Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.894745
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

The Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee Area was a wonderful environment to be apart of when I volunteered there this past spring break as apart of the Boston College Appalachia Volunteers. The entire community made us feel so welcome and I enjoyed every minute being able to serve the community. Everyone on staff was incredibly nice and and caring, and really made our stay in Florence a trip to remember. The kids at the club were awesome and I loved being able to help them out, as well as getting to spend time with them throughout the week. Overall, the Boys and girls Club of the Pee Dee Area is a wonderful place that really helps the community it serves, and truly makes a difference in the lives of the children and their families.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

What an incredible experience working with the Boys and Girls Club of Pee Dee. Not only do the staff members care so much about the kids, but they make volunteering there a great experience as well. Our group was coming to the Boys and Girls Club for a spring break service trip, and while we knew we would be staying the week at the Boys and Girls Club we had no idea how above and beyond the board of directors, site administrators, and staff members would go to make us feel at home. We all brought sleeping bags with an understanding that we would be sleeping each night on the floor, but upon arriving the board members and site administrators told us they had rounded up cots and blow up mattresses for us to sleep on-- along with more snacks and food than we knew what to do with! Each day we would help around the club (painting, cleaning up, etc) and then when the kids would arrive we would get to play with them and it was wonderful. Often, when volunteering at various organizations, volunteers are given little direction or are given small, menial tasks to stay occupied. The Boys and Girls Club was not like this at all as they fully integrated us with their program and fundraising efforts-- like a BBQ fundraiser where we helped to cook and distribute food. The Club has made an incredible impact in these kids lives-- in giving them mentors to look up to, educational direction, access to healthy food every day, and a place that is safe and fun for them to grow as youth.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I found the Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee Area to be a really special place. The staff members are incredibly helpful and caring, as I learned from my week of service there in March 2014. It is evident that these men and women truly have the children's and organization's best interests at heart. The children that attend this Boys and Girls Club location are so smart and wonderful to be around. It is clear that these children benefit from their time at the organization and that the staff works their hardest to help each individual child reach their full potential. The Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee Area is an admirable organization and I send them all of my best wishes!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

The Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee Area is truly a remarkable place. I had the wonderful opportunity of leading a trip of Boston College volunteers during the spring break of 2013. During this week, we were able to volunteer at the BGC and assist with landscaping, cleaning and planning activities for the children. When it was our time to leave at the end of the week, I can honestly say that there were tears in my eyes. The interactions between the staff and children were so nurturing and compassionate. The individuals at the BGC truly care about one another in a way that I believe is unique to this specific club. I was able to speak with and get to know Susan, Neal, Decar, Michael and Justin, to name a few, and I have the utmost respect for them all. They were all so hospitable to the BC students and made us feel welcomed into their community. I am eager to get back to Florence to see the club again, but it brings me great happiness to keep in touch with the club. I cannot speak highly enough of this organization and the work that they do for the children of the Pee Dee area.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

The Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee serves as a safe haven for children after school. In a safe and secure environment programs are offered to further develop childrens learning. Computer labs help them with social media skills and homework. The trained and caring staff are role models that promote a postive attitude and teach life skills.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

The Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee does an exceptional job serving those youth that need the most help in our community. Their programming focuses on growing the whole child, not just an educational or physical program. This organization puts every hard earned dollar (donations and grants) to good use and continues to grow. I started as a volunteer 10 years ago through the Junior League of Florence when we helped once a month with Birthday parties and continued as we built the healthy eating programming. I am proud to be a part of such a well run and deserving non-profit.
October 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

I have been a Boys and Girls Club Board member for just over a year now and the experience has been both purposeful and rewarding as we strive to fulfll the club's critical mission of inspiring and en... more

October 22, 2014

It's truly an honor to devote my time, treasure and talent to our PeeDee Boys and Girls Clubs as the positive results are evident not only in the impressive statistics but also in the hopeful faces of the remarkable children we serve everyday! From Mentoring and Healthy Habits Programs to Technology Labs and Job Corps, we are preparing our future leaders to succeed in today's economy. The Staff tirelessly and selflessly serves those who need us most...our kids!
November 5, 2012

I have been a Boys and Girls Club Board member for just over a year now and the experience has been both purposeful and rewarding as we strive to fulfll the club's critical mission of inspiring and enabling all young people throughout the Pee Dee to become productive and caring citizens! For those who need us most to have a safe and caring "home away from home" to go to is not only vital it can be life changing, and sometimes even life saving!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 25, 2012

I have been a Board member for the past 4 years, and remain impressed with the difference the Boys and Girls Clubs of the Pee Dee continues to make with at-risk youth. The staff is a professional as ... more

October 22, 2014

The Boys and Girls Clubs of the Pee Dee is celebrating 50 years of service to the children of the Pee Dee area of SC this year. The orgainization is well run with true professionals managing the orginization with once goal in mind - providing a positve place for kids who need us most. I continue to be impressed with the effectiveness of the clubs and how they are making a diffrence in kids lives.
September 25, 2012

I have been a Board member for the past 4 years, and remain impressed with the difference the Boys and Girls Clubs of the Pee Dee continues to make with at-risk youth. The staff is a professional as you will find with any organization, non-profit or for-profit. They have a true desire to continue to be more effective for those current attenting, and to find ways to reach more children. Every decision is made with children we serve in mind.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 22, 2013

Serving as a board member, i take it as a great privilege each and every year. Constantly amazed at the commitment that all staff members have for the kids that are served. Without the BGC, many of ... more

October 20, 2014

Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee does an awesome job for so many youth. Staff members work with the young adults through a variety of programs that help prepare them for future school and employment endeavors. Most impressive is one of the High School youths speak to the Board in segments at the meetings. Also, learning or experiencing some of the success stories of the youth that return from college and they actually state how much they appreciated the BGCPD and what a difference it made in their lives! Testimonies are the best!
October 22, 2013

Serving as a board member, i take it as a great privilege each and every year. Constantly amazed at the commitment that all staff members have for the kids that are served. Without the BGC, many of these kids would not be touched or influenced by such high role models. It makes a difference and is seen when Alumni come back to the Pee Dee area to live their adult lives and in turn make a contribution back to the community in which they grew up in!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Funds are constantly a problem as dollars are so much "tighter" than before.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

The Boys and Girls Clubs of the Pee Dee Area make a difference. Without this stellar organization, there are thousands of kids that would have no where to go after school or during the summer. It is not a "Baby Sitting" service. Instead the BGC mentors these kids. They are helped with basic eduational skills as well as very valuable life/social skills that are instrumental in the world today. The staff at all the clubs are positive role models. In fact, several of the Pee Dee Area Clubs have former Boys and Girls club members now on staff. What a testament to the continuation of providing service to the area which you live within. What a difference the club and its staff make!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

Boys and Girls Club of the Pee Dee is an incredible organization with an awesome staff, a dedicated Board, and business community members who are all committed to serving the youth in our community. Certainly one of the top not for profits in our community!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers