Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
12.85714345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 20, 2013

more

November 20, 2013

This organization accomplished more in 5-years than most non-profits do in decades. Enrollments at the Washington State department of health breast cancer screening program surged from 17% of the eligible population of women to 38% during this time, more than doubling the number of women screened! This organization was responsible for most if not all of this increase. We are talking about thousands of women who received mammograms because of this groups outreach programs. Unfortunately, those who object to philanthropists utilizing their own personal resources to further charitable causes, resulted in inaccurate press. Another example of misrepresentation by the media destroying a good cause. There are no winners here but the 25,000 uninsured women screened annually because of this group are certainly the losers. Here's to Hu.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 29, 2013

Persistent call at bad hours, even after being told to stop calling

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was called one afternoon....I had never heard the name of this charity......I recieved the envelope and everything was hand written on the envelope...( I donate alot to various causes and it just didn't look right) I then researched the place on line and saw all the negative statements and the way it was handled on the phone was exactly the same as people described it.......I'll donate to Planned Parenthood where I know all the money will go to people who need it.....thank you for your help.....I almost got caught on this one!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

What a scam! We received a call today and then looked online. The BCPF are thieves, taking from the poor and giving to the rich (the owner of BCPF).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

Well I am so glad I searched this out. Good looking stationary and all seems legit but thanks to the other posts I find it is not. Noticed the postmark did not match address...but I almost never do phone solicitations...so I will go back to that policy. Thanks to the previous posts and those who exposed this in the news.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them stop being ....scam artists

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

I will tell my friends about this site and how I was almost scammed

March 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

If organization is legitimate why don't they send their information to the BBB and let them give the organization a thorough review. The lady I talked to on the phone lied to me and said 90% went to women to get mammagrams. Shame on you for scamming your fellow women. Give to an organization where the donations will really help those in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Don't be fooled by this scam - over $17M in donations but only $3.5M for mammograms while Legacy Telemarketing, owned by BCPF's president is paid over $10M! See http://www.komonews.com/news/problemsolvers/133675028.html.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2011

more

November 15, 2011

Scam alert. 17 mil raised. 3 mil went to mammograms. Rest went to telemarketer who claims remaining as services rendered claiming 90% of pitch relates to breast cancer education.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

disappointment

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

dissolve it

July 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I just read a report in the Everett Herald about this organization: listed as a top 30 charity, and in the upper half of those 30. Great job! Wish more had the passion these folks do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seen the results.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Good job

July 10, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

I completely agree with the last reviewer. I received a call from BCPF and was asked to donate $180 to pay for 2 mammograms. I was assured that all of the money would all go to this purpose and help local women without insurance. After researching BCPF on the web, I was shocked to learn that not only does less than 20% go towards mammogram grants but also 80% goes directly to the telemarketing making the calls which also happens to be owned by the charity's president, James Paton. When run the numbers from their 2009 IRS return, you see that he is in all liklihood retaining as much as $0.5-$1.0M in owner profit from this very lucrative contract. Yet the charity's tax return states he receives no compensation from either BCPF or Legacy Telemarketing, a mystery that's bound to catch the attention of IRS one of these days.

Knowing that only about 15% of donations end up as grants for free mammograms, the other mystery is how BCPF can claim on their tax return and WA Sec of State Charity website that they devote 90% of all expenses to program services and less than 10% to fundraising - an extraordinarily high figure that even the best run non-profits rarely achieve. The answer is equally shocking - they total up all the words in their sample telemarketing script and allocate only the last 2 sentences which comprise less than 10% of total to fundraising. Of course this assumes they give the same script in entirety to everyone and don't deviate to answer questions or persuade the donor. In reality, 70% of the people receiving calls are either (1) men or (2) women under the age of 40 who don't need a breast exam and receive only the fundraising pitch. Of the remaining 30% who do receive a reminder to have a breast exam and the phone # of their local state health dept, only women who lack health insurance (5%) aren't asked for a donation. Altogether this means 95% contain fundraising and only 30% contain program services. So don't be fooled by their highly questionable accounting magic - under the covers, this is clearly one of the most inefficient charities around.

Also don't be fooled by the positive 4 star reviews posted in this forum - they are likely from BCPF employees or agencies that receive the limited funding they do provide. Ensuring all women get a mammogram whether they can afford one or not is a noble cause but unfortunately BCPF has twisted this into a lucrative scheme to convert millions of dollars received from generous donors into private profits for the telemarketing company owned by the charity's president. Shame on him.

Please give your money instead to established organizations like the American Cancer Society or Susan G. Komen Foundation who actually help patients in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the conflict of interest by firing the charity's president and terminating the 10 yr exclusive contract with his telemarketing company. Fix the accounting to accurately reflect on how donation are spnt. Allocate at least 75% of donations to fund grants for free mammograms instead of the current 15%.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers