Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.95
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

"It's all about the horses." That's the byword at BrookHill. With that being the common denominator, volunteers and members of all ages work together to care for each horse and also ride together, all in an atmosphere of friendship and common purpose. Leaders are well-qualified and willingly teach and share their knowledge about riding and horse health. Seeing a damaged animal grow healthy again is heartwarming to all; seeing an old, once-unwanted horse live out the rest of his days in a peaceful, stress-free field of grass gives great comfort to all who see. Watching a young would-be rider learn to groom and care for a horse and begin to gain confidence in her/his abilities both as a horseman and as a young woman or young man is very gratifying for an "older volunteer" such as I. Yet I feel as much a part of the group as if I, too, were young. You see, it's all about the horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

My relationship with Brook Hill Farm began six years ago when I adopted the most wonderful horse. Gem was a magnificent creature and a very special friend to me. He gave me many hours of blissful companionship at a time in my life when I was overwhelmed by the grief of losing my brother. To express my gratitude and give back to the organization, I volunteer as a horseback riding instructor. I have watched the children improve their social skills and academic standings as well as their riding abilities. It has been a tremendously gratifying experience for me to see the direct impact that sharing my knowlege and love of horses has had on these youths. I am very proud of all their accomplishments.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I started here as a Volunteer from college and the love and support I found made me want to be at the barn 24-7, and the staff embraced me as part of the family at Brookhill. Everyone is committed to helping at risk youth and the horses that find there way to the farm; I can't think of a better place to serve. They accept every horse, child, and worker for who they are, and provide a safe environment to heal and grow. I have stayed with Brookhill as an intern and a board member. Once i stepped onto Brookhill soil, I became a Brookhill girl for life. I came to the farm from a past of torment and found peace. Thank God for the blessing of Brookhill farm! -jls

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I love Brook Hill Farm. I needed to find something else to do in my life that was personal to me. I found a course at CVCC, local community college, called "Horses Are Fun". I was the only student registered and JoAnne Miller kept the class open for just me. I knew nothing about horses, she and Tracy have given me an experience beyond all I could have ever thought to receive from the course. They have answered every question I've had. They've been extremely patient and tolerant of my "horse" ignorance. After the course was over, I continued to volunteer and now I give monthly to this wonderful and worthy cause. Jo and Tracy have created a loving learning environment for college interns, at risk youth(with United Neigh), and horse lovers, new and experienced. I didn't know what to expect when I arrived here for my class 5 months ago but what I have found is a place I love to be. The horses are beautiful and cared for like children, they return any affection you give to them ten-fold. Much is needed here on a daily basis and long term, such as a larger barn, classroom and indoor training facility. I wish I had more time and money to give to this wonderful program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2012

more

January 14, 2012

I met the folks at Brook Hill Farm through a mutual friend. After an introduction and orientation I decided that this was the place for me. Kids all moved away from home, and I had been a stay-at-home mom for 25 years it was time to get to do something I always had a passion for. July 2009 was the beginning of a new chapter in my life. What started out as a once a week visit to volunteer (shovel manure) turned into joining the United Neigh Program where I had my own horse to care for and ride. Then I became the cook in addition to riding. Later, I was asked to join the Board of Directors ( I had never served on a committee before) then over time I worked my way up to volunteering with the horse rehab program and now as of Fall of 2011 am Chairman of the Board! All as a volunteer. This rescue farm puts these unwanted horses first. Nothing goes undone. Each horse (we currently have 35 horses) is given special attention, and love from our youth, adults, college interns, and volunteers. We have a veterinarian and other professionals who assist us in planning a rehab program for those horses that need it. Not only do we rehabilitate horses but Brook Hill Farm rehabilitates people, too. I am speaking of at-risk youth who are in our United Neigh Program. The kids are between the ages of 12-18 and along with volunteering their time after school hours each has the responsibility of caring for a horse. We have 12 girls that I have had the good fortune to get to know and mentor since I've been volunteering. Our mission is not only getting unwanted horses moving without pain but teaching our girls responsibility, educating them on caring for these animals and they in turn are giving back to their community. Our horses are given a second chance in life when they come to Brook Hill and most are free leased to families after their time spent in rehabilitation. This organization is run like a well oiled machine and I am so lucky to be associated with it. I now volunteer 5 afternoons a week and could share so much more. Am happy to get to share my personal experience for this campaign. Leslie

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching our youth improve their life skills, rehabilitating lame horses, bringing a malnourished horse into our facility and watch it gain a zest for life, witnessing abused children grow and mature into beautiful young ladies, I myself am no longer a backyard horse rider( have gained knowledge from professional training), witnessing the growing pains associated with successful nonprofits, and I have personally experienced new and long lasting, meaningful relationships through the people of this organiz

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give all the money it needed to build a facility where the horses don't have to eat in shifts (due to seven stall barn), where the director doesn't have to have private meetings in a wash room, where food doesn't have to be prepared on the same counter where the barn cats eat, where the classroom is also the office, library, kitchen, tack room, orientation room, meeting room. I would give all the money needed to house each horse when there is severe weather, and electric heat would be high on the list

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

A new facility.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned how to be a better rider, am learning how to raise funds, and I have made friends for life. There is a tremendous amount of satisfaction by giving of one's own time and money to witness and participate in the rescue and rehabilitation of unwanted horses and watch at risk youth grow up and become responsible and successful young adults.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This organization has made me feel and continues to make me feel good about giving back to my community through my time, talents, financial support, and desire to help unwanted horses and at-risk youth.

January 11, 2012

more

January 11, 2012

Brook Hill Farm is not only an excellent horse rescue and rehabilitation facility it is also a wonderful place for teenagers to work with horses, experience great personal growth ,learn a work ethic and develop a lifelong love for horses. As an adult volunteer with a daughter in their United Neigh program I feel privileged to have my daughter involved in their comprehensive program. My daughter, who is home schooled has found a place where she can develop her social skills, improve her riding abilities and learn a compassion for horses that need help. She participates in barn chores and has responsibilities to work with her assigned horse in his rehabilitation program. She has learned that hard work and patience are rewarded. The skills she is learning will be of value and carry over to any proffesion she chooses in the future. As for myself, I was fearful of horses due to experiences with them as a teenager and now credit Brook Hill Farm for giving me the opportunity to develop a bond with a very special TB. At 57 I have decided to learn to ride and taking their advice have taken on a highly trained horse that had injuries forcing his retirement from jumping. Being a green rider I have been privileged to learn to ride on a master! Ultimately the brook Hill Farm family not only helps the horses....they help the people too! Regards, Sandra

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2012

more

January 3, 2012

I donated my horse to Brook Hill this year after exploring and exhausting all other options that might allow him to live a useful life. After going through the application process and flying down to Virginia to see them in action it is clear to me they are very good at what they do. The horses are well cared for, and the work they do with disadvantaged youth is a wonderful way to teach children responsibility and empathy. I am thankful and relieved that my horse has the potential to be rehomed and live a useful life. I am MORE thankful and relieved that should he not hold up to the rigors of work he will always have a safe home with people who care about him.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 3, 2012

more

January 3, 2012

Brook Hill does a lot with very little. Since its inception, over 360 horses have found new homes. It runs a program that not only benefits the horses, but helps local youth develop responsibility, compassion, and accountability in addition to learning riding skills. All these horses are "throw-aways", meaning that their owners didn't or couldn't care for them anymore. All were given a second chance at a new life, the alternative being auctions- most of which end up in slaughter. We rehabilitate these horses from their physical or mental impairments, giving them the rest or retraining they need to lead new productive lives with gentleness and love. The facilities are woefully outgrown to support the average 35 +/- horses at any given time. We are trying to raise funds for a new facility which we desperately need. Please check out the Brook Hill website at www.brookhillfarm.org to learn more and help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2012

more

January 3, 2012

My experience with Brook Hill Farm has been multi-tiered. I first discovered them in the midst of a personal "horse search".I knew from the beginning that my “next” horse would be a rescue of some kind. I knew of the tragedies within the racing industry; and the effect the economy had on thousands of once-wealthy “horsey” families. I knew that the number of horses brought to slaughter through the U.S. is in the high six-figures, and I knew how many amazing animals are left to fend for themselves due to their owner's finances or lack of concern. If money, land and time were un-ending, I would have a farm full of horses who need a second chance.

Lucky for me - and for hundreds of four-legged souls - there is a farm full of horses who need, and receive, a second chance. One email exchange and a three hour drive later and I found myself at Brook Hill Farm in VA, looking at a big gray mare with a deep, dark eye named Lorelei.

Horses have always been, and will always be, a part of my life. I am a big believer in the horse-human relationship, and my belief has been further strengthened the more I have learned about the United Neigh program at Brook Hill Farm. Over the last year that I have stayed in touch with BHF, I have had the pleasure of meeting the girls who are part of the UN program; to see them care for “their horses” and to hear their stories of how they have grown as individuals since coming to BHF; to see those girls, helping horses with broken hearts, all the while repairing their own, unknowingly. Each of those girls will be a role model for some other little “horse girl” in the future, and will be amazing, beautiful women who contribute positively to society. It's a humbling and inspiring program to be a part of, and I hope to spend even more time with them in the future.

Since the start of my relationship with Lorelei and BHF, my passion for programs like United Neigh has truly been re-ignited. (Yet another thing I can thank that big gray mare for.)

One might say that, by adopting through BHF, I have made a difference in the life of a horse. But the truth is that Lorelei, and the people I met who surrounded her, have made a bigger difference in mine.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 28, 2009

more

August 28, 2009

Wonderful organization! The farm does rehabilitation and rescue as well as providing a wonderful youth program. The free lease for life program has been very successful and there are lots of happy horse owners out there thanks to Brook Hill!

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

amazing!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with horses or work with youth Volunteer