Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.18755
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I found BOH while I was still pregnant. We went in for our 20 week ultrasound and were told our baby had CDH. BOH was the first website we found and the information on the site was so much more reassuring then other sites we had found. I didn't really get too involved until after my son was born and home. It has been a great resource and Elizabeth is so incredibly helpful in times of need. I have found great support through this site. I would recommend it to others for sure.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

My son, Aiden was diagnosed March of 2011 with CDH and passed away August 2011. Elizabeth was wonderful and so helpful and still is so supportive. Thankful for her!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013

more

February 14, 2013

My baby girl was diagnosed with CDH Dec 2012, I was doing some research about CDH and came across with Breath Of Hope. Elizabeth was deffenitive very helpful, she took the time to talk to me and make me feel that there is hope. Thank you Elizabeth for your hard work. God bless you

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 1, 2011

When we found out my granddaughter was going to be born with this birth defect called Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia, which we had never heard of, Breath of Hope was there to offer information, encou... more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When our granddaughter was diagnosed with Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia, or CDH, we struggled to find current information until we found Breath of Hope. They not only provided us with information but also support, encouragement, and contact with others facing the same challenge. Our granddaughter is now in Kindergarten and has continued to thrive, and we owe a great debt to the kindness of Breath of Hope.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2011

When we found out my granddaughter was going to be born with this birth defect called Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia, which we had never heard of, Breath of Hope was there to offer information, encouragement and support. We will forever be grateful to them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The caring that was offered to our family

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

My son died from CDH. I didn't know what it was or anything about it. After he passed I began looking online for information about this defect. I came across Breath of Hope and I couldn't have been happier. Elizabeth was very comforting and welcoming. I didn't feel awkward putting my story or my feelings out there because I knew all the people on there have lost children or have children with this defect that stole my son from me. I can vent any day of the week, any hour and I will always get a caring response. BOH has definitely changed my life and has helped me get through the grieving process. They are very informative. I wish I had them from the first day I was told my son had CDH.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

My son was born with CDH he has overcome many obstacles. And he is age 9 !!!!! This group is nothing less than amazing and super supportive

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

When the baby I was carrying was diagnosed with CDH, I found Breath of Hope. They provide information and support for parents & families. They've been an invaluable resource for me and my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful


I have been a member for about a year and I find the information about CDH Awareness Day very conflicting and a bit dishonest. Elizabeth says that BOH has March 31st and it is not because of any reason and not a charity day. But in the records she clearly states that it is. I searched and
found this. There are several posts on the internet about why she chose March 31st. It is petty and I think the rewrite of the charity history to benefit her stance in a current argument against another charity is very unprofessional.

Hi all,

First what BOH was - what it was formed to be and why it was formed.

Through the push of others I started the listserv with under 20 members - friends I had found through my own CDH and Grief Journey. In fact, without the push of several of them to start it - I probably would have never started the Yahoo Group and thought about using my experience with non-profits to work. You see - there was nothing out there that was for all - that encompassed all and was working actively to bring awareness of CDH to the general public we must all still explain the defect to!

I was part of an organization and left because I was advised to based upon my career in non-profit at the time and also because it was going no where and doing nothing. I have high ethics and standards, some in this world do not.

BoH was known to others as a small group of grieving Moms. And most of us were. I was researching and my job made it virtually impossible to start BoH on the way to NPO status. We had squabbles then. There is not a LISTSERV out there that does not. The written word sometimes offends. We can not be face to face to view the actual meaning behind the words that we might interpret as hurtful - when they are not.

Suddenly BoH went through this huge growth spurt. We had over 140 members join within a year. I had a handful of Grieving Moms who were with the Listerv from the beginning email me on almost a weekly basis - we need another listerv because I can't read about survivors. I set up a poll. Poll said keep just one listserv. I let it be. And for about 6 months so did those Moms. Later poll said to add the listservs - I did and I got backlash for that. I am damned if I do and damned if I don't!

Last fall, I finally had the time and energy and had researched enough to organize BoH into a NPO. I went to folks that had been with BoH for quite a while and chose those to be on our Board of Directors. These were also those that were on the Board when we Incorporated in 2004 but we added a few more. I wanted a balance of both parents of HAs and EAs to be on the Board.
Members on the Board were told - since I had to take this "Leadership Roll"
there might be some decisions I make that they wouldn't like, that they might hate me at times for the decisions that have to be made to push forward. They did. Our Mission Statement was the start of it.

Breath of Hope
Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia
Supporting all
Searching for a cure

MISSION STATEMENT
Breath of Hope exists to combat the congenital diaphragmatic hernia birth defect. We are committed to supporting parents, children, family members and friends facing the diagnosis of a congenital diaphragmatic hernia birth defect. We carry out this mission through promoting public awareness, supporting the medical community and encouraging research efforts to one day prevent or successfully treat those diagnosed with a congenital diaphragmatic hernia.

This group is for those who had a child with Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia - CDH. This listserv as of 2/2004 is for both survivors families and those who have had non survivors - but then we are all survivors.

This is to establish an organization that will be active and productive for families, doctors and research. As of 5/17/2004 Breath of Hope is now incorporated through the Commonwealth of Virginia's State Corporation Commission. We have sent in our application to the IRS to establish a 501 c 3 as of March 31, 2007!


Above is also the history. We had one Board Member who wanted us to include the phrase "grieving parents" in the mission statement. Majority - says it does - it includes ALL in this. This Board Member wanted as she put it, "my group" represented. I am a Grieving Parent too (and I wasn't part of her group?) - and Mission statements are very broad. She later came to me saying that a HR Rep told her this too! When she left she said I never listened to her (she was the one that pushed the added listerves?) and I was going to drive BoH into the ground.

We had a member who was doling out medical advise, and there were others claiming that she had contacted them after their child had died saying that they had or their doctors had or their decisions for medical care had killed their child. I had warned this member several times regarding her medical advising. She was then removed. I don't like doing this.

Others on the Board felt this was harsh. In society we all need rules - I don't like them either but they are guidelines for conduct. There are a whole lot of people out there that are less than balanced - not here but elsewhere and sometimes they join Listservs (you don't need a license - just a computer). Board members left because I made the hard decision of removing this person. Some of those board members were friends for years and made their issues with me - and their other issues - every ones issues here. They "Grandstanded" when they left several months ago and put what was on the Board Listserv out here for everyone.

That was not necessary, professional or in my personal opinion ethical for a Board Member to do. (Nor was it caring or compassionate to those expecting or those that had just lost their angel.) I was also very hurt by some things that these people were accusing me of - saying I sent them crazy emails - when all I did was thank them and tell them I understood that there was a whole lot of work to forming a NPO. (How was that crazy?) I am just the punching bag and continue to be that for many out there.

Many of you understand and have emailed me off the listerve and I pushed on. Think I wasn't hurt? Think I wasn't mad? Think I didn't want to fold up shop - I did!

Growing pains. Many of those that left want a Grief Support Group - well - this is a CDH Group and that includes those expecting, those who have survivors and those that have angels. If we offer grief support - that is bordering on medical advise. There are many out there that are grief support and we have the Angels Listerv and we also have this one - and I truly and honestly believe it is a help. I also believe that if you need more help with grief or even your family if you have a EA in the household - there is support out there - you go to them. I admit - I needed to see a councilor after Cecilia. All the hurt you have from your past - somehow comes out when something truly devastating as the loss of a child hits you. I worked through myself for over a year. We are working on something that would help everyone recognize signs of needed help and resources out there. I have also been accused of telling people the "right way to grieve". There is no right way but one can not be in a rut for 3 or more years and think that is the way your life should be for the rest of it! There is a point you must pull yourself out and try to see the beauty and joy of your child and put a positive spin on it - make lemon aid out of the lemons you received.

Where Breath of Hope is....

We are a new NPO - awaiting the IRS Determination Letter, organizing folks together to volunteer and help. We have several members already helping and who have stepped forward to help. We still have members that might need a break from BoH - that is fine - sometimes we all need to take a week, a month or more to just focus differently! That is okay. This will still be a struggle. There are a whole lot of things on the back-end that will need to be done to get BoH where it is. Our website - there is progress but when we ask for pictures and ask for Testimonials and ask for anything and get no response - how are we to do anything?

BoH is not supposed to be about one child, or one person who formed it/founded it - I never post that I am the Founder - anyone ever notice that? It isn't solely about Cecilia - it is about all of you and all of your children. Always has been!

I can not stop what I have started. I will not stop it either. It hurts me that I have given folks chances and they have betrayed me, now say that I did this or that - when I did not. Accuse me of being this or that - and I am not. These were my "friends"? Well guess what, there are people who have been here since the beginning who have not said that about me, who are still here and still support the vision of Breath of Hope and what it is about.

The future - well that is up to you all here. We can - as I have - ignore the critics and move forward or listen to the critics and wallow in hurt and pity.

I choose to push on - just as I did after Cecilia decided wings would be more amusing than feet. I had no choice but to push on - and I don't have any choice now. In 2007 - there will be approximately 1800 CDH babies born - it hasn't stopped. Nor should we.

With warm regards,
Elizabeth
CEO
Breath of Hope Inc.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Distrust. The CEO seems to have her own motives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think it needs more transparency.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2012

more

June 17, 2012

My son was born with CDH in December of 2011. Thankfully he was a fighter and pulled through and is now a healthy 6 month old! Many other babies are not as lucky though and this charity is a wonderful way to bring awareness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Through the work of Team Abel we provide support to families who have or are going to have Babies diagnosed with CDH. We have a lemonaide stand at local Farmer's Markets, and around the globe to raise money so we can help with research and needs of families. Amber is the hardest working mother of 4 with a baby who has CDH, and it is becasue of her that I wanted to be on our board, it is inspiring!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Edit our newsletter, create graphics, help families who have been affected by CDH, distribute our materials to hospitals or health care who may distribute it to families who could benefit. Help review or edit our materials.