Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.955
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

Volunteer, and future partner/client. These programs fill a void in the community for at-risk youth. A unique approach for unique individuals. This is why there has been such a high success rate for those fortunate enough to participate. I look forward the a collaboration with "Borrowed Freedom" in which the children at the Georg F. Johnson Dream Center will be able to "take the the reigns" and turn their lives around in the direction of progress and positive futures never before deemed possible. "Borrowed Freedom" has done incredible things, and continues to do so!

Looking forward to the actual "hands on" volunteer work in addition to the current networking capacity!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the Dream Center a part of it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have been visiting and volunteering sporadically at Borrowed Freedom for over a year now and have been excited to see the improvement and growth of the facility in such a short time. The animals are well cared for and immaculately kept. Colleen has a gift with the children she works with. Her love shines through in her every interaction with them. She is patient, compassionate, and caring. She and Ally are a pleasure to be around.

Borrowed Freedom has a welcoming atmosphere and I always leave there feeling inspired and refreshed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I have been a volunteer with Borrowed Freedom for a year and love going to "the farm" as much as the clients do. During my year with the organization I have worked with several clients and watched them grow and blossom under Colleen's and Ally's care and training. It still amazes me to see the transformation brought about through the program. All the animals, but especially the horses, are given the best of care and love and return it to the students. You have to see it to really understand the transfer between horse and student.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more certified people to provide Hippatherapy to more clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I am a new volunteer at Borrowed Freedom. I met Colleen at a stable where our daughters both take riding lessons and was excited to find out that she ran an equine assisted therapy organization. I enjoy working with people with developmental disabilities and have a vast background in that area. Put horses in the mix, and this seemed like a perfect fit for me! I know a little about horses, but am learning so much more as I work with Colleen, the other volunteers, and the clients. Adult clients actually teach new volunteers and clients how to approach, groom, and lead the horses around. This not only reinforces what they have been taught about horse safety and care, but also helps with self confidence and communication skills. I love it! The horses are well loved and cared for and everyone there loves what they do. The clients and animals get top priority at Borrowed Freedom.

Bonus: they don't just have horses. There are chickens, ducks, goats, a mule, miniature horses, a miniature donkey . . . it's a regular menagerie!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have an indoor arena built (or at least a covered one), and make a paved path to the classroom/arena area. Sooo much money. Keep the donations coming in!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

A few years ago I discovered Facebook and was able to get in touch with people who I have not seen in years. Colleen and I grew up together in Johnson City and I kept following her posts on her program. My daughter rides horses and Colleen was looking for volunteers so I thought my daughter would be interested. We have been volunteering for Borrowed Freedom since last fall and I can't say enough about what a wonderful program it is. We have learned so much and we cherish every moment we spend at the farm working with the animals and clients. It is truly the most rewarding experience. Our area is very fortunate to have such a well put together program of this type available to us. We plan on continuing to volunteer there for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

I am the founder and director of the Borrowed Freedom program. When we first decided to make our program "official" we decided to do it right, to not fly by the seat of our pants, but to take our time and grow all while maintaining the highest possible level of service. Now, three years later, we have grown to become a respected and valued member of the community and have gathered an exceptional team of volunteers that not only enhance our programming through their dedication, but bring years of experience in the fields of Physical and Occupational Therapy, Nursing, Education and more. In the fall of 2012 we will begin our first internships with Binghamton University. I am profoundly grateful to all of the incredible people who have made this possible, without you...it simply would not be as wonderful as it is!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally witness children take their first unaided steps, speak their first words and grow 12 feet tall from the self-esteem and confidence they have gained from their work with the horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase volunteer base, and expand programming for early intervention and at risk youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

To continue to grow!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

More than words can describe. It has changed my entire path in life.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Again, words cannot describe!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us provide three adaptive (therapeutic) riding lessons or Hippotherapy sessions, exercise 6 horses, help us with office work and any number of very important tasks! Volunteer