Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.821435
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

Excellent group! I have participated in capoeira classes, samba classes, portuguese classes, as well as attended many of the free public events such as movie nights and open house music nights. The programs and people at the BAF have created a sense of community where I've felt comfortable trying things that I never would have imagined doing. The friends I've made and the things I've learned at the BAF have become a central part of my life. What separates the BAF for me from other organizations is the warm sense of community they provide. I came wanting to learn capoeira - and got that and much more - language, music, culture, and friendships.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

This wonderful institution is filled with amazing people who give everything they can to help others be happy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

The Brazilian Arts Foundation is the only link we have with our country here in Houston.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More advertisement.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 25, 2011

A few years ago, a friend of mine introduced me to Capoiera while we were living in France. We started practicing together just for fun. When I returned to Houston, I learned about the Brazilian Art... more

October 18, 2013

I moved away less than 2 years ago and I still think of and remember the BAF fondly. They were, they are and they always will be a family to me. It does not matter how long I am gone, I always feel welcomed. I have learned so much from capoeira and from Gringo. I will always remember when Gringo said, "you will get as much out of it as you put in". And so it has been true for capoeira and in life. I have learned amazing lessons that I always carry with me. I would recommend the Foundation in a heart beat for all subjects. The instructors are all professionals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. They are growing and more involved in the community than ever. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2011

A few years ago, a friend of mine introduced me to Capoiera while we were living in France. We started practicing together just for fun. When I returned to Houston, I learned about the Brazilian Art Foundation and I decided to start training with the a professional instructor. I really enjoy gringo's teaching style and all the references to real life. My favorite quote: "you get out of it what you put in". Same is true for life.
I have made a few new friends and I feel like I am part of a new family. Houston is lucky to have such a wonderful organization and their dedication to the community makes it even more special.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

yes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes. They are doing a fabulous job!

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I learned so much more about capoeira in my first few months at BAF than I did in the previous year at another school. The emphasis placed on the culture and history make the experience so much more stimulating and fulfilling, and the instructors are extremely talented, helpful and passionate about what they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more weekend classes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 14, 2011

What a great organization! No matter what your age or ability level they have a program for you. The atmosphere is great and everyone is treated as family. If you want to improve your health and we... more

October 17, 2013

I have been taking classes (capoeira and samba) here for over 6 years and can’t say enough about the positive impact it has made on my life. The instructors are passionate about their craft and passing on their knowledge, history, and love for capoeira to the students. In all the years I’ve been taking lessons there I’ve never had a class end early, but often go past the end time. The atmosphere is one of family, with everyone helping each other to improve. If you are interested in improving your overall health, core strength, and flexibility in a great atmosphere, this is the place to go.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2011

What a great organization! No matter what your age or ability level they have a program for you. The atmosphere is great and everyone is treated as family. If you want to improve your health and well being there is no better place I know.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Improved health and fitness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more space so they could expand their programs

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

I took Portuguese classes there for a number of years. While languages arent really my thing as i am a numbers guy, the classes were very good. The teachers were passionate and committed. I can pretty much read and understand the written language at this point. Speaking it not so good but really my fault.

Mr Campos does a good job overall for a small non profit.

Been to the festival for a number of years and volunteer each year at the admission booth. Always a good experience.

have also been to music and movie nights and are entertaining.

If anyone is interested in Brazil this is a good place to go. However do not expect it to be a Brazilian Community Center for Houston. Thats not what it is and probably not expected to be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

This foundation are not what they advertise they are. I am extremely disappointed with the quality of services provided when they are provided , because out of nowhere lessons will be canceled without notice and you drive all the way there to find the doors all locked and nobody there.
The
studio floor is filthy dirty and classes ; capoeira and dance always start late and finish earlier .....
The Portuguese language class is a complete waste of time . You won't learn anything and the material presented is of very poor quality. If you have been to a real language school before you will soon realize that even Rosetta Stone has a better teaching method than this place.
These Portuguese classes will definitely not prepare you to go to Brazil or even speak the most basic Portuguese. They are also not honest about payment, sometimes you pay and they will say that you didn't.
Everything they teach there is taught just half way because they don't have qualified staff member . The place is poorly administrated and the owner was rude to me when I requested my money back.

I will never comeback there and do not recommend this non profit organization. Save yourself some money and stress GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the staff and have class programs to where students know exactly what to expect when they pay and don't get surprised by the inconsistence of the lessons.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

There's enough going on at the BAF to keep a person busy for years. I have taken capoeira here for over a year now. Capoeira is excellent physical exercise, but the warm, welcoming, supportive people involved with the BAF are what keeps me coming back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more capoeira classes

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Love capoeira And portugués ¡....highly recommend. ,!!!



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More classes !!!!... Or more time on each class!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers