Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Book Worm Angels collects used children's books and gives them to public schools in Chicago and a few other cities. It's motto is "Kids Who Read Succeed," and that says it all. This program is well received by the schools and the students who are discovering the joy and the benefits of reading books. It is a low budget charity operated by hands-on board members and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 12, 2012

more

March 12, 2012

Book Worm Angels unites two smart ways to help donors with books they no longer want and to foster reading that is fun for kids in underserved neighborhoods: promoting thoughtful recycling and encouraging kids to develop a love of reading. BWA efficiently collects gently used kids books for leisure reading from groups and individauls and distributes them to schools so teachers can establish and maintain lending libraries for their students. It works with more than 2 million received and given in less than a dozen years: Chicago Public Schools reports that schools with BWA lending libraries in youngsters' classrooms have the best reading scores. As a trustee, I find it very rewarding to visit the schools and help teachers leverage this resource.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 9, 2012

Arriving with boxes of books for a classroom library brings excitement to the teachers as well as the students. There is an instant connection when a teacher picks out a book and talks about his/her ... more

November 29, 2012

Collecting books and providing them for students in underserved areas has been a remarkable experience. The kids and other who donate are so supportive. The kids who receive the books, as well as their parents and teachers are most appreciative.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

Arriving with boxes of books for a classroom library brings excitement to the teachers as well as the students. There is an instant connection when a teacher picks out a book and talks about his/her relationship to the story. I love the way books reveal themselves to the students. The smile a Cliffford book always brings, my delight in finding Misty of Chincoteque in the hands of a child who loves horses (as I did)-and the conversation that followed, the way the children hold the books against their bodies when they discover they will be able to take them home, share with family, and bring them back to exchange for others. It makes winners out of all involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

I love the idea of kids giving to kids with the focus on reading. The response is always a positive one from the schools that I have visited. Often, many of the schools have been recipients of books from BWA in the past, which reflects their satisfaction with the program. The company is well organized and has been very easy for me to particpate as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

I hope you will be able to support Book Worm Angels. I have been volunteering with the organization for 5 or 6 years and continually feel great about how I spend my time working for them. As a volunteer I go and visit schools new to the program and schools getting additional visits every year as part of the program. The school leadership and teachers are always happy to see a rep from Book Worm Angels and always appreciative for the many book donation. I am always warmly greeted and thanks. And when they see the books? Well you can only imagine the emotional responses I have receved from the teachers to have these wonderful books so they can provide an active classroom library for their students. This is a quality organization that you can be proud to support. As BWA says, you must Read to Succeed. Please help them continue the mission. Thank you, Linda Cosby

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

Book Worm Angels is a great, leanly run, non-profit that gets books into the hands of kids at underperforming schools. BWA acts as an in-class lending library so that kids can easily take home books for pleasure reading. BWA coordinates book drives, collection, storage and delivery of the books to the school and is unique in that we return annually to replenish books at member schools.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers