Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Boys & Girls Club of Hollywood is an organization that enriches the lives of the youth they serve. The Club's Executive Director and Staff are truly passionate about the mission of the Club, the kids are receiving academic enrichment that will only ensure their future success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013

more

August 2, 2013

The Boys & Girls Club of Hollywood is a safe haven for young people, where they can learn the skills they will need in the 21st century, all for a nominal $30 a year fee. The facility itself is clean and top notch, and I understand that the further renovations are planned for later in the year that will include a indoor basketball court. Simply the best youth services organization in the greater Los Angeles area and the perfect place to take your children after school.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

The staff and board of the H B&G are simply FABULOUS! Their events are well-run, never forgetting "do it for the kids!" This is an organization that is totally devoted to turning out people who will someday run our world. Can't say enough good things about what they do and how they do it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

I am incredibly proud to be associated with the Boys & Girls Club of Hollywood, as it is a fiscally responsible, impact-driven organization that effectively provides essential services to the young people of Hollywood.

The Boys & Girls Club of Hollywood provides area kids with the tools,
programs and attention needed to help them develop into effective leaders. Thanks to an extremely dedicated staff, and wonderful volunteers, the Club is instrumental in helping young people improve their academic performance, explore new opportunities and develop positive self-esteem. Without the Club, many of the kids would not receive the guidance and assistance needed to excel in school and beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

build its capacity so that it can serve even more young people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

The Boys and Girls Club of Hollywood services over 1400 kids a year and provides them with the leadership skills, extra circular development and support system they need to be productive individuals. The kids are not only able to get homework support and a place to run off some energy they are also exposed to music, art, photography, computer skills and many other enrichment activities. The staff is also amazing in every way. They were all hand selected and love what they do to make a difference in other peoples lives. I believe that the heart of our communities can be transformed by spending some time focusing on the future of those communities and that is why I proudly give my time to the Boys and Girls Club of Hollywood. They are truly the center of the Los Angeles community and these kids are it's future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

I want to start by saying that having my daughter Kayla attend the BGC in Hollywood,was life changing. My daughter attended from 4th-7th grade and. We were in the midst of some troubling times. Finances at home were tough, I was paying for private school, and making ends meet was incredibly hard. As for my daughter,she was having a hard time at school,she was being bullied and her grades were beginning to suffer because of it. I enrolled her in the club,because I began working 2 jobs to make ends meet. After a months of her attending her life began to change. She started to pursue art and music,she was nurtured and praised by the staff,she later went on to win art awards,perform music recitals at UCLA and win the Shinning Star of the year on her lsat year in attendance.she blossomed and her whole demeanor changed. Finally they thought she would be a good fit for a Robotics camp at an Episcopal school in Hollywood,which took a great interest in her. My daughter now attends this amazing school, on a full scholarship. I write this review with so much love and appreciation for the staff,they are by far the most dedicated and caring people. The BGC of hollywood was a blessing,and my family will be eternally grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

You wouldn't think a Club in the middle of Hollywood caters to at-risk kids, but as a past volunteer and current Board Member, I see how these kids struggle. But more importantly, I see their desire to learn and accomplish great things. The pride these kids feel is thanks to the wonderful staff and amazing volunteers that take the kids to the next level...help them graduate from high school and get them excited about college.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a sense of urgency with the neighbors. Hollywood is seeing tremendous revitalization and I would like to see more residents and business owners taking care of this iconic Club to make sure it continues to help these kids achieve their full potential.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 7, 2011

If you want to know the amazing work the Boys & Girls Club of Hollywood does to support the kids in the Hollywood commmunity, Just take a look at any of these short videos.

Youth of the Year video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_mz-s_NhjP0

American Idol
Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B-9ElZZRd2k

Teen Center Project:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXE2seygkvc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tp1qW9wdPMs

Keep up the great work Mel & team!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...When Iv'e seen the kids in our community go on to College and become productive members of society. The Club gives a kids a safe place to go after school where they can get help with their homework (which is required), learn music from a professional music teacher, take art classes, participate in team sports and learn leadership skills needed to become responsible adults later in life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...expand operations to allow for more kids to be able to take advantage of this wonderful resource.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide academic enrichment assistance. Volunteer