Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

There have been many women BFA has helped to move forward in their life not only for themselves but they may have children and BFA has been instrumental in letting them know there is someone that can lead them in the right direction with the help of God in their life. BFA is an awesome ministry!!!
July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

Beauty for Ashes Transitional Home provides a positive, safe, and improvement oriented environment for women and children in a well-kept home. The wonder of Beauty for Ashes is that it operates as nearly a 100% volunteer organization. The home has only 2 employees - the House Manager and a Fund Raiser. The CEO and the board are all volunteer. The hundreds of volunteers within a year range from craftsmen, psychologists, dietiticians, churches, and students. Self-improvement classes include Safe Friends, Shame Resilience, and Boundaries. Church attendance is required of the residents and 5 churches are within 5 blocks and many more churches are located within 1 mile. Beauty for Ashes has been a safe haven and a blessing for many women and deserves support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to support new emphasis of Fund Raising

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

What joy Bountiful Harvest Ministries has brought to so many. To those ladies who were scared not knowing which way to turn to survive. This world can be hard especially when you have fallen so far from the Lords side. Many lives have been changed. Not only those who come to Beauty for Ashes seeking help but for those who have been there to help. I think those who give and help guide receive just as much as those ladies in need. Those who walk through the doors of B.O.A. are all in need and all are blessed. Whether you are there for shelter and guidance or to volunteer your time, all are blessed and lives changed. How could it not be? Both residents and volunteers will see life a little differently and know The Lord's power and love. All will know they are not alone. Sharon Kay Renfro and Janice Kay Busby listened to The Lord calling them to reach out to the homeless women and children. In doing so, many have been given a new life when otherwise may have never found peace, happiness, and heard the word of The Lord.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I am 16 and I love to help with the women and children. I think this charity helps with the community and helps people in need. I plan on being a part of this charity for a long time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I think this is a great charity that helps women and children in need. I enjoy volunteering and working with the people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I came to Beauty for Ashes in 2010 as a resident. After a life of drug addiction and alcoholism I found refuge and salvation in Jesus Christ and through a personal relationship with Him I was lead to Beauty for Ashes. I had roamed around for years from house to house, relationship to relationship as a result of my addiction but when I got sober I began to realize that my lifestyle was not only abnormal but was irresponsible. However, when I began to desire to change, I was unsure just how to do that as I came to see that I had no idea how to live responsibly. The most important thing in life is having a personal relationship with God through His Son Jesus Christ and that is the key to freedom, so I knew that I could not go just anywhere. I was excited when I found Beauty for Ashes because of their faith based Biblical foundation. I was able to learn things like, boundaries, safe people, and nutrition. I needed balance in many areas of my life, I was able through many classes, groups and studies to gain the ability to begin to balance many areas of my life and find more peace. I really needed the structure and discipline that was foundational to the ministry of the house and I found peace and assurance through such structure.
After graduating the program, I transitioned into a residential staff position where I stayed on another year as onsite night staff, where I learned even more. I moved out in 2013 but stayed connected and returned in 2014 to take on a position as staff. I was so blessed by the passion, vision and heart of Jan Busby and Sharon Renfro. I believe in the vision God had given to Jan and I pray that this ministry continue to grow and prosper and that the vision the Lord gave her will continue. Beauty for Ashes is a blessed and safe place to come and find healing and to find, strengthen or even renew faith and a relationship with Jesus Christ which brings great peace and serenity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I have been involved with this great charity for a few years now and it's still one of my favorite. They help women and children in need, give them a home, stability and faith. This charity is such a huge part of me and our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Want more people to be involved so that we could help more families in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2011

First of all let me just say I love BFA! This is a great charity. I first came upon it when I was looking to do some volunteer work. I wanted my girls (ages 12 and 16) to get involved in some kind ... more

November 7, 2012

I love that Beauty for Ashes helps women. I have volunteer for BFA for about 3 years now. I see alot of great women come through here. I like the way they are faith based and they take their time with each lady. This charity is very close to my heart. I would recommend BFA to anyone woman that is needing help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2011

First of all let me just say I love BFA! This is a great charity. I first came upon it when I was looking to do some volunteer work. I wanted my girls (ages 12 and 16) to get involved in some kind of charity so that they would learn about giving, and doing things for people just out of kindness of their heart. Since then we have helped with many fundraisers and both of my daugters have babysit for some of the kids that has stayed there. I love that this charity is faith based and it is about women. It helps teach the ladies that there is hope, that there are people out there that will care for you and let you know that you are not alone. That is what Jan and Sharon and all of the other volunteers do! Plus the women that stay there are great! I just cant go on enough about how wonderful this chairty is! I am blessed to be apart of it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing what it does for the women that stay there. I've seen the women get stronger and more confident about themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Want a bigger place so that they could help more families. I believe that they could change alot of people lives.

December 3, 2011

more

December 3, 2011

I teach the FNP (Family Nutrition Program) classes through Purdue Extension. I have worked with Beauty for Ashes for years. I go in to teach a group or an individual the nine-lesson series. The focus is on quick, inexpensive, healthy meals. They spend time learning nutrition information and then we prepare meals together. Over the years, the women have reported to me that they benefit from the program by eating healthier and saving money. Most of the women in the house are always very thankful for the information and the time we spend together. I have also observed changes in the women as they live there and partake in the classes and the daily routines of the house. They become more assertive, outgoing, and in control of their lives. The staff at Beauty for Ashes is very supportive by providing resources and expecting the clients to benefit from those resources. I always enjoy imparting knowledge with the women and I, in turn, always get a need met.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2011

more

November 17, 2011

I have been fortunate to witness Bountiful Harvest Ministries, Inc. evolve from the vision and commitment of two women to a Christ-centered 6-family transitional residence, Beauty for Ashes. Just as their Mission states, the ministry provides transitional housing, accountability, and life management education in a nurturing environment to homeless women with or without children. I have volunteered at various levels and have attended a weekly Bible study with the residents. I have been an eye witness to the transformation that has taken place in the residents as they are nurtured emotionally, spiritually, and financially during their stay at Beauty for Ashes. This Christian, non-denominational ministry is supported financially by many churches, one of which is the church I attend. When you partner with Bountiful Harvest Ministries, you can have confidence that your gift will be used wisely and effectively for the residents at Beauty for Ashes. I support their efforts and encourage others to do so as well. It benefits our entire society when caring people answer Christ's call to help bring His life-transforming power to those God sends to this ministry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide child care, copy papers & stuff entry packets, help with mailing, walk in the Homeward Bound Walk, sort donations, provide an outing for a family or for all residents, run errands, help plan and execute fund raisers, do household repairs, use graphic arts experience to design a pamphlet.