Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.948725
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

My name is Rhonda Finkel. I was diagnosed with a brain tumor in May 2009. I heard about TBKF in October in 2009 and decided to make a team to spread awareness and raise funds for Brain Tumor research... more

October 29, 2014

I was diagnosed with a brain tumor in May 2009. My surgery was @ UCLA & the tumor had melanoma cells on it. I had Stage 4 melanoma. In Oct. 2009 I found out about the Heroes of Hope Race for Research that The Brad Kaminsky Foundation ~~ TBKF puts on here in Los Angeles. I immediately had my family sign me up & we made a team called THINK POSITIVE. I met Lisa & was so in awe of what she does. She comes to LA from VA with her family, parents, & volunteers to put on this walk to raise money for hospitals here in LA. I was on my chemo that week but everybody believed in me & I couldn't let anybody down. I finished that 5K & Lisa was right there @ the finish line cheering me & others on. She puts on countless events: golf tournaments, dance-a thons, etc. all year long to raise awareness & funds for brain tumor research!! Families call Lisa to ask for help when one of their loved ones get diagnosed with a brain tumor because she she knows so many of the neurosurgeons so she can help anyone no matter where they live. I will always support this non-profit. Lisa does this while taking care of her husband & raising 3 children & always with a smile. Lisa is amazing!!!!! This will be my 6th year doing the Heroes of Hope Race for Research this weekend here in LA.
xoxoxo
Rhonda Finkel
October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Rhonda Finkel. I was diagnosed with a brain tumor in May 2009. I heard about TBKF in October in 2009 and decided to make a team to spread awareness and raise funds for Brain Tumor research. This will be my 5 th year participating in the walk. The gal Lisa Kaminsky Millar who runs this foundation in memory/ honor of her brother Brad is one of the most amazing woman I have ever met. She lives in VA and comes to Los Angeles to put on this walk/ run that raises funds for UCLA,Children's Hospital , Cedar Sinai , & USC for their neurosurgery departments. She does all kinds of fundraisers in her own community in VA. She is married and has 3 children and is so committed & dedicated to raising funds & awareness for the Brain Tumor Community. I only have wonderful things to say about TBKF and would love to get more recognition for TBKF!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make no changes. I would yell from the mountains in LA to come to our amazing Heroes of Hope Race for Research for Brain Tumors on Sunday Nov. 3rd 2013.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a contributor to The Brad Kaminsky Foundation since it began. I knew Brad personally and followed his struggle. Alan Kaminsky, Brad's father and one of the founders of TBKF worked hard to find a treatment for Brad and ultimately extended Brad's life for a time. Since then, Alan, and Brad's sister Lisa have worked tirelessly to raise money for brain tumor research.

I donate to TBKF knowing that 100% of my contribution goes toward research. My wife and I have learned to ask solicitors, "How much of my donation will go directly to the cause?" Sometimes we are shocked to hear that " 7% goes to the charity." meaning that 93% goes to administration and fund raising costs.

Remember, when you give to The Brad Kaminsky Foundation 100% goes to research.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work on the public awareness of this great non-profit for brain tumor research.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've had the pleasure of knowing Lisa, founder of TBKF, for over 3 years, and til this day, I am amazed by her endless efforts to advocate for such a great cause. I had lost my mother to brain cancer (amongst other health problems occurring simultaneously) 9 years ago, and found out about TBKF on a limb. Since then, I've gotten to know more about her passion and dedication to the organization. Lisa is truly a rare gem. I am in awe of her character.. Lisa has a real heart for others , and it shows through her work in this organization, and also in her life. :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their presence/exposure to more major cities across the country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us in planning and executing awareness campaigns and fundraising events