Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.863645
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been a member Hartsville Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee Area for 2 years and it has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. Not only does our club have an active board but the staff is involved, compassionate and driven. Everyday a child is touched by what this organization stands for. They are cared for while spending time at the club but most importantly, they are motivated and believed in themselves and others around them.

C Frazier

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been a borad membe for about 5 years. The dedication of the management and staff of the organization has the needs of the youth they serve at heart. The actions, thoughts, and desires of the board and staff are to provide the best for the yout we serve.

I have had the privilege to
interact with the youth on a couple of occasions and I have witnessed the good the organization is doing for these young people.

The club has a number of very successful alumni who are starting to come back and give back to the clubs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a funding source to allow for a second club in Florence and a perpetual source of funds to help the continued operations of the clubs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

The Boys and Girls Clubs of the Pee Dee Area impacts the lives of hundreds of children in our community year -round. Adult mentors form relationships with the kids based on level of respect and acc... more

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with BGCPDA for 6 years and continue to feel stronger each year about the necessity of the programs and services provided to children in our community that need them the most. The staff is excellent and reinforces to the club kids that they are respected and valued and have a contribution to make to society and they are encouraged to find their gifts and talents and to persue goals for the future. Kids lives are transformed as they participate. The Board is striving to enable the club to expand its reach in Florence and the surrounding community in the future. Help us with this vision by volunteering and come visit the club to see it in action!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to push to reach more middle school and teens.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

The Boys and Girls Clubs of the Pee Dee Area impacts the lives of hundreds of children in our community year -round. Adult mentors form relationships with the kids based on level of respect and accountibility and a desire to grow and to mature. Male staff are particularly important to our children that need a "father figure" role model in their lives. A small donation goes a long way to transforming childrens' lives. Once you visit the club and see the face of the kids, you will realize the critical importance of the club. Go, visit and you may be transformed into a vounteer of financile supporter of the club.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I am a board member for the Boys & Girls Cllub of Marion County and have been since the conception of the club. The hard work and dedication of many people have make the club a success. The children and young people of Marion have reaped the rewards of having purpose and will strive to be successful in many areas. It brings a smile to your face when you walk into the club and see the joy and excitement of the children. Thanks to the staff for bringing this club the benefits they truly deserve. Hopefully we can expand and see the future look brighter for more Marion County youth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I was honored to serve on the Pee Dee Area Board for 9 years. The staff is superior and the kids thrive in the many programs provided. My favorite experience was mentoring a young girl that became our State Youth of the Year. I attended her High School Graduation, she graduated college and is now a first year law student. She could have never made it that far without the support of the Boys and Girls Club. I wish I would have sent my son to the Club so he would have had more positive roll models. They teach them life skills, manors and give them a safe place to learn while having fun. These clubs save kids lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

When I came on the Board in the newly opened Boys & Girls Club of Marion County, I new nothing of the organization. I now know what an incredible outreach it is for school age children in need in our community. I am impressed by the progress of this new club and those who have made it happen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I am a board member for the Hemingway Boys and Girls Club, and am delighted to work with a group of staffers (at the club and the Boys and Girls Clubs of the Pee Dee Area, Inc.) who are really dedicated to their mission and to the children. The children, their families and the community are very fortunate to have a place like this for the children to receive additional love, guidance and direction; and to have such caring adults who know what they are doing looking after them. I am impressed with the sense of mission and caring and passion with which Andre Dorsey and Neal Zimmerman approach their jobs. I am honored to be a part of the Boys and Girls Club movement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I'm a Board Member, The Boys and Girl Club is a safe place for our children, and have after School programs to help them, improve their grades. This is a life changing experience for our children. And help them to realize their full potential.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I am a former member, employee and now board member of the Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee Area. I started attending the club as a 6 year old child and when i was old enough to work I got my first job there as a Lifeguard. I also won the SC State Youth of the Year in 2001 and the opportunities that were given to me were immeasurable. After being away from the area for about 9 years I came back and became an active member on the Board of Directors becuase i know personally the impact the Boys and Girls club has on a child. Now that i am an adult I send my children there and i am seeing the impact it is having on their lives. I will continue to support the Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee area as long as i can because i can see the affect it has on my children and i know the affect that it had on me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I am a volunteer for the Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee Area and it has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. Not only does our club have an active board but the staff is involved, compassionate and driven. Everyday a child is touched by what this organization stands for. They are cared for while spending time at the club but most importantly, they are motivated and believed in. These children who otherwise would not have that much needed "push" go on to do great things and have a purposeful life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers