Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 19, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
June 19, 2013

I came to know the Brilliant Lecture Series when they brought George Clooney to Houston. I have been to very event since, including the Stephen Hawking lecture. I am amazed at the caliber and quality of the speakers they bring and have already purchased by tickets to see the Edvin Marton Stradivarius Show. I was sorry that Stephen Hawking was unable to travel to Houston but understood that Stephen Hawking is a person with severe physical difficulties. As such, he has to do his job using technology and in this case, Prof. Hawking chose to speak to Houston via video because his physical limitations forced him to stay in Cambridge. The talk was world class and I was honored that Prof. Hawking chose to talk to Houston instead of cancelling. I believe the world should be more understanding of people with disabilities and hats off to the Brilliant Lecture Series for allowing Prof. Hawking to speak in spite of his limitations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing....They are a class act!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is shadiest organization with whom I have ever had the displeasure of doing business. I googled the organization just to see if any other guests had received their requested refunds from the Hawking event.

While I certainly understand Dr. Hawking's disease and his need to cancel,
I do not understand is why an organization that offered a refund as a choice when the event was canceled decided not to honor that refund! I also find it funny that the positive reviews of this organization all happened on the same day (6/18/13)! Is someone in this organization trying to improve their average star rating? What kind of organization would do that?

Please be very careful when you buy anything from this group. They have changed their policies on their website to clearly tell you that they will steal from you. Although their disclosure doesn't make it legal, at least they tell you what they are going to do should an event cancel...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The y need to completely change their culture, which means they probably need 100% staff and board turnover.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

BLS has brought so many Brilliant Speakers to Houston up close and personal. This organization continues to impress me with the selection of speakers and the beautiful productions each and every time. I look forward to attending many more events...who will it be? Everyone, do yourself a favor and join in to support this very amazing group.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

I can't say enough how much many of the speakers have changed my outlook on life and the world even. We jumped at the chance to meet Sidney Poitier and have attended each event since that we home for. Thank you for bringing the Series to Houston, my family and I would never of dreamed to meet and be truly life-changed by these speakers. We anticipate to marvel over our next family get together with you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We loved Ms. Betty White, keep rest like that night.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 22, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I purchased tickets to see Stephen Hawking speak as part of the Brilliant Lecture Series. Unfortunately, due to health issues preventing international travel, Dr. Hawking was unable to appear in person and BLS is instead showing an ‘exclusive’ prerecorded lecture in place of the live lecture. BLS is not offering full or partial refunds despite the fact that ticket prices are commensurate with a live performance ($35 - $200+); instead, your choice as a customer is to pay to see an over-priced movie of Dr. Hawking or receive a credit to a future lecture (or, just walk away entirely). Unfortunately, there is only one lecture on the schedule, though I am assured that ‘there is a full calendar booked’. The single scheduled speaker likely holds little interest for anyone who bought tickets to see Dr. Hawking speak.

BLS's attitude about this is disappointing to say the least—to me this shows a lack of respect for their customers. People clearly paid to see an in-person lecture and that’s not what is being delivered. Many disappointed customers have voiced their frustration on social media only to have their comments deleted. This lack of transparency is a tell-tale mark of an organization that knows it’s not behaving ethically. I guess BLS hasn’t heard the adage that twice as many people tell others about bad service than good. I certainly won’t support BLS in the future and will be happy to share my experience with anyone who cares to listen.

I see that BLS is cited for their commitment to transparency—I can tell you this is certainly not my experience with them and there are several hundred people that are feeling similarly slighted because of their poor handling of this unfortunate situation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers