Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.739135
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I am also a volunteer and a donor. This is a remarkable, highly efficient, motivated, skillful advocacy group. The DC-based EVP is well-known within the field. I have neve seen so much as a dollar's worth of waste leak from this organization. The USA operation has the strong support of senior UK management.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Fantastic organization working to end captive animal suffering, and rescue those that they can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

Excellent charity working to conserve wild animals and rescue captive animals in horrible conditions. Born Free are brilliant at raising awareness for animal welfare causes and educating people about protecting species.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

I have served on the board of Born Free U.S.A. for four years. The board and the organization are committed to both the protection and welfare of animals and to being good stewards of donations recieved. The CEO, Executive Vice President and the entire staff are dedicated and work hours way past what would be the norm. I have been involved with animal protection and welfare for many years and continue to be impressed with what BFUSA does. Our primate sanctuary in Texas is like none other in the U.S. and gives primates rescued from labs, zoos, pet owners, etc. a chance to live as close as possible to how they were meant to live....in the wild. Open enclosures of 50 plus acres are a huge step forward from 4X 4 cages or dressed up as dolls in homes or submitted to terrible testing techniques in labs. The joy of seeing them finally putting their feet on grass or climbing and swinging from trees is heart warming beyond description. The knowledge of the staff in regards to exoctic animals in captivity is tremendous and was demonstrated by the sad incident involving exotic cats, etc. in Ohio in 2011. BFUSA was the leading authority on the tragedy and gave excellent advice on how to keep it from happening again. These are only a few of many examples of what an excellent job this non profit does. Mary Trimble

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012

more

January 16, 2012

Perhaps a couple of years ago, I don't know how, I was introducted to Born Free USA as yet 'another' Save the Wildlife organization. I immediately learned they are not just 'another.' Born Free I consider my penpals to the world of help to those who cannot help themselves, as they say. They've filled my life with hope for the future of so many animals not yet protected, or should be. I read stories of meetings they've attended with woldwide organizations to form bonds to eliminate (or try) poaching, for example, a greed-oriented "disease," which with some help from many organizations, may diminish instead of diminish the number of animals they leave alive. So far I've only donated. I've been a proud sponsor to many of the Primates at their Sanctuary in Texas. I've donated "in-kind" articles to 'help' the Primates through the cold and heat of the seasons. I've actually felt a part of Born Free's dream. Their letters thanking me are to me personally as if I've been a friend for years. I receive gorgeous photos of my friends who I've sponsored at the Primate Sanctuary. I've learned how much more I need to learn about saving wildlife, how much more can be taught throughout the world about how they can save wildlife and yet live, sometimes in a closely knit area due to the encroachment of the environment on property that USED to belong for animals in which to live ONLY. Born Free is a pathway to the world of life, love of life, and the preservation of life. Their Chief Executive Officer, Will Travers, is not too time-consumed to answer silly questions of mine about possibly volunteering at their Primate Sanctuary in Texas! I have, I feel, a personal relationship with a few of the girls who work in the office in Sacramento. I'm thrilled, proud and want to volunteer when my schedule permits - soon! Just as soon as they need me! I write letters, suggested by Born Free, to the legislature supporting causes I believe in but did not know were at issue in the government. I cannot highly enough recommend this organization to any and or all of my friends! Donations are the 'easiest' for me right now, and perhaps with the economics being as it is, maybe that's not such a small thing after all. I hope not. I love every employee of Born Free, their volunteers, members, donators and, of course - Will. I thank him for allowing the organization to continue and be such a continuing and I believe even more powerful force in the struggle for the quality of lives of our wildlife - and the people who live in and around them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...the emails I've received from Born Free have updated me on up-and-coming meetings between countries set up by Born Free to discuss wildlife issues concerning many countries. Greed seems to be a primary reason abominal acts are done to animals, as well as cultures of years ago. Born Free is attempting to curtail these issues - and perhaps, with the help of many countries, a variety of these issues can be eliminated at best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes - they're way ahead of me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

None of the above - I was prompted by my love of animals, horror at their abuse by man, and that Born Free allowed me the ability to participate, if only at a donation level, as if I were personally helping. I felt blessed.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

The latest donation was on behalf of Asian Elephants and their particularly horrifying situation and diminishing numbers due to man's abuse of "gentel giants."

What would you tell others about this organization?

Join. Learn what they do and what they stand for. Write for information they freely provide. They're an amazing organization.

January 11, 2012

more

January 11, 2012

I have been a Board Member for two years, but a donor to this organization and its predecessors for nearly 40 years. The organization is well run, and has staff members who are true believers in the causes they serve. I've been thrilled to be a part of BFUSA and will continue to donate both my time and money to their wonderful work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2012

more

January 11, 2012

Prior to joining the Board, I had heard of the goals of Born Free, and thought that its mission was a noble one, particularly given that it did not have the resources of a Humane Society, etc. Since joining the Board, I am pleased to learn that it truly attempts to achieve its goals. Merely by way of example, when the recent animal tragedy occurred in Ohio, Born Free found itself in the middle of much needed discussion about legislation to assure that the tragedy does not occur again in Ohio and elsewhere. It did so by making itself available, and informed on the topic, for the media - resulting in media opportunities to get this issue out to the public. The goal here not being to get in the spotlight, but to get the public engaged in a covnersation about much needed legislation. It is that quality that sets Born Free apart - pushing its mission without regard to its limitations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 10, 2012

more

January 10, 2012

I first joined this animal group when they were known as Animal Protection Institute in 1979. I've had nothing but good experiances with them. When they became Born Free USA they just got better. The CEO Will Travers I had the privalage to meet him twice. He is a very nice person who u feel very comfortable with. You can tell by talking to him that he genuinely loves animals!! Also the staff at Born Free is wonderful. I have had communication with Lorry Marvin who is friendly very informative and very pleasant to talk with. She has made me feel that what I donate monthly is so helpful even though it's not a huge amount you still feel that you are really making a difference!!! I have nothing but good things to say about this organization. It's nice that it is local also.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our household budget for charitable giving includes animal welfare and legal defense organizations. Born Free USA is one of our targeted animal welfare groups because we are confident that our donation we will be spent wisely. In 2011 we donated Home Depot and Pet Smart prepaid gift cards to the Born Free Primate Center located in Texas. The cards that were used to help build the new facilities that were needed to accommodate the sudden influx of 113 new primates. These primates are the byproducts of research and unwanted pets. Frankly we cannot think of a better animal welfare organization to support than Born Free USA. We encourage you to take all that they do, their work also includes promoting and lobbying for animal anti cruelty legislation.
January 10, 2012

more

January 10, 2012

I cant say enough good things about Born Free USA. While most of my experience with the organization has been through the primate sanctuary, I am amazed and often brought to tears by the animal rights issues that they fight for every single day. Their dedication to protecting wildlife is unmatched by anyone I've ever dealt with.

Photos

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them the financial resources needed to guarantee the well-being of their huge collection of monkeys.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

After contacting several primate sanctuaries throughout the country in an attempt to find Khy, my Japanese snow monkey, a new home, nearly every sanctuary recommended Born Free.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Born Free was able to provide a suitable home for Khy, my Japanese snow monkey, when I realized that I was not equipped to care for him. It was extremely difficult for me to give him up, but knowing that he was in great hands and that I could receive pictures and updates at any time made the decision much, much easier. Tim Ajax and the rest of the team at the Born Free Primate Sanctuary are heroes to primates (both human and non-human) everywhere.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers