Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I came to Borrowed Freedom as a client a year ago. Working with the horses has helped me in ways I cannot describe with words. All I can say is thank you, and I hope you continue to do your good work.
September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

My twin daughters have greatly benefited from the Borrowed Freedom program. They have overcome many obstacles in their little lives being former foster children and the services provided at Borrowed Freedom have been a great tool to help them recover. Their social skills have improved immensely as well as their self esteem. They ADORE Miss Colleen and think she is hilarious:) The animals at Borrowed Freedom are all as gentle and kind as Colleen and her family and are wonderfully cared for and loved. My family is so very grateful for Miss Colleen, Ally and all the sweet animals at Borrowed freedom. I would and have recommended this program to others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More financial support for Colleen and her family to provide services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

My granddaughter, Cami, has benefited hugely from her experience at Borrowed Freedom! She started "riding horsey" when she was just two. Suffering from weak core strength, she was receiving hipo therapy at Borrowed Freedom. She absolutely loves riding, largely because of the loving and patient guidance she has received through Colleen and staff. The therapy has helped Cami build her core strength and improve her posture and confidence. We are very thankful for the help she has received and hope to continue with the riding, indefinitely. Thank you, Colleen !!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

Volunteer, and future partner/client. These programs fill a void in the community for at-risk youth. A unique approach for unique individuals. This is why there has been such a high success rate for those fortunate enough to participate. I look forward the a collaboration with "Borrowed Freedom" in which the children at the Georg F. Johnson Dream Center will be able to "take the the reigns" and turn their lives around in the direction of progress and positive futures never before deemed possible. "Borrowed Freedom" has done incredible things, and continues to do so!

Looking forward to the actual "hands on" volunteer work in addition to the current networking capacity!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the Dream Center a part of it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

This is one of the few organizations that offered therapy to adults. Having Dumplin, the mechanical therapy horse made it even easier with my physical disability and weather was not a factor. I traveled 1500 miles and took medical leave just so I could do the program for 5 weeks. Time and effort well spent. Hoping I can participate next year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

My son has grown in confidence and compassion while working with Colleen, Ally, and the horses! He is always looking forward to his next session. His diagnosis are Aspergers, depression and anxiety.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

Borrowed Freedom is a non-profit organization that I partner with to provide physical therapy services using hippotherapy for children with special needs. Borrowed Freedom has opened up a whole new modality of treatment protocol for me in my PT practice, that is highly effective with children who have Cerebral Palsy, Down Syndrome and Autism Spectrum Disorder to name a few. Treatment using the horse to achieve physical therapy goals has been one of the most effective and beneficial that I have seen in my 18 years of physical therapy practice. Borrowed Freedom has helped children learn to walk, talk and interact more appropriately with their enviornment. The children love the horses and always come with arms wide open for hugs for the horse after each treatment. I received my Doctorate of Physical Therapy, an advanced degree, three years ago and the research supports the effectiveness of hippotherapy as a treatment modality in PT practice. But equally important are the smiles on the children's faces that is priceless and the most effective learning happens when children are having fun and enjoying what they are doing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding for the program, as Colleen donates her own time and money to keep the program running.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

Colleen's attention to detail across the board is one of the reasons why Borrow Freedom is such a success. The animals receive the best of care, the facility is exceptionally well maintained, and she tailors something individual for each of the clients. They are not just up on a horse for a ride, they are participants in their own therapy.
Borrowed Freedom also brings a wonderful sense of community to the riders and their families, the volunteers and the donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have been visiting and volunteering sporadically at Borrowed Freedom for over a year now and have been excited to see the improvement and growth of the facility in such a short time. The animals are well cared for and immaculately kept. Colleen has a gift with the children she works with. Her love shines through in her every interaction with them. She is patient, compassionate, and caring. She and Ally are a pleasure to be around.

Borrowed Freedom has a welcoming atmosphere and I always leave there feeling inspired and refreshed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I have been a volunteer with Borrowed Freedom for a year and love going to "the farm" as much as the clients do. During my year with the organization I have worked with several clients and watched them grow and blossom under Colleen's and Ally's care and training. It still amazes me to see the transformation brought about through the program. All the animals, but especially the horses, are given the best of care and love and return it to the students. You have to see it to really understand the transfer between horse and student.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more certified people to provide Hippatherapy to more clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us provide three adaptive (therapeutic) riding lessons or Hippotherapy sessions, exercise 6 horses, help us with office work and any number of very important tasks! Volunteer