Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

Beauty for Ashes Transitional Home provides a positive, safe, and improvement oriented environment for women and children in a well-kept home. The wonder of Beauty for Ashes is that it operates as nearly a 100% volunteer organization. The home has only 2 employees - the House Manager and a Fund Raiser. The CEO and the board are all volunteer. The hundreds of volunteers within a year range from craftsmen, psychologists, dietiticians, churches, and students. Self-improvement classes include Safe Friends, Shame Resilience, and Boundaries. Church attendance is required of the residents and 5 churches are within 5 blocks and many more churches are located within 1 mile. Beauty for Ashes has been a safe haven and a blessing for many women and deserves support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to support new emphasis of Fund Raising

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

What joy Bountiful Harvest Ministries has brought to so many. To those ladies who were scared not knowing which way to turn to survive. This world can be hard especially when you have fallen so far from the Lords side. Many lives have been changed. Not only those who come to Beauty for Ashes seeking help but for those who have been there to help. I think those who give and help guide receive just as much as those ladies in need. Those who walk through the doors of B.O.A. are all in need and all are blessed. Whether you are there for shelter and guidance or to volunteer your time, all are blessed and lives changed. How could it not be? Both residents and volunteers will see life a little differently and know The Lord's power and love. All will know they are not alone. Sharon Kay Renfro and Janice Kay Busby listened to The Lord calling them to reach out to the homeless women and children. In doing so, many have been given a new life when otherwise may have never found peace, happiness, and heard the word of The Lord.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

This organization is full of Christ's Love. Love is what Christ is about and this organization has captured that mission and shared that with everyone who graces the doors of the transitional home. The women and children that have been served through this ministry have grown in this love and now can share that with those they meet. They also have the knowledge to go out and start fresh in life and make life better for themselves. The plans that the organization puts in place for each resident has this in mind. It has been wonderful to help with this ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see this organization grow to meet the needs of more people (families).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

July 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Bountiful Harvest Ministries"s Beauty for Ashes Transitional Home provide a safe place for Women and Children. It provides them the tools necessary to be able to move into society in a productive way. BfA is providing a long term solution for homeless women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want BHM to be have a sustainable source of funds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I am 16 and I love to help with the women and children. I think this charity helps with the community and helps people in need. I plan on being a part of this charity for a long time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I think this is a great charity that helps women and children in need. I enjoy volunteering and working with the people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I came to Beauty for Ashes in 2010 as a resident. After a life of drug addiction and alcoholism I found refuge and salvation in Jesus Christ and through a personal relationship with Him I was lead to Beauty for Ashes. I had roamed around for years from house to house, relationship to relationship as a result of my addiction but when I got sober I began to realize that my lifestyle was not only abnormal but was irresponsible. However, when I began to desire to change, I was unsure just how to do that as I came to see that I had no idea how to live responsibly. The most important thing in life is having a personal relationship with God through His Son Jesus Christ and that is the key to freedom, so I knew that I could not go just anywhere. I was excited when I found Beauty for Ashes because of their faith based Biblical foundation. I was able to learn things like, boundaries, safe people, and nutrition. I needed balance in many areas of my life, I was able through many classes, groups and studies to gain the ability to begin to balance many areas of my life and find more peace. I really needed the structure and discipline that was foundational to the ministry of the house and I found peace and assurance through such structure.
After graduating the program, I transitioned into a residential staff position where I stayed on another year as onsite night staff, where I learned even more. I moved out in 2013 but stayed connected and returned in 2014 to take on a position as staff. I was so blessed by the passion, vision and heart of Jan Busby and Sharon Renfro. I believe in the vision God had given to Jan and I pray that this ministry continue to grow and prosper and that the vision the Lord gave her will continue. Beauty for Ashes is a blessed and safe place to come and find healing and to find, strengthen or even renew faith and a relationship with Jesus Christ which brings great peace and serenity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I have been involved with this great charity for a few years now and it's still one of my favorite. They help women and children in need, give them a home, stability and faith. This charity is such a huge part of me and our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Want more people to be involved so that we could help more families in our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

Bountiful Harvest Ministries is a wonderful organization that has great compassion for women and children in need. They offer stability and love to many families. This organization is ran by people that truly have a heart for the Lord. I feel blessed to have become a part of this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expansion is needed to help more families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

November 7, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2011

First of all let me just say I love BFA! This is a great charity. I first came upon it when I was looking to do some volunteer work. I wanted my girls (ages 12 and 16) to get involved in some kind ... more

November 7, 2012

I love that Beauty for Ashes helps women. I have volunteer for BFA for about 3 years now. I see alot of great women come through here. I like the way they are faith based and they take their time with each lady. This charity is very close to my heart. I would recommend BFA to anyone woman that is needing help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2011

First of all let me just say I love BFA! This is a great charity. I first came upon it when I was looking to do some volunteer work. I wanted my girls (ages 12 and 16) to get involved in some kind of charity so that they would learn about giving, and doing things for people just out of kindness of their heart. Since then we have helped with many fundraisers and both of my daugters have babysit for some of the kids that has stayed there. I love that this charity is faith based and it is about women. It helps teach the ladies that there is hope, that there are people out there that will care for you and let you know that you are not alone. That is what Jan and Sharon and all of the other volunteers do! Plus the women that stay there are great! I just cant go on enough about how wonderful this chairty is! I am blessed to be apart of it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing what it does for the women that stay there. I've seen the women get stronger and more confident about themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Want a bigger place so that they could help more families. I believe that they could change alot of people lives.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide child care, copy papers & stuff entry packets, help with mailing, walk in the Homeward Bound Walk, sort donations, provide an outing for a family or for all residents, run errands, help plan and execute fund raisers, do household repairs, use graphic arts experience to design a pamphlet.