Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12.875345
Write A Review
August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've heard plenty of people complain about the money that professionals in the BSA make and state they are way overpaid. I would like to shed some light on this topic and how this is an incorrect view! First of all, I left the organization a little over 7 years ago as a professional. Why? HORRIBLE PAY!! If I was still there today, I might be making between 60-80k. Contrast this to what I really make now. 400K PLUS. That's right, you heard me. I'm making almost half a million dollars a year 7 years later. Why do I say this? The skills, the hard work, and the nature of the very profession is extremely demanding. The dedication, hours, and pure hard work it takes to be a scouting professional is so vastly underpaid compared to the corporate world of starting one's own business. The problem is the general public and more specifically the volunteers (many who lack promotability in their own careers) hate to hear that fundraising dollars go to paying salaries. All organizations, including non-profits must strive to operate at net not a loss in revenue. There are no share holders making money here. Just professionals that are grossly underpaid. A CEO of a 3000 person company would be making over a million dollars a year. When you add the volunteers, the professionals and all the obligations and responsibilities of leading a council or the national organization the pay is actually pathetic! It should be way more. I'm amazed many professionals stay as long as they could. Their skills are in demand in the world and they are so equipped to start making a 100k a year within a short time simply by leaving the profession! Anyone arguing with the pay they make simply has no clue as to the reality of what these dedicated professionals can truly make out there in business!

How do I know? I left, and I'm glad I did as now i'm so much better off financially! The constant demands for membership, growth and fundraising were inconsistent with the 36-40k pay they were giving. Did you know that a kid with no college education, a few years out of high school and similar drive can make 150k selling Trucks at a truck dealership? I bet not! Think about it before you bash the professionals for being overpaid!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

We have the claim "Alas, the Boy Scouts violate American values and model bigotry, hate and hypocrisy. They do not honor their own Scout Oath: "To do my duty to .... my country" and "To help other people at all times". They do not honor American ideals of freedom and equality regardless of sex, race, religion, color, national origin, ancestry, disability, marital status, age, or sexual orientation.” Blah, blah, blah. This is an outright lie by a selfish self-absorbed person who thinks his personal tastes should dictate Boy Scout policy. First he starts off by misrepresenting the Boy Scout oath, “To do my duty to God and my country.” Remember God, the one with absolute - instead of (corrupted society adapted) relative moral standards? Tim didn’t. But then, misrepresentation is the key of liberalism.

Forgetting that the libelous review above is actually completely focused on the Scouts taking a moral position against gay sex, supposedly another group discrimination category is “sex”. What part of “Boy” in “Boy Scouts” is Tim unable to understand? “Race, color, national origin, ancestry” - exactly how redundant do you one need to get with false accusations, Tim? “Marital Status”??? How many children do you know that are married, Tim? “Age”? You can become a scout master when you get too old for the scouts. Apparently Tim doesn’t feel there’s been enough molestation cases without open homosexuality being allowed that he feels more should be allowed to occur through a policy change.
For the homosexual movement to try to hijack the civil rights movement is reprehensible. Being a "color" was never a moral issue. Homosexuality and promiscuity and murder and *** are all "moral issues". The homosexual "agenda" to minimize the natural order of human relationships are deceptive at worst and diabolical at best.
Even homosexual researcher Simon LeVay, (who studied the hypothalamic differences between the brains of homosexual and heterosexual men) noted: "It's important to stress what I didn't find. I did not prove that homosexuality is genetic, or find a genetic cause for being gay. I didn't show that gay men are born that way, the most common mistake people make in interpreting my work. Nor did I locate a gay center in the brain."
Equally telling is the fact that Dr. Robert Spitzer led the politically motivated fight in 1973 to remove homosexuality from the American Psychiatric Association's diagnostic manual of mental disorders, because he was under the impression that sexual orientation could not be changed. In May, 2001, Spitzer, a professor of psychiatry at Colombia University, presented his study of 200 former homosexuals at the annual meeting of the APA. He is now convinced that he was wrong: some people can and do change their homosexual orientation.

His feelings are supported by Dr. Joseph Nicolosi, a clinical psychologist in practice for 15 years, who states homosexuality is "a treatable developmental disorder."
Celebrated disorders do not deserve pandering.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2011

I would really like them to explain their million dollar salaries for thier top exec and board members. This has to be one of Americas biggest scams, and it doesn't matter how much good the do. 1.6 million in 2009, for the top exec., how much is he earning today. He have to stop all these organizations the are makeing themself rich with our kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

October 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

They discriminate against children, and are a Mormon run organization, but receive federal funding. I have two children and would never let them join this evil organization. They should have to abide by federal discrimination laws if they are receiving federal funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers