Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 9, 2012

Arriving with boxes of books for a classroom library brings excitement to the teachers as well as the students. There is an instant connection when a teacher picks out a book and talks about his/her ... more

November 29, 2012

Collecting books and providing them for students in underserved areas has been a remarkable experience. The kids and other who donate are so supportive. The kids who receive the books, as well as their parents and teachers are most appreciative.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

Arriving with boxes of books for a classroom library brings excitement to the teachers as well as the students. There is an instant connection when a teacher picks out a book and talks about his/her relationship to the story. I love the way books reveal themselves to the students. The smile a Cliffford book always brings, my delight in finding Misty of Chincoteque in the hands of a child who loves horses (as I did)-and the conversation that followed, the way the children hold the books against their bodies when they discover they will be able to take them home, share with family, and bring them back to exchange for others. It makes winners out of all involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 13, 2012

more

March 13, 2012

Wonderful organization supported by dedicated administrators and Board. BWA really makes a difference in the community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2012

more

March 11, 2012

Bookworm Angels is a fantastic organization. Not only does it place books in children's hands, it places smiles on their faces and imbues them with a love of reading and learning.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

Book Worm Angels is a brilliantly simple idea -- if kids don't have books at home to read, let them borrow them from in-classroom lending libraries full of recreational reading books kids love to read. And that's what Book Worm Angels does -- provide in-classroom lending libraries of 10 books per student. I've been working with Book Worm Angels for 9 years now, visiting schools, visiting book donors, raising money, and every year it becomes clearer how important it is to get books in the hands of kids. Perhaps the greatest reinforcement I ever had was when I was waiting in a school office to make a presentation to the teachers, and a 6 or 7 year old boy was sitting next to me -- reading a book. The Principal walked in and asked the little boy, "Do you know who this is?" pointing to me. "He's the man who brings all the books to us for you to take home." The young man leaped up, dropped the book, and hugged me. There is no greater compensation than that. Book Worm Angels now has books in over 4500 classrooms throughout the city, so over 100,000 kids have books to take home to read with their parents.

Photos

Videos

All About Book Worm Angels

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Also described above. Sure, we get reading scores and responses to our teachers from surveys, but there's nothing like a hug from a kid.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow faster.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

It was started by a friend of mine.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Raising money to get more books into the hands of more kids.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Same as short-term. It's the one thing we do, and we do it well.

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

Book Worm Angels is a magnificent organization, bringing thousands of books to inner-city school children, who would otherwise not have the access. The books are collected throughout area schools and neighborhoods and donated to classrooms, where children can bring books home from a lending library. The important part is that a reading environment is created in the home, so if books never make it back to the classroom, the students are not penalized.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

BWA has changed the lives and outlook of thousands of students in the Chicagoland area. The gift of books and reading is priceless. BWA employs such a simple concept and plan - provide books to kids who need them - but the concept is so effective. I am so blessed to be part of an organization with such a wonderful mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers