Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.18755
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

We lost our baby to CDH last year. And since then we have spoked to many organizations/charities yet none have been as heartfelt as BOH. When Elizabeth says she is there for you she means it. The warmth felt through our conversation is indescribable. Her support is unmatched. We had approached other nonprofits with ideas to help educate the public and each said no. But at BOH their belief is the more noisy wheels out in the world the better. They want as many people as possible to help spread the word of CDH.

Each organization has there own agenda. But at BOH they really do care about each family. We not only received a care package but Elizabeth actually sent us a hand painted care box for our son. No other organization went to this limit. The community of BOH members also seem to be just as kind. We have established some great relationships with families through this community. Thank you Elizabeth and all the hard workers of BOH you have done so much for us.

The Frias'

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2013

After reading all the posts this week attacking CHERUBS I had to ask a few rhetorical questions. Why doesn't Elizabeth focus on her own charity? So what if Dawn makes a salary? Your posts seem je... more

September 22, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The reason people post anonymously here is because Elizabeth cannot delete it and cannot attack them personally for questioning or having concerns. This has long been an issue at Breath of Hope. Posting here also makes Elizabeth publicly accountable for how she responds to CDH families and how honest and factual her responses are.

I would like to ask the Board of Directors at Breath of Hope, Incorporated if the following is true. Your tax returns state that you have given out the following funds:

2012

Research $0.00
Family Grants $0.00
Scholarships $0.00
Pay to Other Charities $200.00

2011

Research $0.00
Family Grants $0.00
Scholarships $1000.00

2010

Research $750.00
Family Grants $0.00
Scholarships $3000.00
Pay to Other Charities $350.00

2009

Research $10200.00
Family Grants $0.00
Scholarships $10000.00
Pay to Other Charities $100.00
Legal Fees $12,309.75

2008

Research $0.00
Family Grants $0.00
Scholarships $0.00
Pay to Other Charities $200.00

2007

Research $0.00
Family Grants $0.00
Scholarships $0.00

Did your charity only fund $750.00 for Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia research in the past 3 years? Has your charity ever supported any CDH family monetarily through funds at your charity?

I would like to request a very clear honest answer and not one of Elizabeth's full of smoke responses and attacks on others. I also would like to know how much BOH is giving to research and families in direct funds not how much they helped in other ways or indirectly. It is a very simple question of direct monetary support for research and families. By law this information is public.

I received this in my e-mail:


From: GreatNonprofits
To: cdhsuperhero@yahoo.com
Sent: Monday, August 19, 2013 4:52 PM
Subject: New message from GreatNonprofits user

This message was sent to you by a member of the GreatNonprofits community:

From notifying all the nonprofits and groups you listed on your "review". One replied with this link below - if Cherubs doesn't come up - please enter it and search - they are no longer a registered charity in North Carolina and therefore can not fund raise. And each state has it's own rules and regulations for fundraising. Breath of Hope is registered in 10 states, including Virginia.


http://www.secretary.state.nc.us/csl/results.aspx?searchstr=Cherubs
from boh@breathofhopeinc.com
If you'd like to unsubscribe and stop receiving these emails click here.

In response to this I would like to know what 10 states Breath of Hope, Inc. is registered in. This should be public information as well. I would also like to know why you thought it your duty to email me and criticize another charity.

Another email:


From: GreatNonprofits
To: cdhsuperhero@yahoo.com
Sent: Monday, August 19, 2013 3:48 PM
Subject: New message from GreatNonprofits user

This message was sent to you by a member of the GreatNonprofits community:

We will counter this with where is it that anyone who is an official officer with Breath of Hope has stated anything about any nonprofit's salaries?

As for other charities filings - you may want to take the fact that if a charity generates less than a curtain dollar amount in revenue/donations, they do not file a 990 Form for the US.

Chapters are filed under the parent charity but at this time we have been waiting on Team Abel - they have 18 months from the filing they did do in the State of CO to present us with their information or become an independent charity. Shooting for Liam has decided not to go for the chapter designation and just be a program of Breath of Hope.

As for MJ Memories - it is a project of Project Sweet Pea, which is a registered charity. Perhaps you should do a bit more homework on charities and actually ask those charities about their information before making accusations?

We can not answer for charities outside the US and have no knowledge on that subject.

We also find it rather convenient with all the good reviews we have here from real people - the few that are bad reviews are from those that never were served by Breath of Hope and/or anonymous and will not go directly to our charity and ask questions.

from boh@breathofhopeinc.com
If you'd like to unsubscribe and stop receiving these emails click here.

In response, yes every charity has to file a tax return and be licensed no matter the amount of income. I distinctly remember you attacking CHERUBS for not filing when they had little income. Are the laws different for your friends?

You have posted here about Dawn's salary and deleted it. Screen captures have circulated and many of us saw your original comments with our own eyes. Do you still say that you never typed the words publicly posted?

I see that you now have a Gold seal at GuideStar which means that you were audited. Would you make this audit public please? You stated that audits cost $10,000 so this would mean you spent $10,000 out of $16,000 for an audit. Is that true?

Thank you for hopefully an honest and professional response.

Your response:

boh_ wrote: September 23, 2013

And this proves that these anonymous "reviews" are ALL false. In 2008 Breath of Hope sent $550 (with a total revenue of just over $4,000) to CDH Research at Johns Hopkins Medical Center. In 2009, Breath of Hope sent over $15,000 to Saint Louis Children's Hospital for CDH Research. In 2010, Breath of Hope sent $350 to Global CDH for the NYC Marathon which benefited the DHREAMS Study and $750 to Saint Louis Childrens for CDH Research. Also in 2009 we awarded $10,000 in Scholarships to 5 recipients and in 2010, $3,000 in scholarships to 3 recipients. In 2011, one scholarship for $1,000. This is all available on Guidestar on our 990 Forms - you can email boh@brethofhopeinc.com and we will be happy to send you the official 990 Forms - we have them from 2007 when we first started accepting donations through 2012. The 2012 990 Form is not available from Guidestar yet but we will be happy to provide you with the 2012 Form we mailed in May.

My response to this is that the numbers were taken directly from your IRS forms posted on Guidestar including your 2012 form that is also posted. They are the amounts that you sent to the IRS. If that data is incorrect then you should amend your returns. I suggest you also make your returns publicly available freely as Guidestar viewing of forms is not free. This would clear up any confusion donors would have without being subjected to having to ask you for the forms to review or having to pay to see them. It would also assure them that you have not doctored any forms that you send to them and have nothing to hide.

Are you stating that all anonymous reviews and complaints are not valid concerns or opinions but attacks on you and your charity?

Does your charity have a whistleblower policy to keep members and the public safe from the wrath of those criticized?

Thank you for clarifying that BOH has given only $750 in research funding in the past 3 years and overall has spent more on legal fees than research funding in BOH's entire lifespan. You have also spent more on scholarships for individuals of your choosing than on research. Is that correct as well?

I am still awaiting response on the other questions that I posted that you neglected to respond to.

You commented here the following:

boh_ wrote: September 23, 2013

Annual Audits? We collect under $25K a year in donations and revenue, explain this? We have adopted Sarbanes-Oxley Act and Implications for Nonprofit Organizations adopted from Boardsource which includes a whistle blower policy. Over $30,000 has been donated to CDH Research and Scholarships since Breath of Hope was established. We were the first nonprofit organization for CDH to send our Care Packages world wide, that program has existed far before any others out there. We have sent thousands of these packages out and they contain accurate MEDICALLY REVIEWED materials. Our CDH Research Fund from last year will be combined with funds this year to donate to two separate Research Funds. Registration in states? VA, NY, CO, AZ, KS, and there are several pending. Perhaps you should stop updating this list on a daily basis. We have families to support and other things to do than answer some Troll who has nothing else better to do but bash us and several other charities. You brought other charities into this conversation.

I will respond that every donor and member of the public has the right to question any non-profit. We also have the right to receive a professional response to any questions asked including about funding. It is not professional to respond with name calling and defensiveness instead of simple answers.

Breath of Hope, Incorporated from 2007 to 2012 as written on your 990 IRS tax forms:

Scholarships $14,000.00 to benefit 6 people
Legal Fees $12,309.75 in one year
Research $10,950.00 with a total of $0.00 in the past 3 years
Pay to Other Charities $850.00
Family Grants $0.00

You are not registered in Arizona. http://www.azsos.gov/scripts/Charity_Search.dll

You are not registered in Kansas. http://www.kscharitycheck.org/search.asp

Your registration in New York is outdated. http://www.charitiesnys.com/RegistrySearch/show_details.jsp?id={F2F8C045-032E-454D-80FA-5392DACE1064}

Your chapter in Colorado has not filed a 990. http://www.sos.state.co.us/ccsa/ViewSummary.do?ceId=112499

If you have not had an audit you are not eligible for Guidestar gold level charity status. You also do not voluntarily submit financial data to the site. You do not make your financials available freely to donors without gating them at your discretion. You are not a transparent charity.

Why is it not acceptable to hold you under the same microscope that you hold other charities under but with a much cleaner lens? My analysis and questioning has been accurate and professional without any personal contempt or attacks. This is far kinder and more mature than how you have treated others.

If someone has a complaint or question about your charity whom should they speak to? If someone has a complaint about you Elizabeth, is there anyone above you to confer with?

Is anyone overseeing the accounting at Breath of Hope, Inc except for Elizabeth Doyle-Propst?

Is anyone available to respond to questions and concerns here except for Elizabeth Doyle-Propst?

I would like to request copies of your 990s, financial data and meeting minutes for every year sent by email to cdhsuperhero@yahoo.com or posted publicly within 10 business days of September 25, 2013. These records are public record and by law you must grant them unedited to anyone who requests them.

Thank you for your cooperation.

You responded:

boh_ wrote: September 25, 2013

Contact us at boh@breathofhopeinc.com with your requests. For the record, our Board of Director Meeting Minutes are not subject to public review and are not required to be provided. The $12,309.75 was not just for legal council but also for website design and technical support - contracted work. Our scholarships were awarded from a grant we received for this purpose. Awarded to 4 CDH survivors, a RN who did post graduate work who works at CHOP with CDH families, an Aunt to a CDH survivor and a future MD. We didn't give ourselves the rating from Guidestar. AZ registration is pending. CO - 990 Form was not required to be filed and we have yet to hear from them if they want to be an affiliate or a chapter. New York - we registered and have not received any information because it isn't required if your revenue is under a curtain $ amount. You need to do some research before you microscope our charity. We will provide you documentation, when you email us - we will no longer respond to this "public forum" nor are we required to do so. Suggest you make the same requests of others and it is astounding how you continue to post here, bash our charity in support of one that constantly does the same. CDHSuperHero or are you Dawn Williamson, who needs to focus on her charity and stop creating accounts and focusing on others?

Then you edited your comment to:

boh_ wrote: September 25, 2013

Actually Board Meetings are not subject to public inspection. We have provided documents to Guidestar and they are the ones that do the rating, complain to them, not us. When you email us at boh@breathofhopeinc.com and request the documents, we will provide them - but the 990 Forms are available for public inspection on Guidestar too. This is a public forum, you must make a formal request of us to receive the documents. The AZ and KS registrations are pending. As for CO - we explained that they are in formation and have up to 18 months to make the decision to be a separate affiliate or to become a Chapter. A 990 Form is not necessary if their revenue was under $25K. NY does not require annual registration for foreign charities with revenue of less than $25K. Again, formally make your request, we have verified this with the IRS a formal request must be made - you can either email us at boh@breathofhopeinc.com or mail your request at Breath of Hope, PO Box 6627, Charlottesville, VA 22906 and you will receive your requested documents within 30 days.

And then you added:

boh_ wrote: September 25, 2013

Board of Director Meeting Minutes are not subject to public inspection by law. We are registered in NY, AZ and KS are also pending. Guidestar makes those ratings, not us - so complain to them. Not us. We do provide them with documentation and it is available, however the 990 Forms duplicated on the site are unnecessary and those they obtain from the IRS are stamped with the date they were officially received by the IRS. When an organization completes 990 Forms when they do not have to but could file a post card for under $25K in revenue - that shows they are indeed transparent. We do not pay salaries. As for the $12,309.75 includes website design and technical assistance that was contracted work. If you want these documents, formally request them by either emailing boh@breathofhopeinc.com or mailing us at Breath of Hope, PO Box 6627, Charlottesville, VA 22906, we will provide what we are legally to provide you within 30 business days.

In response I say to you that ignorance and arrogance only serves idiots.

I have tried to have an intelligent, professional conversation with you and gave you amble opportunity to be honest. You instead chose to continue to lie, show your lack of knowledge in running a charity and following legal guidelines and still you attack others. Unfortunately your inactive Board of Directors has yet to step in and represent any ounce of professionalism and knowledge of what goes on in your charity.

Your financials clearly show that that amount of money was specifically and solely paid for legal fees. Either you were lying then or you are lying now. That is a theme is that is repeated throughout this conversation.

I requested documents that you are legally obligated to supply. You might put up a smoke screen for others but that does not work for those of us who fact check and choose to not believe you at your ever-changing word. Fail to supply the requested documents and I will report you to the federal government and every state you claim that you are registered in.

This is the real world of professional adults. I suggest that you learn how to conduct yourself like one for the sake of your charity and try a more honest and respectful approach with the public and those your mission says that you serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a checks and balances system. Create a full active Board of Directors instead of a dictatorship. Encourage them to be more professional and to focus on their own charity instead of attacking other CDH parents trying to make a difference in the world. Annual audits.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After reading all the posts this week attacking CHERUBS I had to ask a few rhetorical questions.

Why doesn't Elizabeth focus on her own charity? So what if Dawn makes a salary? Your posts seem jealous and petty. So what if they are late on paperwork? Is that your business? Why
don't you look into these charities that Breath of Hope publicly promotes and proudly works with?

Global CDH - Never filed a tax report. http://www.guidestar.org/ReportOrganization.aspx?ein=80-0186856

Nayeli Faith Foundation - Never filed a tax report. http://www.guidestar.org/ReportOrganization.aspx?ein=80-0417228

Parker Reese Foundation - No tax report since 2009. http://www.guidestar.org/ReportOrganization.aspx?ein=26-1737136

CDH UK - 44 days late on their financials this year. http://www.charitycommission.gov.uk/search-for-a-charity/?txt=cdh+uk

Ladybug Run - Not a registered charity.

MJ's Memories - Not a registered charity.

Breath of Hope-Colorado Chapter - Not a registered charity.

Breath of Hope-Shooting for Liam Chapter - Not a registered charity.

Breath of Hope - Hypocrites.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

This is a wonderful organization that does so much for the families in their most needy time. Elizabeth is one in a million, so compassionate and caring and on fire for CDH. It was truly a pleasure to donate to this organization, and to sponsor them in my employers match program. God Bless Breath of Hope, one of the best donations I have ever made. I will donate in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing ....this is a great organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 15, 2010

When I found out that our son Cadan had CDH, Breath of Hope provided me with support and answers where there were no answers. After we lost Cadan, they have continued to be there for me whenever I ne... more

August 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

My son was born in 2008 with CDH and when I was diagnosed I felt so completely alone and scared to death. I had never heard of CDH, I didn't know what to expect and I couldn't find any answers. I found BOH and I cannot put into words how wonderful this organization has been to me. This community is so full of wonderful and loving people and Elizabeth has answered every email, shared every facebook post, sent cards, awareness bracelets, whatever we needed. This group literally saved me during the darkest time of my life. We lost our son and I don't know what I would have done without them to turn to. When no one else understood my pain, how alone I felt, they did. This is a wonderful organization and I am so incredibly thankful for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2010

When I found out that our son Cadan had CDH, Breath of Hope provided me with support and answers where there were no answers. After we lost Cadan, they have continued to be there for me whenever I need support. I would have never made it through this experience without them. They gave us an idea of what to expect before and after Cadan's delivery and were there every time I was about ready to lose my sanity. I owe so much to this organization and I want others to find out about Breath of Hope. Breath of Hope gives you hope in what feels like a hopeless situation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many ways. During our pregnancy, while in the hospital with our son and after we lost our son.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The help and support I experienced during and after our CDH diagnosis.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

save thousands of babies from suffering and dying from the Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia birth defect by giving that money to CDH research - which is so desparately needed for a birth defect that is all too common yet relatively unknown.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Breath of Hope is a wonderful organization! They have supported our family by sharing our story, helping us to promote fundraisers, and providing us with a network of extremely supportive people. I have had only positive experiences from Breath of Hope. They present information about CDH awareness in a very tasteful and hopeful way. We have never been turned away but rather they have embraced our family with open arms and much love!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that others are able to see the great value in Breath of Hope.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 3, 2012

BOH was the ONLY active CDH organization when my daughter was diagnosed with CDH in 2006. The support I received was amazing! The network of other CDH parents that BOH provided became my lifeline as ... more

August 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Breath of Hope is a wonderful support group for CDH. They helped to form friendships with other CDH parents. It is such a wonderful organization that I have a hard time standing back and watching Dawn of Cherubs continually attack Breath of Hope. Dawn uses her vulnerable parents/clients to stir up drama and keep old arguments going. She used me when I was weak and she has used many others. Dawn has a problem working with others and needs all the attention on her organization. I support Breath of Hope and wish Dawn would stop writing fake bad reviews on Breath of Hope and just do her job and move on and leave things in the past for the advancement of CDH Awareness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2012

BOH was the ONLY active CDH organization when my daughter was diagnosed with CDH in 2006. The support I received was amazing! The network of other CDH parents that BOH provided became my lifeline as my daughter fought for her life. I had other CDH parents visit me while we spent several months in the hospital. Some of these wonderful people came even though their CDH Angel was no longer with them. These visits meant the world to me! I owe my sanity to BOH!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Breath of Hope and Cherubs were both there for me when I was pregnant with our daughter. I tell everyone to go to them and Global CDH for support along with other groups on Facebook. The best way to get through a CDH pregnancy is support! The more the better! Breath of Hope still continues to give us support! Thank you!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

First of all...... BOH states they have board members and a team of people working to help CDH families, why is it that the number given goes straight to Elizabeth's cell phone, house phone whatever it is? Also, why is it always just Elizabeth that writes on there facebook page, responds to these reviews even on this page? I called to make a complaint about Elizabeth to her board members, even though i know she is the founder. She is a rotten, rotten, woman who attacks if you do not fully support BOH. Especially if you show any support to Cherubs. She attacked me through a facebook message..which if anyone(Including you Elizabeth) would like me to post on here, I will surely do so. She then blocked me off her own personal facebook, then blocked me from writing or liking anything on the breath of hope site. If your charity has a so called board of members, please give me a number to it. I do not wish to speak to Elizabeth. I am so shocked, upset and angry at the way Elizabeth acts. Attacking a grieving angel mother. I will not even get into how I feel about her trying to have the rights to congenital diaphragmatic hernia day. Tying Cherubs up in court for years over it! Are we all not supposed to work together? I thought BOH has one mission? To get more research and answers to CDH? Fighting against another charity(or charities) Is ignorant and god truly is showing BOH that. Cherubs has succeeded so much in the past 2 years and the dedication, hardwork and honesty are paying off for Cherubs. Yet, Cherubs does not pat themselves on the back for all there hardwork. They are to busy worrying about our CDH families and who can they reach out to tomorrow to spread the word about CDH. IF ONLY BOH would stop wasting HER time calling people names and attacking others, SHE can realize all of us working together will succeed both charities greatly.
In response to your comment Elizabeth.... What your saying is not true at all. I was a client served by BOH...look at your records. I "liked" your BOH facebook page back in 2011 after i had just given birth and my daughter was in your calendar 2 years in a row. You never came to me and another person about the research bill, we came to you. Yes we did flood your page but you never said to back off. I have the messages to prove it. I never friend requested Elizabeth nor did she friend request me. I wrote a message to her asking her to come on board with the research bill. That is when she became very nasty and proceeded to block me. I have called the number(s) numerous times & it goes straight to Elizabeths voicemail. So if i am calling the wrong number please give me the correct one. I will be posting the facebook messages under a different name as you can not write a second review. God bless & lying does not get you anywhere :) have a nice day!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Learn to work with other, stop harassing and attacking people with harsh words. IF there is a board, look into complaints about Elizabeth and her harassing. (My personal experience with her on facebook, could get her into legal trouble. HARASSMENT)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I could not agree more with the last review. I read what Breath of Hope wrote on CHERUBS reviews and I can not believe a charity would do that to another charity. I had to come here and give you a piece of my mind but bizclinton wrote it perfect. Why don't you just leave them alone? No one ever sees them say anything bad about you. I have only been in the CDH world for 4 months and have seen you write so much bad about them. We have enough to deal with CDH. You are supposed to be helping us.

I do not know how to send you a response to your messages. Please stop sending them. I have been reading all the posts you are writing to cherubs and do not wish to have contact with you. You act like a playground bully instead of a charity. I never read anything bad that cherubs writes about you. I constantly read nasty things you say about them and see you attacking parents. You seem very jealous and it is sad. You can't be the only CDH charity.

My family no longer has need for your services. I fear for my own privacy and reputation in your hands so I will not sign my name.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them apologize.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have never been more disgusted with any "not for profit" organization that that of Breath of Hope. While on the surface when you first "walk in the door" they seem to genuinely care, but you soon realize that the person who runs this is extremely opinionated and harsh when your opinions do not coincide or run parallel 100% with hers.

Her attacking banters back and forth are hard to grasp or come to terms with. We in this group are dealing with heart wrenching life and death situations and her bullish mannerism is most uncalled for. My personal opinion is that she seems to become out of control with persons (and it is not just me, I have seen it for months) who belong to other support groups instead of just "belonging" to her.

We as parents (and our families) look for resources in many different avenues as we seek answers, support and help. We should have the right to seek any and all information from as many resources as possible without feeling ostracized or being accused of not being 100% loyal to BOH. I have free will and like all American's there is no one charity that owns any one person or group of people.

I have read RobertH's post and could not agree more, his post validates the eccentric behavior witnessed and while I know I will undoubtedly feel the same wrath and backlash as RobertH and his family did - I refuse to sit back and say nothing and allow others to fall prey to quirky outlandish statements in such a vulnerable time in any one person's life.

There is no place in the world of sick or dying babies for huge EGO driven personalities. Would I ever recommend BOH to another CDH expectant mother??? No way, I have had it with the "leader" of this pack.

Fed up and disgusted in Alabama.......

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If this is an elected board of directors, they need to find someone as a spokesperson who has even a shred of compassion and apathy then the current ego driven person currently addressing the public.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Edit our newsletter, create graphics, help families who have been affected by CDH, distribute our materials to hospitals or health care who may distribute it to families who could benefit. Help review or edit our materials.