Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12.875345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've heard plenty of people complain about the money that professionals in the BSA make and state they are way overpaid. I would like to shed some light on this topic and how this is an incorrect view! First of all, I left the organization a little over 7 years ago as a professional. Why? HORRIBLE PAY!! If I was still there today, I might be making between 60-80k. Contrast this to what I really make now. 400K PLUS. That's right, you heard me. I'm making almost half a million dollars a year 7 years later. Why do I say this? The skills, the hard work, and the nature of the very profession is extremely demanding. The dedication, hours, and pure hard work it takes to be a scouting professional is so vastly underpaid compared to the corporate world of starting one's own business. The problem is the general public and more specifically the volunteers (many who lack promotability in their own careers) hate to hear that fundraising dollars go to paying salaries. All organizations, including non-profits must strive to operate at net not a loss in revenue. There are no share holders making money here. Just professionals that are grossly underpaid. A CEO of a 3000 person company would be making over a million dollars a year. When you add the volunteers, the professionals and all the obligations and responsibilities of leading a council or the national organization the pay is actually pathetic! It should be way more. I'm amazed many professionals stay as long as they could. Their skills are in demand in the world and they are so equipped to start making a 100k a year within a short time simply by leaving the profession! Anyone arguing with the pay they make simply has no clue as to the reality of what these dedicated professionals can truly make out there in business!

How do I know? I left, and I'm glad I did as now i'm so much better off financially! The constant demands for membership, growth and fundraising were inconsistent with the 36-40k pay they were giving. Did you know that a kid with no college education, a few years out of high school and similar drive can make 150k selling Trucks at a truck dealership? I bet not! Think about it before you bash the professionals for being overpaid!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

February 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Boy Scouts of America is a wonderful organization that inspires thousands of young men and women to "do their best" and contribute to society by upholding a standard of public service and personal integrity. However, BSA policy discrimination against gay Scouts and employees is hurting the organization through loss of corporate sponsorships, reduced ability to recruit new members, disaffection of many current and former Scouts and volunteers, and loss of access to various public facilities. Most Americans, and in particular most young men and women, find it repugnant to discriminate on the basis of sexual orientation. The BSA is teaching our next generation of leaders that stigmatizing their peers on the basis of sexual orientation is acceptable. Before donating to the BSA, funders might want to ask themselves if they want to support an organization that discriminates on the basis of sexual orientation and what kind of message that sends to their stakeholders.

On a personal note, I have been a volunteer with Boy Scouts of America for over 10 years. I also have to agree with other reviewers that their Executives are extraordinarily well paid, particularly for an organization that is a non-profit. I'm not sure how they justify that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2013

more

January 31, 2013

An amazing organization that functions predominately through dedicated volunteers at the local level. The Boy Scouts of America, for more than 100 years, has, and continues to show a strong track record of living and teaching their core values, as well as enriching lives and communities throughout the country.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

We have the claim "Alas, the Boy Scouts violate American values and model bigotry, hate and hypocrisy. They do not honor their own Scout Oath: "To do my duty to .... my country" and "To help other people at all times". They do not honor American ideals of freedom and equality regardless of sex, race, religion, color, national origin, ancestry, disability, marital status, age, or sexual orientation.” Blah, blah, blah. This is an outright lie by a selfish self-absorbed person who thinks his personal tastes should dictate Boy Scout policy. First he starts off by misrepresenting the Boy Scout oath, “To do my duty to God and my country.” Remember God, the one with absolute - instead of (corrupted society adapted) relative moral standards? Tim didn’t. But then, misrepresentation is the key of liberalism.

Forgetting that the libelous review above is actually completely focused on the Scouts taking a moral position against gay sex, supposedly another group discrimination category is “sex”. What part of “Boy” in “Boy Scouts” is Tim unable to understand? “Race, color, national origin, ancestry” - exactly how redundant do you one need to get with false accusations, Tim? “Marital Status”??? How many children do you know that are married, Tim? “Age”? You can become a scout master when you get too old for the scouts. Apparently Tim doesn’t feel there’s been enough molestation cases without open homosexuality being allowed that he feels more should be allowed to occur through a policy change.
For the homosexual movement to try to hijack the civil rights movement is reprehensible. Being a "color" was never a moral issue. Homosexuality and promiscuity and murder and *** are all "moral issues". The homosexual "agenda" to minimize the natural order of human relationships are deceptive at worst and diabolical at best.
Even homosexual researcher Simon LeVay, (who studied the hypothalamic differences between the brains of homosexual and heterosexual men) noted: "It's important to stress what I didn't find. I did not prove that homosexuality is genetic, or find a genetic cause for being gay. I didn't show that gay men are born that way, the most common mistake people make in interpreting my work. Nor did I locate a gay center in the brain."
Equally telling is the fact that Dr. Robert Spitzer led the politically motivated fight in 1973 to remove homosexuality from the American Psychiatric Association's diagnostic manual of mental disorders, because he was under the impression that sexual orientation could not be changed. In May, 2001, Spitzer, a professor of psychiatry at Colombia University, presented his study of 200 former homosexuals at the annual meeting of the APA. He is now convinced that he was wrong: some people can and do change their homosexual orientation.

His feelings are supported by Dr. Joseph Nicolosi, a clinical psychologist in practice for 15 years, who states homosexuality is "a treatable developmental disorder."
Celebrated disorders do not deserve pandering.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2012

I was a very dedicated member for over 24 years. I was given/earned the District Award of Merit and the Silver Beaver Award. In the O/A the awarded me the Vigil Honor. I loved the scouting program but a certain CFC Council Executive and a certain school board member, their spouse, and their friend ended my career with their lies. My membership was ended and I didn't have a chance to confront the lies. I sent a rebuttal to Regional, from whence the CFC Executive came, and National but they didn't even look at the almost 40 letters of commendation that I sent. The BSA is no place for adults to play politics. I also agree that the CFC Exce being paid $232,000 annually and the top man being paid $3 million a year is out of line. That money should be spent on assisting the youth to develope into young men of character. The politics, lies, and over the top salaries do not have a place in scouting. I was honored to work with so many young people, 15 of which gave me their Eagle Mentor pin for assisting them along their Trail to Eagle. I did everything that was asked of me even taking the National Youth Leadership Training annual training on with only 5 months to plan it and put it together with no assistance from CFC. One day the lies of these people will be found out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Understand that the BSA reflects American Society; and one needs to recognize that time will gradually change the BSA. I have been a member for over 47 years; and while it;s not perfect, what organization is?BSA donated millions of dollars in service work to your community;in spite of the criticism of a few. The raised over a $1 Billion dollars in WW Bonds, taught "environmentalism" way back in the 1930's & 40's with recycling, and gave over 50 million boys outdoor opportunities to become successful men. Today they do the same. The program and values are delivered by your troop or cub pack level. Believe me, the local professional staff is NOT over paid, by any stretch. They put in 60-80 hour weeks,and are supportive. The BSA does not discriminate against sexual identity in its youth members; their standards are set about avowed public proclamation of ADULTS WHO are set on telling the world their sexual preference. Sexual preference is simply not a part of Scouting; and has been all along.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 28, 2012

Alas, the Boy Scouts violate American values and model bigotry, hate and hypocrisy. They do not honor their own Scout Oath: "To do my duty to .... my country" and "To help other people at all times". They do not honor American ideals of freedom and equality regardless of sex, race, religion, color, national origin, ancestry, disability, marital status, age, or sexual orientation. The rest of the US has grown up but the Boy Scouts have not and now would be more aptly named the Bigot Scouts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2011

I would really like them to explain their million dollar salaries for thier top exec and board members. This has to be one of Americas biggest scams, and it doesn't matter how much good the do. 1.6 million in 2009, for the top exec., how much is he earning today. He have to stop all these organizations the are makeing themself rich with our kids.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

October 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

They discriminate against children, and are a Mormon run organization, but receive federal funding. I have two children and would never let them join this evil organization. They should have to abide by federal discrimination laws if they are receiving federal funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

After reading some comments I feel like people don't have as much awareness of Scouting as they seem to think. Being someone who's been through the Scouting program all they way through my Eagle, serving on Camp Staff for a number of years including presently where I'm the Program Director, serving as an Adult Leader, serving as Lodge Chief and a standing member of the Executive Committee and Council Committee, I see some people as simply naive.

First off is the popcorn. Yes, this is a bit pricey but only 1/3 of the money goes back to the vendor. 1/3 goes to the sellers home Council directly to be used for Scouting in that area. The other 1/3 goes to the sellers unit (Troop, Pack, Crew, etc) and most of those give that money back to the Boy to help him pay for Camping or in lieu of dues which otherwise would be expensive.

Secondly, as someone who works on Camp Staff, the money isn't all that great. This past summer I made less than $250 A WEEK. Consider the fact that I am on clock 24 hours a day while doing that job from noon Sunday to noon Saturday. With minimum wage at $7.25 and all the overtime, my weekly pay should be more like $1418.40. Again that is at minimum wage, and I was the second highest paid staff member with less than $250 a week.

This translates to the Executives. While they do get paid a high salary, take into account the amount of work they do. Yes, they are on the clock 8-5 like almost every other working person but their job isn't done at 5. They spend countless nights and weekends doing their job on volunteer time, so much of their pay is really covering those extra hours that most people wouldn't put in for their job without getting some extra compensation.

Additionally, the amount an Executive makes will depend on their Council. A smaller council will not pay their Executive the same as a large one, nor will the large ones pay the same as the National Executive. With this in mind, I'm not saying that the pay some Executives get is reasonable, just saying that some people need to look a bit more into the details in order to see clearly.

My last point is all the bad rep stories about the Boy Scouts. We are an organization of MANY leaders in order to work. While background checks are conducted, it is entirely possible that people slip through that shouldn't. When one person makes a mistake it makes national headlines but rarely do all the good works of the Boy Scouts get major attention. In fact, the last major story about Boy Scouts doing good came after a tornado struck a camp and the Boys used what they were taught to save numerous lives. Like any organization, people make mistakes, focus on the good not the bad for once, especially with an organization like this where the amount of good that is done well outweighs the few bads that are done.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own life as an Eagle, and working with thousands of young people at camp and the Regional, Council, District, and Unit levels.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Look at Executive's salaries but pay them accordingly for the amount of work they do.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers