Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1.083332345
Write A Review
March 25, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I am the Executive Director of a legitimate non-profit in Wisconsin. I just received a phone call from a lady asking if I work with anyone soliciting funds from New Jersey for our foundation with phone number 516-900-2942. We definitely DO NOT; however, when the lady asked for their website to go learn more about who they were fundraising for they gave her MY foundation's website. This is a TOTAL SCAM!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put them in jail!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Call multiple times a day for the at least the past 4 weeks between the hours of 8:00 AM and 9:00 PM. Number they called from is 516-900-2942, which isone of their call centers, located in Seaford, LI, NY.We finally answereed one of their calls and asked them to stop calling, as my # is on a Do Not call list. The woman on the other end laughed at my wife and hung up. We found their calling pattern to be abusive. If calls continue we will contact the Attorney General concerning their call pattern and financials.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The solicitations for this "non-profit" is done by Automated Professional Marketing. They claim I have donated in the past, not true. In fact, I have always informed them not to call my NO CALL Listed number, each time I remind them that they must comply to my request, but that doesn't stop them. I have asked them where they are located and where the non-profit is registered; they completely ignore all of my questions regarding their foundation by continuing to go through their pitch and asking for money. Very unprofessional and very irritating.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

They just called me a few minutes ago. THEY LIED. They said I had given them money last year which of course I had not. They wanted to send me a mailer. I said I always check out charities with the BBB before I give any money to them. That ended the conversation within two seconds! Saying you are going to check with the BBB ending the conversation certainly tells you something about these frauds doesn't it?


I discovered that almost all the money goes to some greedy people at the top of this fake charity, and very little to the people who need it. F---- Always check online, and tell them you will check with the BBB. The only one who was willing to call back a few days later was legit. This one certainly is NOT!! F----

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2013
13 people found this review helpful

I received a call from "Name Unavailable" (1-540-023-7856) and the woman asked for my wife. I said, "Yes, may I tell her who's calling?" and was told it was the Breast Cancer Survivors Foundation. I told her to hold a moment, went to get my wife and found her napping (she has progressive MS) and explained to the woman that she was unavailable. The woman then sarcastically responded, "Yeah, right!" and hung up on me.

There are certainly worthy charitable causes out there, but the sad reality is that they seem to be outnumbered by scams operations that rely on peoples' inherent compassion and philanthropy to profit for themselves. I did a bit of research and found that Breast Cancer Survivors Foundation is located in Aventura, Florida. Their website URL is http://breastcancersurvivor.org.

I also learned that their registered agent--apparently--is the Kansas City-based law form of Copilevitz & Canter, L.L.C. This I found on the same Washington State Charitable Solicitations Program Charity Profile Report as another person who posted a comment about this organization. Updates numbers (2011), however, show gross revenues of $2,547,079 with only 6% of that going to program services! Copilevitz & Canter, L.L.C. claims to be 'active in the nonprofit, fundraising, and telemarketing communities, and have successfully represented clients before all levels of state and federal courts and federal regulatory agencies.'

Here's another interesting opinion with more insight about Breast Cancer Survivors Foundation: http://phonyphonecharities.blogspot.com/2012/10/introduction-breast-cancer-charity-scam.html

Readers here can decide for themselves whether this is a legitimate and worthy charity. My mind is definitely made up and I am happy that my wife was napping, didn't take the call, and didn't donate any money to Breast Cancer Survivors Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I'm glad I got to this webpage via a google search on the foundation. When they called, they were very pressured to get me to their donor area to confirm my information and kept asking me if I was comfortable with my $15 donation and if i would get it to them within 3 weeks--flags went up! Brochure and form came last week. Almost wrote the check this afternoon and finally googled it and here I am! Not donating based on the feedback on this page. They did not submit their info to the BBB of Wisconsin either--another flag. Will wait for the onslaught of junk mail.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 16, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

I work for the Breast Cancer Detection Center of Alaska, a non-profit 501 (c) 3 organization. We get calls from our donors saying that Breast Cancer Survivors Foundation has called them for donations. I got a call from them this morning and pretended to be interested in donating to their organization to see what they do with the information. I was told I will get a mailer in one week with information for the donation. I was also told, they do not take donations over the phone. Somehow they had my name and mailing address. When I asked how they had gotten it, they said it just popped up on their computer. They did not want to stay on the phone for long, or answer questions. Their number was blocked when they called. Now, to sit back and see what they are really going to do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I donated over the phone. Within 3 weeks I received so many letters from charities asking for a donation.Some of these I had never heard of- Within a month it got so bad that I started writing them down- then I got fed up and threw the letters away.The next donation card from this org came in the mail- I replied with a note that i will contact my states Attorney Generals office if I ever got a letter or phone call from them again- They apparently sold/gave my address to numerous charities.Based on other reviews- I would stay away.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Keeps harrassing phone calls even after tell them to stop. Turned me off to giving anything to cancer organizations for life. Thanks alot.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2012
31 people found this review helpful

more

February 16, 2012
31 people found this review helpful

According to the most recent data available on the web site of the Secretary of State of the State of Washington, the Breast Cancer Survivor's Foundation received $531,041 in revenue in 2010, had expenses of $479,111, and spent 0% (none of the money collected) on program services for the year in question. Apparently, payment for the four fundraising companies used in 2010 (Preferred Community Services, Inc.; Safety Services LLC; Outreach Calling; and Safety Service, Inc.) and retaining the difference between revenue and expenses ($51,930) is more important to the organization than its stated purpose and mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers