.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

Buffalo Field Campaign works every day year-round to protect the Yellowstone Buffalo, (that belong to you and me) from harm to them from the Montana Department of Livestock, (from hunting and hazing,) the US department of Agriculture, (from useless and harmful testing,) and sometimes complicity of the Park Service that is supposed to protect the Park's wildlife, with the above two entities. BFC keeps us appraised of current issues, and enables us to send messages to the appropriate agencies that need to hear from us on behalf of the buffalo. While doing all of this, volunteers also man/woman the frontlines to observe and record the day-to-day things going on with the buffalo. They endure cold, disappointment, even grief when a buffalo of any age is captured or killed. Yet they keep working at this vital task to save our nation's last pure wild buffalo, considering it a joy and a privilege to serve these magnificent and endangered animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I had the opportunity on Thursday evening to attend Mike Meese's presentation on the treatment of Yellowstone National Parks wild buffalo herd at the hands of the Interagency Bison Management Plan. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the IBMP it does a great deal to protect local ranchers access to public lands and cheap grazing at the expense of the Yellowstone bison and the American taxpayer. Under the guise of disease prevention the last wild buffalo herd has been slaughtered, experimented on, hazed and generally mistreated in a way that can only be described as abusive.
The video presentation was at times hard to watch as well as maddening but it was also at times uplifting in ways that I didn't expect. Images of injured newborn calves struggling to keep up with the herd as they were being hazed by agents of the government forced to run 15 miles in a single day will stick with me for a long, long time but so will the images and words of the BFC volunteers.
The amazing level of commitment Mike and the other BFC volunteers exhibit is nothing short of inspiring. Willing to endure all kinds of weather and to place themselves in harms way to bear witness to the treatment of these magnificent animals while at the same time forsaking the creature comforts that most of us enjoy is frankly one of the most selfless acts I can recall. Bringing the plight of the Yellowstone Bison into public view has slowed their killing to a trickle to the credit of the BFC but BFC marches on not satisfied with their enormous success, concerned only with the work that still needs to be done to protect the bison. After more than a decade of advocating for the buffalo at Yellowstone BFC's commitment has not wavered and I have no doubt that they will continue until the buffalo can roam free.
The buffalo's instinct's lead them to return to their ancestral lands but they are seeking more than just food. They are seeking their heritage, their place in a world that at least on public lands, lands that belong to you and me, should be guaranteed to them. Public lands should not be in the sole control of an industry that seeks only to enrich itself by removing native wildlife to make way for cattle grazing, an immoral and unjust act that should be outlawed.
Buffalo Field Campaign continues to fight for the right of the last wild bison in America to exist. They are fighting in the field and in the media as well as in the courts and they need our support. The first step is to contact BFC and become educated about what is really going on in Montana. Spread the word in support of BFC and the buffalo and make a donation to this amazing group.
The Buffalo Field Campaign can be reached via: www.buffalofieldcampaign.org/ and don't miss these very compelling videos documenting the treatment of the buffalo. www.buffalofieldcampaign.org/media/bisonvideogallery.html

On a personal note I would like to thank Mike and Stephany and all the other volunteers for their hard work and dedication to the buffalo. You guys are awesome!

Ray Goodwin
Sonoran Connection

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

Every time I read the the the Buffalo Field Campaign newsletter, it saddens me so to hear what is happening to these beautiful animals. This is where they belong, it's their home and rightfully so. To hear that they are constantly being run off is cruel and ignorant. They will keep coming back. It reminds me of the Road Runner cartoon where Wiley Coyote tries his darndest to outsmart the Roadrunner but he just can't do it. That's what it reminds me of when these government rangers or agents keep trying to move them. I guess they are just gluttons for punishment! A big thanks to all the staff and volunteers of Buffalo Field Campaign for their selfless efforts. Please keep up the great work. I'll be here signing every petition. Together we can hopefully see a time where the buffalo roam free as they were meant to be.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

The BFC is a wonderful group of people who work tirelessly 24/7 to protect these majestic and gentle animals from a life of daily hassles. All they need is to be left alone and these people are doing their best to see that this happens. Thank you to them all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

This group produces yeomanship work and gets results. The effort of this group constantly reminds me of how my tax dollars are often wasted in non-productive activity- hazing wild animals day-after-day. If the bison were truly a health threat to the cattle industry, the results would already be apparent - they are not.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 23, 2010

The BFC work tirelessly to help these magestic creatures. I have followed the BFC's work for years and I support them wholeheartedly. I am grateful that these incredible people are doing everything ... more

April 27, 2012

BFC is an amazing organization. They work tirelessly to protect the last of our precious wild Buffalo. They are truly wonderful people who believe in this cause wholeheartedly. I support their work and feel that this issue is very important. These animals deserve to live and thrive freely. BFC are a great non-profit org. and they deserve to win!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2010

The BFC work tirelessly to help these magestic creatures. I have followed the BFC's work for years and I support them wholeheartedly. I am grateful that these incredible people are doing everything they can to keep the buffalo alive and protected. Thank you BFC!!!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

that they are passionate people who truly care about the buffalo. They take the time to keep us updated on what is going on and they always send personal notes of thanks. They work so hard.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

What a great organization to monitor and save our wild bison from greedy ranchers and the government. Every life has a purpose. All animals are individuals and they have feelings and thoughts and they suffer the pain and the joy that we do. They are entitled and they deserve an opportunity to live. As Chief Seattle said, "If all the beasts were gone, man would die from loneliness of spirit, for whatever happens to the beast, happens to the man. All things are connected. Whatever befalls the earth, befalls the sons of earth."

"The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated." Mahatma Gandhi

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers