Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
12.85714345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
November 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With its web site shut down and phone numbers disconnected, let’s hope this signals the final demise of the Breast Cancer Prevention Fund. Thanks to KOMO TV's investigative report (http://www.komonews.com/news/local/133675028.html), the public now knows the truth behind BCPF and how its founder James Paton used his “personal resources” to make the public believe their donations were directly providing mammograms for the poor when in fact 80% were kept by his own telemarketing company which raised over $17.5M in donations while handing out a mere $3.5M in grants. When you see his luxury waterfront mansion in the KOMO TV report you can only feel sickened knowing that millions of dollars from generous donors intended to provide lifesaving mammograms for thousands of needy women apparently instead went towards financing the private lavish lifestyle of this self-proclaimed “philanthropist”. After the media alerted the public, credit state authorities for taking action against BCPF including the WA State Department of Health which refused to accept further grant money and the Pennsylvania Dept of State which issued a cease and desist order. Please know that you can help provide mammograms for needy women by donating directly to your local state health department or to reputable non-profits like the American Cancer Society and Susan G. Komen. As for the demise of BCPF, it's apparent there's only one clear loser - James Paton.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013

more

November 20, 2013

This organization accomplished more in 5-years than most non-profits do in decades. Enrollments at the Washington State department of health breast cancer screening program surged from 17% of the eligible population of women to 38% during this time, more than doubling the number of women screened! This organization was responsible for most if not all of this increase. We are talking about thousands of women who received mammograms because of this groups outreach programs. Unfortunately, those who object to philanthropists utilizing their own personal resources to further charitable causes, resulted in inaccurate press. Another example of misrepresentation by the media destroying a good cause. There are no winners here but the 25,000 uninsured women screened annually because of this group are certainly the losers. Here's to Hu.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 29, 2013

Persistent call at bad hours, even after being told to stop calling

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

I am a general member of the public but also a breast cancer survivor. I thought the Breast Cancer Prevention Fund had gotten my number from the hospital. I gave last year but never again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was called one afternoon....I had never heard the name of this charity......I recieved the envelope and everything was hand written on the envelope...( I donate alot to various causes and it just didn't look right) I then researched the place on line and saw all the negative statements and the way it was handled on the phone was exactly the same as people described it.......I'll donate to Planned Parenthood where I know all the money will go to people who need it.....thank you for your help.....I almost got caught on this one!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

What a scam! We received a call today and then looked online. The BCPF are thieves, taking from the poor and giving to the rich (the owner of BCPF).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

Well I am so glad I searched this out. Good looking stationary and all seems legit but thanks to the other posts I find it is not. Noticed the postmark did not match address...but I almost never do phone solicitations...so I will go back to that policy. Thanks to the previous posts and those who exposed this in the news.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them stop being ....scam artists

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

I will tell my friends about this site and how I was almost scammed

July 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

It appears this fraudulent charity continues to do business. The BCPF called me in July, 2012 and sent a request for donation. The return address for the donation goes to:

Breast Cancer Prevention Fund
211 South Street #515
Philadelphia PA, 19147.

Looking that address up,
it appears to be a UPS store that provides mailbox services in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

http://www.theupsstorelocal.com/3633/
But this is a Washington state based agency, which made me wonder, so I did more digging.

The news station KOMO did an expose on this charity, which can be found here: http://www.komonews.com/news/local/133675028.html

While the charity does contribute a portion of its' funds to providing breast exams, it seems a larger portion contributes to the affluent lifestyle of found James Paton, who coincidentally owns the telemarketing firm the charity pays to telemarket, and whose fees vastly exceed the amount provided to cover mammograms.

Reading the story above on KOMO's website, it seems obvious why they have not filed a 990 with Charity Navigator.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012

more

May 9, 2012

Scam alert. http://everett.komonews.com/news/business/688849-conflict-interest-between-everett-charity-telemarketing-com Raised $17.5 million, paid himself $10.5 million, gave out $3.5 million

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

If organization is legitimate why don't they send their information to the BBB and let them give the organization a thorough review. The lady I talked to on the phone lied to me and said 90% went to women to get mammagrams. Shame on you for scamming your fellow women. Give to an organization where the donations will really help those in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers