Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Our son, Scott Davis, was diagnosed with a brain tumor at 13months of age. We were given very little hope. Scott is truly our miracle. He is now 32yrs. old and happily married. My late husband, Larry Davis, was one of the founding members of the BTFC. When Scott was diagnosed in 1981, there was no where to go and no one to talk to. The BTFC provided so much support. It enables you to talk to other parents who are walking in your shoes. We parents could share our stories and concerns for our children.They offer so many opportunities for these kids to get together and enjoy fun times together. All 3 of our children always looked forward to the Christmas party sponsored by the BTFC. The BTFC for children continues to be a wonderful outreach for parents and children who are suffering. It helps to know that you are not alone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I got involved with The Brain Tumor Foundation for Children because they are our corporate charity. I stay involved because of the wonderful work they do and the families they support. They are a very high touch organization. They reach out and provide support to all of the children and families being treated by the hospitals with whom they are affiliated. While not every family needs financial assistance, the organization also provides information, education, and activities for the children and families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My 9 year old daughter Zoe was diagnosed with Glioblastoma Multiforme (GBM) brain tumor and had to have immediate resection surgery at OU Children's Hospital in April 2009. According to protocol she would also need radiation and chemotherapy treatment so in order to be closer to family we decided to relocate and continue her care at Miami Children's Hospital, Florida. For over a year Zoe did very well but the tumor came back and she had to have a second surgery in October 2010. It was then, through the staff at MCH that we learned of BTFC. BTFC stepped in and helped us when we didn't even realize that we needed help! They assisted us in paying several bills and travel expenses, which was well needed since we lived 2 hours away from the hospital and had other children. Their help allowed my husband and I to focus on Zoe's recovery as this time she also needed occupational, physical and speech therapy. When we returned home from the hospital, our mail man delivered huge box to our doorstep. Inside we found all sorts of goodies for not only Zoe but enough to share with her siblings. We were all excited, I only wish you could have seen her dimple filled smile which lit up the room! Since then BTFC kept in touch with us through emails and cards. Sadly Zoe passed away on December 11, 2011 at age 12 due to a third occurrence. Again, BTFC was there to assist us with several of our living expenses and also Zoe's final expenses. This time we focused on our broken hearts and those of our other children. You see, when you no longer have to go back and forth to the hospital for check-ups and treatments, when you no longer have to make appointments and fill prescriptions, when doctors no longer call and your extended family goes home it intensifies the fact that your child is gone. Then one day when our world had stopped, I heard the doorbell ring and looked to see our mailman holding a small box. Inside was a beautiful angel that was sent to our family from BTFC. It made our day, as was a gentle reminder that someone still remembered us, that someone still cared and that there are many other families like ours still fighting for their kids battling brain cancer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

The Brain Tumor Foundation for Children have been there for use over the last 10 years and we are so thankful for this organization. My son, Blake Carpenter, was diagnosed in January of 2003 with a craniopharyngioma. He has been fighting this brain tumor and the side effects for the last 10 years. Sherry Samuels and Mary Moore along with other volunteers from BTFC have been emotional and financial support for us over the years. There have been times when we needed a hug, smile, listening ear, surprise, or help with gas throughout the years and they have always been here for our family. Also, the BTFC has provided just simple FAMILY FUN for us and so many other families and provided us with an opportunity to meet other families that are also living a roller coaster life. I am thankful for BTFC and so happy to be blessed to be a part of this heartfelt organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

What a wonderful organization! We are so thankful for all the support from initial diagnosis to relapse and eventual death of our son. Mary Moore and her team mean so much to our family! Sincerely, Jacque Porter

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

The Brain Tumor Foundation for Children is a godsend for families of children with brain/spinal cord tumors. Our son was diagnosed at the age of 8 with a large brain tumor. Thankfully the resection surgery was very successful but he endured many post-surgery complications. The BTFC was very helpful in connecting us with other families who were in the same situation, as well as providing information and support to help us through the entire ordeal. I'm happy to report that my son is now 18 years old and is a freshman in college. Life is not without its challenges but the BTFC is still there to help us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Evan Carswell, my son, was diagnosed at 15 with a rare aggressive brain cancer he died at 16, with his sweetheart Faith (diagnosed with a brain tumor). They were certainly not their disease however BTFC is definitely part of our families. Here’s partly why.

The financial burden of the
disease is monumental for families. It is an easy choice between paying $400 for an electric bill and buying two doses of medicine. (or $30,000 for 60 shots) The medicine came first – Evan’s health came first – and our electricity was cut off. Thanks to BTFC’s wonderful Butterfly Fund, our utilities were restored – not once, but twice. And when I called to get donation envelops for the funeral they asked for Evan’s funeral expenses. It felt too much and I protested… but so grateful again for their donation….

Once the treatment starts you realize that in a few short weeks your child will not feel well. About one month into treatment, Evan gave us a ‘bucket list’ – the things he wanted to do in life. As I read it, I prayed that he didn’t see the disappointment and despair in my face as I realized there was no money for fun…no money for making great memories. Having BTFC pay a $30 water bill may seem insignificant to you, but for our family it provided a night at the movies…a night to make memories. BTFC enables families of children with brain cancer a few moments to devote making life somewhat ’normal’ during a period of time that may be the remainder of their life.

Research is vital and my son felt so strongly he donated his brain tissue and BTFC donates too! It is important to know its not that our son died, but that he lived and lived well - with laughter, love, courage, a little romance and faith….he lived his best. Cancer does not change these children…it reveals them.

We are forever grateful for the Brain Tumor Foundation for Children and those who support them! You would need a whole other nomination for the staff there… we are forever joined by my sons illness and death… Ed and I are proud to be their friend.. The staff are just incredible. I just don‘t see how they do so much.

Any words we could think of really mean nothing. We pray the Holy Spirit will translate those feelings we hold in our hearts … but are unable to verbally express “Evan’s Proud Mom and Dad” Jennifer and Ed Carswell


More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

My son William died from a brain tumor at the age of 1. After his death, my husband, a close friend of the family and I reached out to BTFC to see if they wanted to start a walk/run in William's memory to raise money for a cure and to help others. BTFC said YES and we worked closely with them for several years to manage the race and help grow it. While we were involved in the race it was part of our healing process. It was great to do something positive with such a painful event and the folks at BTFC were wonderful to love us and help us through it. We have since moved to Florida and are not involved in the race - however, BTFC is still doing the race each year and it gets better and better every year. I praise God for the folks at BTFC and for all that they do. They are a gift to so many people...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

My daughter (Tori) was diagnosed with a brain tumor in Dec. 2005 on her 13th birthday. She will turn 20 on Dec. 7, 2012. We have seen many families go thru this durning many BTFC events. When my daughter was diagnosed in 2005 there were 2 to 5 new patients a month diagnosed with brain tumors. Now there are so many more diagnosed due to the awareness of the symptoms given out to many pediatric doctors. The BTFC has helped us in so many ways from pay bills to having family events to go to with our daughter and share our story with other family going thru the same thing. We have helped with fundraiser and volunteer at BTFC events too. My daughter LOVES this foundation and will stay a volunteer the rest of her life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

My daughter was diagnosed with a brain tumor that was discovered to be medulloblastoma brain cancer at 11 months old. Being a single parent, I had to leave everything, including my other 4 children, to be with my baby and care for her at the hospital. BTFC came into our lives and offered caring, compassion, and support that you rarely find. It wasn't just financial. It was emotional. They weren't just there for my daughter. They were there for my other children as well. They know that cancer affects the entire family. They are concerned about "their" kids. They are special people who go above and beyond for complete strangers. I will forever be thankful for them. They shined a light in the midst of all our darkness. Their purpose and cause couldn't be more perfect!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers