Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.318185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I brought my daughter to BATS several times to drop off donations and socialize the cats. The volunteers are so dedicated and they always make us feel welcome. I always leave feeling warm and the life experiences my daughter gains are invaluable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I've volunteered with Bobbi and the Strays for a few events, and will definitely continue to do so! After visiting the Freeport shelter & seeing how many dedicated and caring individuals were involved in helping the rescued cats and dogs and seeing how well they were cared for, I realized what a great organization BATS was. Everyone involved invests a great deal of time to find the animals loving homes through the adoption/fundraising events, social networking sites, and the adoption screening process. The shelter is open 7 days a week, making it easy for anyone to visit and find their new best friend. It feels good to volunteer with an organization that really makes a difference in the lives of animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

Bobbi and the Strays is a wonderful rescue group. I not only foster but I also do the grooming for these poor babies. I have seen some horrible conditions and they are treated with vet care and love. Everyone there truly loves these animals. Knows them by name without looking at an ID tag. They socialize them, walk them and play with them. But there is never enough space and money with what comes in. I also foster and have adopted a few from there myself. Unfortunately I would love to adopt more but no room at my house either. I truly believe that as we work together and bring the community together that these pets will live in great homes (yes home checks too). Fundraisers help but since we are overloaded they do the best they can with what they have and a great job is done. Workers will bring a dog or cat home for the weekend of day just to get them out of a kennel situation. Like I said they have heart and soul and are so needed for all of the beautiful animals that walk in the doors. PLEASE HELP, we need as much as possible and the feeling you get back pays for itself ten fold. Thank you

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 6, 2011

In response to the horrible post. I volunteer for Bobbi and the Strays anywhere from 5-7 days a week. The volunteers that come in are consistent because I speak with and see them every week. Most imp... more

October 16, 2012

Bobbi and the Strays is the most amazing rescue group I have come accross, not to say there aren't others I do not like but there is just something truly special about BATS! Maybe it is the fact that it is an operation run by few paid staff and many wonderful volunteers, all super dedicated. Bobbi has dedicated her life to helping animals and helps so many people along the way, sacrificing "time for herself". I invite anyone to stop by and pay a visit to any of BATS locations to see what I mean!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In response to the horrible post. I volunteer for Bobbi and the Strays anywhere from 5-7 days a week. The volunteers that come in are consistent because I speak with and see them every week. Most importantly BATS takes excellent care of their animals, when they need to be vetted they are. The vets the organization uses are excellent...I know so because I see them in action and I take my own animals to them. In specific response to Autumn the puppy and her alleged broken leg...I was in the room while the vet was examining other animals, AUtumn was being a happy puppy in her properly closed caged, the only one to blame for anything are her irresponisble owners who dumped her on BATS. Cleanliness is highly exsistent organization wide. Bobbi, Laura and their staff as well as their team of volunteers are the most dedicated I have EVER seen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Bobbi and the Strays is a non profit where everything is about the animals. They do not discriminate taking animals based on breed, age, medical or behavioral issues. They rehabilitate all of the animals before finding them amazing "fur"ever homes. It doesn't matter if you are a worker, volunteer or potential adopter, everyone is made to feel like a huge part of the organization and that the organization needs you. Bobbi and the Strays cares for each one of the animals, giving them all special time and a place in their hearts. This organization is so special to me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Since working with Bobbi and the Strays I have made many new friends and connections. They have even done an educations, program in the school that I teach at!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel very important and needed!

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 5, 2011

Bobbi and most of her staff are the most dedicated animal lovers I know. She relies soley on volunteers and I'm amazed at how she makes it work. When all your money is going to caring for pets medic... more

October 16, 2012

Bobbi and her volunteers are always working hard to save and protect all homeless and abused animals!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Bobbi and most of her staff are the most dedicated animal lovers I know. She relies soley on volunteers and I'm amazed at how she makes it work. When all your money is going to caring for pets medical bills, it can be hard to keep up appearance, but what is more important? The animals health or the appearance of the shelter. Bobbi took over that shelter in horrendous condition and already made it look and smell ten times better than it ever was. Please don't know her or the organization as I'm sure in her life she has helped many more animals thus far than you. When you get you open up your own "legal" shelter with no money and survive on donations, let's see how you do. Right now she's helping as many animals as she can, animals that would be dead if they didn't arrive at that shelter. Stop and think before you talk. Words hurt, especially those that are trying their best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

My first time at the shelter was the night before Hurricane Irene .. besides being amazed at how clean everything was ( I spent an hour or more in the cat area -- I got to see all the cats and their environment up close) I was truly amazed by the dedication of the staff and volunteers. They worked round the clock (literally) to make sure all the animal were safely evacuated. I was so inspired I have kicked up my personal efforts to help animals, and have connected with many local rescue groups, all who have nothing but the highest regards for BATS! I foster cats for BATS.. and they came to me healthy and in very good spirits. The staff were amazing when I wanted to pull a momma cat and her new born kittens from the city shelter. They made arrangements for me to rescue the cat and her kittens and were completely supportive when the cats had to make multiple visits to the vet. They are a devoted group of people and should get all the support in the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I can't say enough about Bobbi and the Strays! The love for the pets in their care is very evident when I see the staff and volunteers at work. They are top notch! Bobbi Giordano, along with her staff and volunteers, never stop in their quest to find every pet a forever home. They work tirelessly to ensure that every pet is safe and loved. Laura and Christine are always willing to help rescue animals from bad situations. They are truly amazing! The pets are harbored in a clean and comfortable environment and they know they are loved. And that is very important. It is a pleasure for both myself and my boyfriend, Chris, to go there weekly to walk dogs or visit with the cats. It's a wonderful feeling to know people who care so deeply for our furry friends...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is an amazing shelter. The staff and volunteers are wonderful and caring and go above and beyond their duties to take care of the animals. The animals become their own and their children. Animals are given medical attention when needed and fed a high quality diet. This shelter goes above and beyond to take good care of its animals. When you walk in the door, it is a very welcoming place. You are immediately taken back by the warmth of the people. The animals are treated great and taken out as often as possible. There are volunteers who take the animals to the park, out for long walks, and on overnight sleepovers. This is a wonderful place to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

A strong shelter with a very dedicated staff and a nice group of volunteers. The shelter is extremely well run and I always felt welcome and appreciated as a volunteer. Volunteers here are an important part of the team which is sometimes not the case elsewhere. The cats and dogs are very well taken care of. The shelter utilizes Pawsative Training which does very impressive work with the dogs and dog handlers. A very good operation!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers