Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1.083332345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

Call multiple times a day for the at least the past 4 weeks between the hours of 8:00 AM and 9:00 PM. Number they called from is 516-900-2942, which isone of their call centers, located in Seaford, LI, NY.We finally answereed one of their calls and asked them to stop calling, as my # is on a Do Not call list. The woman on the other end laughed at my wife and hung up. We found their calling pattern to be abusive. If calls continue we will contact the Attorney General concerning their call pattern and financials.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

They just called me a few minutes ago. THEY LIED. They said I had given them money last year which of course I had not. They wanted to send me a mailer. I said I always check out charities with the BBB before I give any money to them. That ended the conversation within two seconds! Saying you are going to check with the BBB ending the conversation certainly tells you something about these frauds doesn't it?


I discovered that almost all the money goes to some greedy people at the top of this fake charity, and very little to the people who need it. F---- Always check online, and tell them you will check with the BBB. The only one who was willing to call back a few days later was legit. This one certainly is NOT!! F----

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

I received a call from "Name Unavailable" (1-540-023-7856) and the woman asked for my wife. I said, "Yes, may I tell her who's calling?" and was told it was the Breast Cancer Survivors Foundation. I told her to hold a moment, went to get my wife and found her napping (she has progressive MS) and explained to the woman that she was unavailable. The woman then sarcastically responded, "Yeah, right!" and hung up on me.

There are certainly worthy charitable causes out there, but the sad reality is that they seem to be outnumbered by scams operations that rely on peoples' inherent compassion and philanthropy to profit for themselves. I did a bit of research and found that Breast Cancer Survivors Foundation is located in Aventura, Florida. Their website URL is http://breastcancersurvivor.org.

I also learned that their registered agent--apparently--is the Kansas City-based law form of Copilevitz & Canter, L.L.C. This I found on the same Washington State Charitable Solicitations Program Charity Profile Report as another person who posted a comment about this organization. Updates numbers (2011), however, show gross revenues of $2,547,079 with only 6% of that going to program services! Copilevitz & Canter, L.L.C. claims to be 'active in the nonprofit, fundraising, and telemarketing communities, and have successfully represented clients before all levels of state and federal courts and federal regulatory agencies.'

Here's another interesting opinion with more insight about Breast Cancer Survivors Foundation: http://phonyphonecharities.blogspot.com/2012/10/introduction-breast-cancer-charity-scam.html

Readers here can decide for themselves whether this is a legitimate and worthy charity. My mind is definitely made up and I am happy that my wife was napping, didn't take the call, and didn't donate any money to Breast Cancer Survivors Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I'm glad I got to this webpage via a google search on the foundation. When they called, they were very pressured to get me to their donor area to confirm my information and kept asking me if I was comfortable with my $15 donation and if i would get it to them within 3 weeks--flags went up! Brochure and form came last week. Almost wrote the check this afternoon and finally googled it and here I am! Not donating based on the feedback on this page. They did not submit their info to the BBB of Wisconsin either--another flag. Will wait for the onslaught of junk mail.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Keeps harrassing phone calls even after tell them to stop. Turned me off to giving anything to cancer organizations for life. Thanks alot.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2012
28 people found this review helpful

According to the most recent data available on the web site of the Secretary of State of the State of Washington, the Breast Cancer Survivor's Foundation received $531,041 in revenue in 2010, had expenses of $479,111, and spent 0% (none of the money collected) on program services for the year in question. Apparently, payment for the four fundraising companies used in 2010 (Preferred Community Services, Inc.; Safety Services LLC; Outreach Calling; and Safety Service, Inc.) and retaining the difference between revenue and expenses ($51,930) is more important to the organization than its stated purpose and mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2011
12 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2011
12 people found this review helpful

I received a phone call from this organization and agreed to a pledge upon reviewing their materials. In addition, I insisted that I be removed immediately from their call list.
After receiving a brochure in the mail, I am suspicious of the integrity of this organization and will not be
donating. I perused the website, www.breastcancersurvivor.org and found only informational links to outside organizations. I tried calling the telephone number listed on the brochure (800-930-1220) for additional information. The call was answered after many rings but the person answering, "Foundation office", hung up on me when I started to make an inquiry. I tried to call again, but an answering machine picked up.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It's my belief that this organization is misleading and may be fraudulent

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be more transparent in my activities

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

How did you learn about this organization?

telephone call

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers