Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.948725
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

My name is Rhonda Finkel. I was diagnosed with a brain tumor in May 2009. I heard about TBKF in October in 2009 and decided to make a team to spread awareness and raise funds for Brain Tumor research... more

October 29, 2014

I was diagnosed with a brain tumor in May 2009. My surgery was @ UCLA & the tumor had melanoma cells on it. I had Stage 4 melanoma. In Oct. 2009 I found out about the Heroes of Hope Race for Research that The Brad Kaminsky Foundation ~~ TBKF puts on here in Los Angeles. I immediately had my family sign me up & we made a team called THINK POSITIVE. I met Lisa & was so in awe of what she does. She comes to LA from VA with her family, parents, & volunteers to put on this walk to raise money for hospitals here in LA. I was on my chemo that week but everybody believed in me & I couldn't let anybody down. I finished that 5K & Lisa was right there @ the finish line cheering me & others on. She puts on countless events: golf tournaments, dance-a thons, etc. all year long to raise awareness & funds for brain tumor research!! Families call Lisa to ask for help when one of their loved ones get diagnosed with a brain tumor because she she knows so many of the neurosurgeons so she can help anyone no matter where they live. I will always support this non-profit. Lisa does this while taking care of her husband & raising 3 children & always with a smile. Lisa is amazing!!!!! This will be my 6th year doing the Heroes of Hope Race for Research this weekend here in LA.
xoxoxo
Rhonda Finkel
October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Rhonda Finkel. I was diagnosed with a brain tumor in May 2009. I heard about TBKF in October in 2009 and decided to make a team to spread awareness and raise funds for Brain Tumor research. This will be my 5 th year participating in the walk. The gal Lisa Kaminsky Millar who runs this foundation in memory/ honor of her brother Brad is one of the most amazing woman I have ever met. She lives in VA and comes to Los Angeles to put on this walk/ run that raises funds for UCLA,Children's Hospital , Cedar Sinai , & USC for their neurosurgery departments. She does all kinds of fundraisers in her own community in VA. She is married and has 3 children and is so committed & dedicated to raising funds & awareness for the Brain Tumor Community. I only have wonderful things to say about TBKF and would love to get more recognition for TBKF!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make no changes. I would yell from the mountains in LA to come to our amazing Heroes of Hope Race for Research for Brain Tumors on Sunday Nov. 3rd 2013.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

What an amazing group that does so much for so many people. Lisa is there for anyone at anytime for anything they need. They are a rare group that we are so lucky to have! I wish I could do more to support them but there is no one out there that is as tireless and giving as Lisa - no one. And The Brad Kaminsky Foundation shows that because of her dedication and support to the people and cause that need her. We are all blessed by her and the foundations work.
October 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 9, 2013

Those at The Brad Kaminsky Foundation are beyond compare. Never have I come across someone like Lisa Millar and her father Alan Kaminsky that put so much into a cause. Over the years I have been a vol... more

October 29, 2014

Lisa Kaminsky-Millar is amazing which is why The Brad Kaminsky Foundation is beyond amazing. All that they do to help those that need a shining star and all the money they raise for cancer research is inspiring. I feel privileged to know Lisa and to see first hand what an unbelievable non-profit TBKF truly is.

Thank you Lisa and TBKF for all that you do for so many thankful people!!!
October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Those at The Brad Kaminsky Foundation are beyond compare. Never have I come across someone like Lisa Millar and her father Alan Kaminsky that put so much into a cause. Over the years I have been a volunteer, a donor and a client served. Lisa is there for people in every capacity possible. Research, organizing fund raisers, awareness and support for those in need.

More than 100% of what they get goes back out there to find a cure for brain tumors because Lisa adds to everything she does. Her dedication to the cause is tireless and impressive and I feel honored to know her, her family and the great work they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Lisa!! So she could be in front of even more people spreading the word and looking for a cure!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

TBKF isdoing an amazing job of raising funds and awareness. Most important they give hope to so many. Making them aware they are not alone in this battle. That there thousands of people helping their fight by raising money for research. That there are hundreds of brilliant dedicated researcher working 24/7 to find more effective treatments and ultimately the cure.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I do not know of many other organizations that are more important, have the heart or do everything they can at all times. I am so very proud to be a volunteer and a partner with the Brad Kaminsky Foundation. Their work is bar none.

Kimberly Rishi
Studio Bleu Dance Center

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

My daughter had a cancerous tumor removed from her spine when she was just ten years old. She is now 15 and just recently went through spinal fusion surgery caused by her tumor. It is an honor to be able to work alongside Lisa Kaminsky-Miller and TBKF to work towards a cure. This organization is dedicated, hardworking and professional.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have been apart of this nonprofit organization, TBKF, for over 7 years. The work of the foundation brings a sense of community and HOPE for a CURE because of the constant efforts and compassion by president and founder, Lisa Millar. I have personally witnessed the sincere dedication and efforts by Lisa Millar and all returning volunteers of the foundation. I began volunteering for Lisa weekly in her home office, yes, an organization ran from a home! Lisa's strong compassion and efforts to eliminate brain tumors is constantly at play no matter what time of day. Across the country, she is constantly in contact with many advocates of brain tumor research. Her work and achievements with the foundations over the past 13 years inspires me daily. My involvement with the foundation granted me many great, inspiring service opportunities of which I am very grateful. As my high school years came to a close, although excited for new experiences, I was sad knowing that I would not be able to participate in local TBKF events. TBKF will always be apart of my life because it has truly impacted where I stand today. I cannot wait to come home to serve more TBKF events in HOPE for a CURE.
October 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 5, 2013

I've volunteered for this foundation for the past 5 years. I don't know anyone that works harder and is more dedicated to the cause than Brad Kaminsky Foundation founder Lisa Millar. She not only work... more

October 27, 2014

The Brad Kaminsky Foundation is a wonderful organization that was started by Lisa Millar in honor of her brother Brad, after he was diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor. Lisa works tirelessly, to keep a promise she made to her brother, that she would not stop fighting until a cure was found and she has kept that promise... raising funds and awareness everyday in really every way possible. From Golf tournaments, to lemonade stands, to monte carlo night, to 5k/10k races, to bar crawls, and cookbooks, and dancers vs cancer, and social media campaigns, etc. She has done this in her community, as well as, across the united states. She is also a founding member of The Grey Ribbon Crusade, which united small non-profits together to raise awareness and funds. Lisa is determined to make this a cause known, and in the process has brought so much hope and so much comfort to families. Lisa also helps family members in their grieving process, she always dedicates her events, not only to her brother Brad, but to so many other warriors who have lost their battles. Lisa dedicated the Heroes of Hope Race last November to my dad, and i was able to fly out to CA to run in the race. See the 501 (c) (3) was set up to raise monetary funds to be given directly for Brain Cancer research, and the foundation has been hugely successful in their effort to do so, but Lisa does so much more for families, she offers her ear, and her time, and she listens, and she CARES, and she gives hope to people. I know this personally because over the 6+ years I have known Lisa she helped me tremendously with navigating both my mom's cancer diagnosis, as well as, my dad's brain cancer diagnosis. She even assisted me with getting scans sent to hospitals, and explained the ins and outs of the clinical trials. Whenever, I meet anyone dealing with a brain cancer diagnosis I always encourage them to reach out to Lisa because her knowledge is so valuable. Lisa has been running the foundation for 13 years now. She runs it out of her house, she has never once taken a paycheck for the over 40 hours of work she does every week. She works part time jobs, as well as, raises three kids in addition to running a foundation. She is the kindest, most caring, selfless individual I have had the honor to know. I could never thank her or the Brad Kaminsky Foundation enough for all she has done for my family and so many others for a cause that is so significant. I am confident that when I donate to TBKF that all that money is going to fund research for a cure. TBKF is truly a GREAT non-profit, thanks to the HUGE heart of Lisa Millar.
October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered for this foundation for the past 5 years. I don't know anyone that works harder and is more dedicated to the cause than Brad Kaminsky Foundation founder Lisa Millar. She not only works to raise awareness and money to fund research, but offers support and her knowledge to help those effected with Brain Cancer and their families, not only in her community, but globally. She works 24/7, out of her house, and unlike many charities, you can feel confident that when you donate to TBKF that all your money is going towards funding research.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2011

I've worked for the Brad Kaminsky Foundation for the past three years. I lost my best friend to a brain tumor at the age of 20, and a few years later lost my mom to cancer that had spread to her brain. It is amazing to know that people like Lisa and organizations like the Brad Kaminsky Foundation exist. Lisa's drive and passion for the cause is what makes the organization so special. She made a promise to her brother that she wouldn't stop until a cure was found, and she has stuck to it, working around the clock not only creating fundraising events, but creating a national branding campaign to unite all Brain Tumor nonprofits together. I always joke with her that she can take anything and turn it into a way to get people involved, to spread awareness for this cause, and raise funds, but its true where there is a will there is a way with TBKF and Lisa. I commend her for all the incredible work she is doing, and am so thankful that I am able to say I am a part of this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Lisa has helped me along my own personal grief journey and taught me the power of continuing the fight for those who no longer can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes to the organization. I hope that it continues to grow and the word continues to spread about this wonderful organization.

October 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 7, 2011

THE BRAD KAMINSKY FOUNDATION IS AN ORGANIZATION THAT IS COMPILED OF VOLUNTEERS WHO HAVE BECOME ONE FAMILY WITH THE SAME GOAL. I AM LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE PART OF THAT VOLUNTEER FAMILY. I HAVE SEEN THE T... more

October 27, 2014

Lisa Kaminsky-Millar started the Brad Kaminsky Foundation with a promise, a promise to her brother Brad, that she would fight to raise money to help find a cure for the disease that shortened his life. She did that and continues to do that. The foundation has grown and exceeds every expectation to raise money for brain tumor research. I do believe that the Brad Kaminsky Foundation will be a big part in funding research to help find a cure.
June 7, 2011

THE BRAD KAMINSKY FOUNDATION IS AN ORGANIZATION THAT IS COMPILED OF VOLUNTEERS WHO HAVE BECOME ONE FAMILY WITH THE SAME GOAL. I AM LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE PART OF THAT VOLUNTEER FAMILY. I HAVE SEEN THE TIRELESS WORK DONE BY LISA KAMINSKY-MILLAR AND THE REST OF THE VOLUNTEERS (FAMILY), IN THEIR EFFORT TO RAISE MONEY TO HELP FIND A CURE FOR THIS HORRIFIC DISEASE AND TO HELP FAMILIES WHO ARE AFFECTED BY THIS DISEASE. MY FAMILY HAS BEEN AFFECTED BY THIS DISEASE. IF IT WEREN'T FOR THE BRAD KAMINSKY FOUNDATION MAKING IT EASY FOR ME TO FIND KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THE DISEASE, TREATMENTS, AND ALSO COMPASSION FROM LISA I DON'T KNOW WHERE I WOULD HAVE TURNED.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

THEIR KNOWLEDGE

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

THERE WOULD BE NO CHANGES TO THIS ORGANIZATION. IT IS RUN WITH ONLY THE CONCERNS OF THE PEOPLE AND THERE FAMILIES AFFECTED BY THIS DISEASE.

October 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 4, 2013

I first met Lisa at the gym right after her brother died of brain cancer. She was grieving but determined to do something concrete to prevent this from happening to anyone else. She had started The Br... more

October 27, 2014

The Brad Kaminsky Foundation does not have a highly-paid C.E.O. but a "director", Lisa Millar, who works hours and hours for free. She devotes her time to raising money through races, IDance 4a Cure, galas with auctions, and golf tournaments. She has expanded her fund-raising events to other states because her network of like-minded people with a connection to brain cancer is expanding. Her goal is one which thousands of people find worthwhile.

All her efforts are focused on providing money for research for a cure for brain cancer. Lisa is singularly focused on this goal. How many non-profits can say this?

If someone is diagnosed with brain cancer, Lisa calls her doctors at Duke and connects the newly diagnosed with a neurologist who can help.

It is an honor and a privilege helping the Brad Kaminsky Foundation.

She deserves the recognition of the Great NonProfit award.

Mary Beth Burke
October 4, 2013

I first met Lisa at the gym right after her brother died of brain cancer. She was grieving but determined to do something concrete to prevent this from happening to anyone else. She had started The Brad Kaminsky Foundation to raise funds for research for this disease.
In 10 years she used her
marketing skills and MBA in business to do the following:
run races, run lemonade stands, organize kickboxing nights, coordinate Mardi Gras Casino Banquets, and direct beer tents at rock concerts. She does all of these things to raise money and awareness for pediatric and adult brain cancer while raising 3 children and managing a home.
She networks locally, nationally, and internationally with people who have run her races and who have a loved one with brain cancer.
I witnessed personally her calls to Duke University's neurosurgeons for consultations for patients she doesn't even know. She uses her connections to truly help people with this disease. She got patients appointments months ahead of their regularly scheduled consultations.
She always has time for anyone who needs her help or advice on moving the fight on cancer forward.
Even when her computer crashed for a month , she still was able to send thank you letters for checks received during that time.
Her brother, Brad, is her heavenly angel guarding her earthly efforts. She asks him for sunny weather for races when the forecast calls for rain. One time she got a huge rainbow at Dockweiler State beach amidst a storm as a sign of Brad's presence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2011

I have known Lisa Millar for 8 years. The first time I met her, she talked about her brother's death from brain cancer. She talked about her non-profit, TBKF, and how she wanted to raise money and awareness for brain tumors.
What blew me away was her idea to start a cookbook Cooking Up a
Cure, with recipes from people who have a connection to brain cancer.
She has raised almost 500,000 for brain cancer research through her Hope for Heroes race in Los Angeles.
I now work for her non-profit and she works tirelessly to see the day where brain cancer does not exist.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us in planning and executing awareness campaigns and fundraising events