Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.95
Write A Review
November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I first found Brook Hill with the intent of volunteering to help with the horses in any way I could but soon found out about the other amazing programs they offer. Soon I was part of the Adult Sponsorship Program and was taking lessons once a week to improve my horsemanship skills and confidence. I have learned more through that program during the last few months, than I had during prior lessons I took at my home. Not only am I learning to ride again...I am learning how to ride properly and my confidence level has been steadily growing...as is my knowledge and experience. Eventually I also became involved with the United Neigh program and began volunteering every Friday. It didn't ake long for me to see how valuable this program is...not just for the horses but for the amazing girls that are a part of it. I absolutely love my time with them and originally started volunteering because I wanted to help in any way that I could...but they have given me more than I ever thought possible. I have been blessed to watch these girls rally together as a team and for a short time put the outside world and its problems aside, and care for their horses with an enthusiasm and joy that only a true bond can bring. Jo Anne Miller, one of the Executive Directors has a talent for matching the right horse to the right girl and I have witnessed first hand the healing power in that connection between each girl and her horse. I would encourage anyone to check Brook Hill Retirement Center out if you are thinking about volunteering or looking for a worthwhile cause to donate to. Many lives are being changed daily and I am thrilled to be a small part of that :)))

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Brook Hill Farm is not only a great place for horses, but for teenage girls. Brook Hill Farm is by far the best place my daughter has ever been to learn about horses. She not only gets to ride, but learns how to work hard and take care of the horses. My daughter has epilepsy and has fought some stigma because of this in other places, but not here. Brook Hill Farm is her second home, the place she loves to be. She is given responsibility and is valued. The girls here have a reputation of knowing what they are talking about according to the local equine store. Brook Hill Farm also has college interns. One of these girls (a math major) has been tutoring my daughter in math and has made a big difference. This has been one of the best experiences in my daughter's life. She can train to whatever level she wants to here, but most importantly, she can be herself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Our experience is truly "helping horses, helps people!" My daughter struggles in school because of vision difficulties and dyslexia. Brook Hill Retirement Center for Horses has changed how my daughter feels about herself. The non-judgemental environment is refreshing. The "pitch in a do" attitude is contagious. Brook Hill has made a difference not only in her life, but in our whole family because what she experiences doesn't just stay on the farm but goes out into the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Brookhill is a place where I have had a great volunteer experience! As a complete novice with grooming horses, I have had fun learning about and working with the horses. I also enjoy being among teens, adults, dogs, and cats there. It is such a sweet, loving atmosphere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I am one of the teenage volunteers, a member of bBrook Hill Farm's "United Neigh" program. I have been a volunteer for more than three years. I love the horses, activities and all the other volunteers....they have become like an extended family to me. I started there when I was 12 , doing chores and helping to groom horses. Now I ride horses and am part of the 4 H group and pony club that are included in the activities for the teen volunteers. JoAnne and Tracy work hard and put in lots of hours to make this a wonderful program and help many many teens and horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Brook Hill not only Helps Horses, But helps people. They are the most caring bunch I have ever known. Seeing those girls come to the barn from broken places, and watching them heal with their horse is one of the greatest pleasures in life. No one can come to Brook Hill and leave the same person!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I have been an adult volunteer at Brook Hill Farm for more than 2 years now. I had been an active horsewoman all through my 20s and 30s, then took a haitus to raise my family. Upon returning to horses 20 years later, I searched my local region for a place I could fit into. I was thrilled to find that Brook Hill Farm was nearby, and from the first visit there, I knew that they had something very special going on. Sometimes you see horror stories of horse rescues that start out with good intentions, but for financial and other reasons, the horses end up sometimes worse off than when they arrived. This is NOT the case at Brook Hill Farm. Organized from the very beginning with a solid plan, dedicated professionals at the helm, the blessing of adequate land, and loving & committed volunteers, Brook Hill has managed to place over 350 horses in new homes in little more than a decade of operation. But that's not the end of it! Here, they also run a number of community programs that benefit people, too! for starters, there's the United Neigh Program, which helps teens, some of which have disabilities or troubled home lives, gain love and acceptance, while learning responsibility caring for their "own" horse. These kids absolutely thrive in this environment! There's also the College Intern Program, where Brook Hill partners with many of our local colleges providing students with on-the-job training in the fields of pre-med, pre-vet, and sociology, among other majors. Brook Hill is also PATH (Professional Association of Therapeutic Horsemanship) Certified, meaning that some of our professionals are certified to train disabled children. The list of credits goes on an on, but one of the best things that Brook Hill does is that they heal and help horses. We get many "throw-away" horses - ones that burn-out or physically break down, and their owners just don't want to care for them anymore. Through our team of seasoned professionals - the Director, Veterinarians, Board of Directors, Farrier, and other Therapists, each horse is evaluated and a care plan is customized for the physical rehabilitation and mental restoration of that horse. As long as it takes, each horse gets the time that he/she needs to return to a useful like if at all possible. Along the way, the volunteers and interns give the horse all the love, attention, & exercise it requires to thrive. The horses, many of whom have had hard-working or tough lives prior to arriving here, get to relax and just be a horse again, in beautiful rolling pasture, in a herd where they can graze freely and move about unconfined. And when they are ready, and only then, they are offered for adoption into carefully screened new homes. Brook Hill Farm is Nationally recognized, but the need for financial support is great. We do an awesome job with the resources we have, but we have outgrown the facilities and desperately need to expand the structures. We currently have 38 horses, but the barn only has seven stalls. The horses that need to be fed grain daily are fed in rotation, and this puts a lot of labor stress on the volunteers. We are fundraising to build a larger barn and indoor arena which will put us inthe position of being able to help more horses and serve the community better. I am only a volunteer here - I am NOT receiving any kind of payment for this review - so these are my honest reflections: Brook Hill Farm is a wonderful place doing wonderful things for both the kids and the horses. Their income is derived solely from donations and grants. PLEASE, please, please consider them in your charitable giving! We are good stewards of every penny, and we are grateful for all gifts received, both large and small! Check out our website at www.brookhillfarm.org, and please help us! Thank you so much!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

"It's all about the horses." That's the byword at BrookHill. With that being the common denominator, volunteers and members of all ages work together to care for each horse and also ride together, all in an atmosphere of friendship and common purpose. Leaders are well-qualified and willingly teach and share their knowledge about riding and horse health. Seeing a damaged animal grow healthy again is heartwarming to all; seeing an old, once-unwanted horse live out the rest of his days in a peaceful, stress-free field of grass gives great comfort to all who see. Watching a young would-be rider learn to groom and care for a horse and begin to gain confidence in her/his abilities both as a horseman and as a young woman or young man is very gratifying for an "older volunteer" such as I. Yet I feel as much a part of the group as if I, too, were young. You see, it's all about the horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

My relationship with Brook Hill Farm began six years ago when I adopted the most wonderful horse. Gem was a magnificent creature and a very special friend to me. He gave me many hours of blissful companionship at a time in my life when I was overwhelmed by the grief of losing my brother. To express my gratitude and give back to the organization, I volunteer as a horseback riding instructor. I have watched the children improve their social skills and academic standings as well as their riding abilities. It has been a tremendously gratifying experience for me to see the direct impact that sharing my knowlege and love of horses has had on these youths. I am very proud of all their accomplishments.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I love Brook Hill Farm. I needed to find something else to do in my life that was personal to me. I found a course at CVCC, local community college, called "Horses Are Fun". I was the only student registered and JoAnne Miller kept the class open for just me. I knew nothing about horses, she and Tracy have given me an experience beyond all I could have ever thought to receive from the course. They have answered every question I've had. They've been extremely patient and tolerant of my "horse" ignorance. After the course was over, I continued to volunteer and now I give monthly to this wonderful and worthy cause. Jo and Tracy have created a loving learning environment for college interns, at risk youth(with United Neigh), and horse lovers, new and experienced. I didn't know what to expect when I arrived here for my class 5 months ago but what I have found is a place I love to be. The horses are beautiful and cared for like children, they return any affection you give to them ten-fold. Much is needed here on a daily basis and long term, such as a larger barn, classroom and indoor training facility. I wish I had more time and money to give to this wonderful program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with horses or work with youth Volunteer