Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 9, 2012

Arriving with boxes of books for a classroom library brings excitement to the teachers as well as the students. There is an instant connection when a teacher picks out a book and talks about his/her ... more

November 29, 2012

Collecting books and providing them for students in underserved areas has been a remarkable experience. The kids and other who donate are so supportive. The kids who receive the books, as well as their parents and teachers are most appreciative.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

Arriving with boxes of books for a classroom library brings excitement to the teachers as well as the students. There is an instant connection when a teacher picks out a book and talks about his/her relationship to the story. I love the way books reveal themselves to the students. The smile a Cliffford book always brings, my delight in finding Misty of Chincoteque in the hands of a child who loves horses (as I did)-and the conversation that followed, the way the children hold the books against their bodies when they discover they will be able to take them home, share with family, and bring them back to exchange for others. It makes winners out of all involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Book Worm Angels collects used children's books and gives them to public schools in Chicago and a few other cities. It's motto is "Kids Who Read Succeed," and that says it all. This program is well received by the schools and the students who are discovering the joy and the benefits of reading books. It is a low budget charity operated by hands-on board members and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 13, 2012

more

March 13, 2012

Wonderful organization supported by dedicated administrators and Board. BWA really makes a difference in the community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 12, 2012

more

March 12, 2012

Book Worm Angels unites two smart ways to help donors with books they no longer want and to foster reading that is fun for kids in underserved neighborhoods: promoting thoughtful recycling and encouraging kids to develop a love of reading. BWA efficiently collects gently used kids books for leisure reading from groups and individauls and distributes them to schools so teachers can establish and maintain lending libraries for their students. It works with more than 2 million received and given in less than a dozen years: Chicago Public Schools reports that schools with BWA lending libraries in youngsters' classrooms have the best reading scores. As a trustee, I find it very rewarding to visit the schools and help teachers leverage this resource.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2012

more

March 11, 2012

Bookworm Angels is a fantastic organization. Not only does it place books in children's hands, it places smiles on their faces and imbues them with a love of reading and learning.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

I love the idea of kids giving to kids with the focus on reading. The response is always a positive one from the schools that I have visited. Often, many of the schools have been recipients of books from BWA in the past, which reflects their satisfaction with the program. The company is well organized and has been very easy for me to particpate as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

Book Worm Angels is a brilliantly simple idea -- if kids don't have books at home to read, let them borrow them from in-classroom lending libraries full of recreational reading books kids love to read. And that's what Book Worm Angels does -- provide in-classroom lending libraries of 10 books per student. I've been working with Book Worm Angels for 9 years now, visiting schools, visiting book donors, raising money, and every year it becomes clearer how important it is to get books in the hands of kids. Perhaps the greatest reinforcement I ever had was when I was waiting in a school office to make a presentation to the teachers, and a 6 or 7 year old boy was sitting next to me -- reading a book. The Principal walked in and asked the little boy, "Do you know who this is?" pointing to me. "He's the man who brings all the books to us for you to take home." The young man leaped up, dropped the book, and hugged me. There is no greater compensation than that. Book Worm Angels now has books in over 4500 classrooms throughout the city, so over 100,000 kids have books to take home to read with their parents.

Photos

Videos

All About Book Worm Angels

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Also described above. Sure, we get reading scores and responses to our teachers from surveys, but there's nothing like a hug from a kid.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow faster.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

It was started by a friend of mine.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Raising money to get more books into the hands of more kids.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Same as short-term. It's the one thing we do, and we do it well.

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

Book Worm Angels is a magnificent organization, bringing thousands of books to inner-city school children, who would otherwise not have the access. The books are collected throughout area schools and neighborhoods and donated to classrooms, where children can bring books home from a lending library. The important part is that a reading environment is created in the home, so if books never make it back to the classroom, the students are not penalized.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

I hope you will be able to support Book Worm Angels. I have been volunteering with the organization for 5 or 6 years and continually feel great about how I spend my time working for them. As a volunteer I go and visit schools new to the program and schools getting additional visits every year as part of the program. The school leadership and teachers are always happy to see a rep from Book Worm Angels and always appreciative for the many book donation. I am always warmly greeted and thanks. And when they see the books? Well you can only imagine the emotional responses I have receved from the teachers to have these wonderful books so they can provide an active classroom library for their students. This is a quality organization that you can be proud to support. As BWA says, you must Read to Succeed. Please help them continue the mission. Thank you, Linda Cosby

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 9, 2012

more

March 9, 2012

I am a LRC teacher in the northwest suburbs. Part of my job is taking care of the library in our school. Book Worm Angels has given us a wonderful opportunity to give back to schools that are not as fortunate as we are. The contact people are wonderful and so appreciative!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers