Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.8755
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have 2 sons that are a part of this wonderful organization. The Bonnie Youth Club has provided an opportunity for young boys to learn America's greatest pastime. Through baseball my sons have learned the importance of working hard, striving to be their best and other life lessons that will prepare them to be great men. I believe the opportunities that this organization provides for young people will carry them along way in life. My sons have been exposed to other cultures and other parts of the country thanks to their experiences with the Bonnie Youth Club. It's a great place to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

This wonderful organization has my support because a makes a tremendous impact on the lives of young men in NYC. It helps them gain valuable life lessons and gives them an outlet in which to play the sport they love--- baseball. The volunteers in this organization offer guidance and support to these young men throughout their lives. As a testament to the impact this organization has many of the young men return as volunteers to pat it forward.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I've been involved with the BYC since 1980 and have found the entire experience extremely important, rewarding and worthwhile. Every year this organization helps hundreds of young people grow by providing them with positive alternatives to the many negative things going on when they're not at home or in school. The sports program and other extra-curricular activites, like trips and high school and college placement programs, point them in right direction. Many join as early as age 5 and are still with the program when they reach 21. The huge list of the clubs college graduates and distinguished alumni prove this. Everyone envolved with the program are volunteers and many of the current staff are kids that grew up "Bonnies", and then returned to give back. We need more nonprofit organizations like the BYC!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

At the age of 5, my son, Gil, joined the Bonnie Youth Club as an instructional league player. For nine consecutive seasons Gil has learned the game of baseball from a cohort of knowledgeable and dedicated coaches. He has gained a skill set which simply would have been beyond reach with another organization. Bonnie baseball is a way of life--there is code of conduct and an exacting level of commitment that is required. This cultivated discipline carries over into school life and the academic world. Bonnie ballplayers strive for excellence on the baseball field and in the classroom. Gil and his teammates are together whether they win or lose. They support each other through their success and failure. Their collective effort in the competitive world of youth baseball is the template for lifelong friendships.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I was a member of the Bonnie Boy Club for a few seasons, but in that short period of time, I was able to not only take my game to another level, but more importantly, I was able to make some great friends and memories that will last a lifetime. Thirteen years later, I still look back to our road to the World Series as one of the greatest summers of my life. Not only were the coaches/volunteers great baseball minds, they were even better leaders/role models to follow for young men of all ages. They encouraged hard work, discipline, respect, and accountability; key elements in the game of baseball, and in the game of life. This organization created, molded, and refined some of the city's finest baseball players and finest young men, and adults; myself included.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

My name is Alejandro Brown and I am currently an active player and coach with the Bonnie organization. The Bonnie organization not only saved my life but the lives of many inner city kids. They provide a structure for many of us. A good sense of directon not to mention a discipline that is needed to survive in the everyday world. So I would definitely recommend this organization to any parent if they want their kids to continue to become better young men and young women. Also have fun and win some championships in the process.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Joining the Bonnie's is an introduction to a support system that lasts all through your life. Great friendships are forged and the commaraderie that is fostered by this organization is outstanding! So many who have joined any one of their clubs have so enjoyed this non-profit that they have returned to sign up their children; and for some now, even their grandchildren. Please lend your support to keep the Bonnies!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Being one of Joe Bonnie's daughters, I pretty much grew up at the Parade Ground while my dad was coaching! For over six decades The Bonnie Youth Club has been keeping kids off the streets and out of trouble. The focus is not only about the sport but also "hitting the books". This helps mold it's player's minds and sets the foundation for them to have a chance at a successful future!! Being a player also gives them a sense of belonging to something and even a second family!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I first joined the Bonnie Youth Club as a baseball player back in 1962 at the age of 14 years old. After playing with the Bonnies for a few years, I became a manager with the organization in 1966 and have been with the organization ever since as a manager, coach, Athletic Director and President of the organization. Over the years I have seen many players of all ages join the organization, develop their athletic skills as well as their sense of sportsmanship and fair play and go on to be successful in High School and College both on and off the field and graduate and become solid citizens of the community. Many of them have gone on to become doctors, lawyers, engineers, teachers, policemen and firemen as well as professional baseball players. Many of them have returned to the organization as managers and coaches who are now volunteering their time to help the next generation of Bonnie players become successful. In many cases the organization has provided top quality athletic, recreational and educational activities for 3 and 4 generations of the same family. The organization has continued to grow and become stronger over the years. I look back with a great deal of pride at what the organization has accomplished over the last 63 years, and with the help of all of our wonderful volunteers we are committed to keeping the Bonnie Youth Club going strong for many years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I was introduced to the Bonnie Youth Club some 25 years ago when my sons joined the club to learn to play baseball. They not only learned the game, they learned, teamwork, volunteerism, sportsmanship, how to be student athletes and they made lifelong friends. As a parent I not only bonded with other adults but also ended up becoming a mentor and volunteer myself. The club helps inner city youth travel, balance school and books and hone their skills on the ballfield. There are so many young people who are touched by the work being done by the Bonnie Youth Club that now there are generations of ballplayers who can call the Bonnies home. The club's longevity is a testament to the good work they do for our kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers