Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12.82353345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 16, 2014

Well it's official - BCPF filed for bankruptcy last year and the IRS has stripped it of its 501-c(3) non-profit status because "was operated primarily to benefit the private interests of the founder's telemarketing business.". Also, the IRS investigation found that BCPF used an unacceptable accounting method, "to trick the public and government," about how much money was paying for mammograms, "and to hide the amounts going to LTC," or Legacy Telemarketing Corporation. See the story at http://www.komonews.com/news/problemsolvers/Bankrupt-Charity-259139541.html. Joe Mando's right - BCPF did more in 5 yrs that most charities do in a decade - they tricked the public out of $20M while BCPF founder and LTC president Jim Paton took the lion's share for himself. Well, at least we have the satisfaction that it won't be for long when the IRS has him in their cross hairs. Here's to Hu and other whistleblowers like him!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

I am a general member of the public but also a breast cancer survivor. I thought the Breast Cancer Prevention Fund had gotten my number from the hospital. I gave last year but never again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

It appears this fraudulent charity continues to do business. The BCPF called me in July, 2012 and sent a request for donation. The return address for the donation goes to:

Breast Cancer Prevention Fund
211 South Street #515
Philadelphia PA, 19147.

Looking that address up,
it appears to be a UPS store that provides mailbox services in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

http://www.theupsstorelocal.com/3633/
But this is a Washington state based agency, which made me wonder, so I did more digging.

The news station KOMO did an expose on this charity, which can be found here: http://www.komonews.com/news/local/133675028.html

While the charity does contribute a portion of its' funds to providing breast exams, it seems a larger portion contributes to the affluent lifestyle of found James Paton, who coincidentally owns the telemarketing firm the charity pays to telemarket, and whose fees vastly exceed the amount provided to cover mammograms.

Reading the story above on KOMO's website, it seems obvious why they have not filed a 990 with Charity Navigator.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

Scam alert. http://everett.komonews.com/news/business/688849-conflict-interest-between-everett-charity-telemarketing-com Raised $17.5 million, paid himself $10.5 million, gave out $3.5 million

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 9, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I worked for Legacy Telemarketing and was one of those people calling people asking them if they could afford to donate $190 for 2 women to get mammorgrams. I read from a script that said " It appears the women in your area have lost their local funding for mammograms. Breast Cancer Prevention FUnd provides these women with free mammograms. One mammogram cost $95 can you donate $190 to help 2 women get mammograms?"...I only lasted a few days doing this mind numbing kind of work but I am so glad i quit now that I heard that the BCPF is owned by the man who owns LEgacy Telemarketing...he was hiring us to get money FOR HIS profit. Only 3 million went to women and mammograms...he made $17 million...WHERE DID THE OTHER 14 MILLION DOLLARS GO MR. STAFFORD? He has a million dollar home on Lopez Island...what a horrible person to do this.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Don't give money until you've watched the KOMO TV investigative report on BCPF at http://www.komonews.com/news/local/133675028.html?tab=video&c=y#idc-cover. Most of the money given goes directly to the telemarketing company owned by the charity's founder. SHAME on Jim Paton for for taking millions in mammogram donation money for his own private gain (nice waterfront mansion and 4 car RV garage). Don't be fooled into making this man richer!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Received a phone call but did not donate after learning truth about BCPF

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have IRS audit Jim Paton and shut down his gravy train.

October 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Speaking as a breast cancer survivor, if you really want to help I urge you to not donate to BCPF and instead donate to your local American Cancer Society chapter. As shocking as it mahy sound, 80% of donations received by BCPF goes directly to pay Legacy Telemarketing which is owned by BCPF's own director, James Paton. Less than 20 cents from each dollar donated goes towards providing life saving mammograms while Paton has personally profited to the tune of millions of dollars - money that should have instead paid for hundreds of thousands of mammograms.

Would you give money to a charity has no employees of its own and instead relies solely on a telemarketing to perform its services? Well that's what BCPF is. It's a rather clever scam when you think about it - create your own charity for a cause that everyone supports and then award a lucrative exclusive service contract to your own telemarketing company. All you have to do is make 2 million phone calls a year and conveniently not tell people that almost all of the money they donate goes to the telemarketing company making the call the charity's president who owns it.

I honestly don't understand how anyone can get past this fact and think that this is a legitimate charity that is worth of a 5 star rating. I do find it amusing that all the reviews here are either 1 star or 5 star and Dr Bob is right about Guidestar. However, I do find them less than credible when they can accuse others of being ignorant while they fail to mention the conflict of interest and how callers are being mislead and lied to about where their donation actually goes. The fact that none of these 5 star reviews dicuss or defend BCPF's dirty secrets would lead me to suspect that they they are not genuine and probably written by BCPF in the hopes of fooling potential donors who check this web site or Guidestar before giving.

Please don't be fooled and save your precious donation money for genuine charities like Susan G. Komen or American Cancer Society. You will have the peace of mine knowing your donation will save many lives rather than just make one richer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not other than receiving a phone solicitation call like millions of others have

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close shop and give donation money directly to state health agencies to fund mammograms for the poor and uninsured

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

phone solicitation

October 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

This organziation called me and I spoke to the woman for quite a while asking questions. After the call I went on-line and did some research. I was astounded at the bad reviews on this site and almost decided to forget it, but I then went on a few other sites and the organization's web site. It appears to me that this group is doing a lot of very valuable work besides what is listed on this web site. I realized that most of these (negative) posts are written by some very ignorant people. I like what I have read, and the answers I got from some very intelligent people in the non-profit industry that I know personally. Then I realized that if I can post anything I want to on this site, then anyone else can do the same thing. Good idea Guidestar, bad execution! I suggest that if you are reading this, you should educate yourself beyond these biased posts on this web site. www.breastcancerpreventionfund.org outlines exactly what they do, and it is a lot more than what is posted here. Just my 2-cents worth.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Have not

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do a better job telling my story.

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

Here's all that you need to know about BCPF - according to public records 80% of all donation revenue goes directly to Legacy Telemarketing which is owned by BCPF director Jim Paton. He has shamelessly made millions of dollars through this lucrative contract. Donors are asked to donate $90 to pay for a mammogram while never being told of this gross conflict of interest that results in only $16 going towards that cause. Although it's true that some women are receiving mammograms, many more are not because of the donation money that is being converted into owner profit retained by Jim Paton. This is truly appalling and shameful.

If you received a solicitation call, don't be fooled and instead give your money to a worthy cancer organization like Susan Komen or American Cancer Society.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've experienced first hand how they mislead and lie to potential donors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let IRS investigate and revoke 501c status and make Paton pay back every dime he kept that should have instead paid for mammograms

August 20, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

SCAM ALERT!! DON'T BE FOOLED BY THE PHONY REVIEWS SUBMITTED BY BCPF - THIS IS NOT A WORTHY CHARITY!

I received a phone solication from them asking me to donate money for free mammograms. I did my homework and found that in 2009 BCPF took in $3.6M in donations but only gave out $0.6M in
grants. The other $3M was paid to Legacy Telemarketing which is owned by BCPF's director James Paton - a bigger conflict of interest I can't imagine!

To make matters worse, BCPF does not divulge how much money he receives from the contract but it when you do the math you can see it's in the neighborhood of $1M a year! Shame on him for pocketing donation money that should be saving lives by providing tens of thousands of free mammograms!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove BCPF director James Paton and terminate telemarketing contract. Give all of the donation money to mammogram providers instead of 15%

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers