Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
123.2545
Write A Review
December 9, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
December 9, 2014

Amazing charity with over 90% on revenue going to the people in need.
September 5, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 5, 2014

Truly do try to help toward a good cause instead of trying to make a profit.
August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I donated but now wondering the validity of the BTLS foundation. Bubba says more than 10% overhead means it's a shady charity & past returns show way more than 10% plus info missing from past returns.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Update the Info to reflect current standings.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I know of a family who was helped by this organization and I can honestly say that the compassion, the amount of money and the personal involvement was just incredible! isFor the people who are saying bad things, please just look up the charity on GuideStar.org and you will see that almost ALL the money is given to these families at their time of need. Just because the owner of this organization has a "public persona" that he uses to make a very successful career does not mean that this is who he is. Obviously, he is a person with a heart and is very philanthropic. Get real people, do your homework and then make your comments.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Beware.
Take a good look at the people and businesses that are at the same address as this foundation and you would be a fool to send them your hard earned money.
People like John Stanton who is currently in federal prison, and others who probably should be.
Who are the biggest
donors?
How about Stephen Diaco, who is under investigation by the FBI and in the process of being punished or disbarred by the Florida Bar.
Where is the form 990 for 2013?
Where is a breakdown of expenditures and grants?

There are plenty of legit organizations that help LE you can donate to that are 'open and transparent' like this one falsely claims to be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

close it down

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated in the past, but this is starting to look questionable.
Bubba has always told his listeners to look up charitys on guidestar and look at their expenses vs. the amount that goes toward the cause and if it was more than 10% expenses it was a scam.
It appears that in 2012 that
his expenses were almost 50% of the amount that was given away.
The 2012 report also says that there was almost 70 thousand left in reserves at the end of the year but early into 2013 he was calling for fundraisers so he could give some money away.
This sounds very fishy to me.
What happened in 2013 with this foundation with 'transparent and open' financials?
We may never know, it appears that he is no longer filing the tax forms.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

File tax forms promptly and make all disbursements and breakdown of expenses public info.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I hear great things about this organization. I always hear about checks being presented to families of slain officers, etc. But I'm curious why the financials have not been turned over to Guidestar for all to see? Bubba talks about how every cent minus operational overhead goes to charity. I'd like to see those numbers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 28, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I'm very picky about what non-profit orgs. I send my hard earned money to. I've heard Bubba talk about his foundation alot and all of the great stuff that he and his foundation do for the families of fallen police and other public service men and women. They fall into my criteria of at least 75% of all moneys donated is given back to the ones in need that his foundation was started to help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that I know my money is going to a great cause and into some fatcats pocket!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers