Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

BINC and Kit, the agent who worked with me, changed my life in an extraordinarily positive way. I work for an Independent bookstore in Colorado. My boss was aware of my financial struggles before and after my hysterectomy. She encouraged me to ask for help and provided a link to BINC. My fears kept me silent until I was in danger of succumbing to the darkness of a deep depression.
As soon as I emailed Kit, her professional, efficient, and nonjudgmental leadership guided me throughout the process. Within a week, BINC paid the costs of my outstanding medical and doctor bills that my insurance did not cover. In addition, my overdue auto insurance bill. Words cannot express my gratitude sufficiently! I can now take action to pay it forward to others!
Books have been my lifeline, and BINC has helped me not to look away at the moment when I need to pay the most attention. With a grateful and joyous smile, thank you!!!!
August 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The BINC Foundation's work has been life-changing for me and my family. As an independent bookseller hoping to go back to school to become a librarian, I knew that It was going to be tough. I have a family, a four-year old, plenty of student loan debt from my undergraduate degree. I was working three part-time jobs to get by day to day. The thought of grad school loans seemed overwhelming and a massive risk. I put myself through college as a first generation student, and with BINC's help, I'll be the first in my family to go to grad school too. I am passionate about literacy and motivated to provide inclusive products and services that empower people to use technology and information to build community and make their lives better. I think the BINC Foundation shares this same mission, and I hope to carry on the non-profit's spirit as i pursue a career in instructional technology in public and school libraries. They are creating real impacts beyond the booksellers' community, and I am grateful. --Christina Czuhajewski, University of Michigan School of Information, Master of Science in Information Candidate '16

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

For too many, it is never easy to reach out for assistance when circumstances just don't turn out the way you anticipated. Pride, shame, fear, all of these responses come to mind. When I was left with no choice but to reach out to BINC to help me become current on my electric bill, I did so with a heavy heart.

The staff of BINC walked me through the process of requesting assistance and did so with compassion and professionalism. I am grateful that BINC was there to help and have since made contributions to BINC and have directed others looking for a worthy cause to do the very same.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I received an amazing scholarship from the Book Industry Charitable Foundation, and I am extremely grateful to them! They relieved much of the financial stress that I had. The best part is that I will have more time to focus on my studies because of this scholarship instead of trying to work so vigorously everyday and scrounge every penny I have. I have been gifted more time to work on my desired Pre-Med path at the University of Idaho while I major in Biochemistry and Biology. I also hope to obtain a minor in Mathematics. Using this degree and intense education, I hope to go to medical school to become a pediatric surgeon. Every cent that I obtain goes towards my expensive education and soon to be dream come true! Thank you so much Book Industry Charitable Foundation for supporting me and my dream to save the lives of children!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Book Industry Charitable Foundation has truly changed my life. About 5 years ago I applied for funds to help with an out-of-network surgery that I needed to treat a painful condition. They not only supplied the funds I asked for, but actually bumped up the amount citing the travel expenses and such that I had not factored in. Because of them, I am pain free and was able to return to a full quality of life that I wouldn't have been able to afford otherwise. The people who evaluate the applications truly care and go above and beyond. On top of that, I am returning to school for a Master's Degree this fall, and I was a recipient of one of their scholarships, which will eliminate or vastly decrease my need for student loans. Since I am still paying off my loans from my previous schooling, this is an incredible gift.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

really be unable to think of something. They are incredible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working two jobs and going to school for the past two years. The scholarship that BINC awarded me will not only allow me to work just one job, but will also reduce the number of loans that I will need to take out. The application process was straight forward and relatively quick and easy. Every interaction I have had with BINC has been very positive and friendly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

BINC was a lifesaver to my family when my husband was out of work due to an injury. As a bookstore owner myself, we rely on his salary to make ends meet. I am so appreciative of the financial help and peace of mind that BINC provided. And the application process was easy and didn't make me feel like I had to jump through a million hoops or explain every minute detail of our finances.
Thanks BINC!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Recently I began bi-weekly shots for my asthma which I will be required to take for at least a year. These medical expenses along with the necessary travel back and forth to the doctor's caused a financial hardship for me. The owner of the bookstore I work for suggested that I apply to BINC. I was hesitant because I know there are many other people who need help much more than I do and I felt awkward reaching out for assistance. Finally I completed the application and quickly received correspondence back from BINC. I was brought to tears when Pam replied that they would be able to help me catch up on some of the bills I had. I am eternally grateful to both Pam and Kit at the BINC foundation for all of their help, discretion and kindness that they showed to me. I would encourage any bookseller to reach out to BINC, don't be embarassed or shy...if they can help you, they will.
March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I work for an independent book store and heard about BINC from our Human Resources department. I was the primary caregiver for my elderly mother and when she required more care, I needed to take unpaid part- time family leave for about six months to care for her. Fortunately, my work allowed me to do this and was very understanding. However, it was a financial hardship. At the end of last year I was admitted to the hospital for a heart attack. Again, I missed a few additional days of work. The following month, my mother was admitted to the hospital where the doctor stated she didn't have long to live. Honoring her wishes, she returned home with the assistance of home hospice. Again, I needed to take the time off to care for her as she needed 24 hour care and home hospice does not offer 24 hour care. After my mother's passing I needed to take time not only to grieve, but plan her funeral and take care of paperwork and move her belongings from her apartment. This was a very stressful time with my mother's death and then having to take additional unpaid time off I was worried about paying my rent and bills. This is where BINC stepped in and helped me. The woman, Kit, who handled my case at BINC was extremely helpful, compassionate, and kind. She made the process of applying very easy and followed up continually in a timely manner. I was shocked and extremely happy to find out that BINC gave me a grant to pay for two and a half months rent and several bills. She even referred me to another organization called the Karis Group to assist me with my hospital medical bills. I am currently in process of working with them now. This has been a huge blessing for me as now it relieves some of the stress I was going through. I'm still stunned when I think of how much BINC has helped me. I didn't realize it would be so much. I am very grateful for this and will share this information with others in need. A HUGE thank you to BINC and Kit!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A month and a half ago, I slipped on the ice and fractured my fibula. Unfortunately, my injury necessitated surgery. During my convalescence, I was unable to work for over a week. Additionally, a blizzard hit in our beautiful state of MN and a few days after my return to work, I was unable to leave my apartment due to the fact that I was on crutches. Though I work full-time, my bookselling position does not afford me sick days. Needless to say, my lack of income during that time was very distressing. I applied to BINC and within two days of receiving my application they informed me that they would be covering my lost wages. THIS WAS SO INCREDIBLE! The book industry is not the most lucrative place to work, but organizations like BINC make it possible for independent booksellers to thrive. This is SUCH a necessary organization-- anyone in the bookselling industry can tell you that! I cannot thank BINC enough for the extreme support they have given me. I am so grateful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing. The experience was extremely easy. The application process was almost effortless and the staff was prompt and extremely wonderful to talk to.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers