Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.318185
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I can't say enough about Bobbi and the Strays! The love for the pets in their care is very evident when I see the staff and volunteers at work. They are top notch! Bobbi Giordano, along with her staff and volunteers, never stop in their quest to find every pet a forever home. They work tirelessly to ensure that every pet is safe and loved. Laura and Christine are always willing to help rescue animals from bad situations. They are truly amazing! The pets are harbored in a clean and comfortable environment and they know they are loved. And that is very important. It is a pleasure for both myself and my boyfriend, Chris, to go there weekly to walk dogs or visit with the cats. It's a wonderful feeling to know people who care so deeply for our furry friends...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Bobbi and the strays are a wonderful shelter! All the staff there care so much for the dogs that they all want you to keep in touch after you adopt a dog cause they love seeing how happy that dog has become! They are concerned and helpful even after the animal goes home , as most shelters don't care, once the animal has left! They take wonderful care of the dogs and work really hard on getting them ready for adoption! I would absolutely recommend this shelter to anyone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is an amazing shelter. The staff and volunteers are wonderful and caring and go above and beyond their duties to take care of the animals. The animals become their own and their children. Animals are given medical attention when needed and fed a high quality diet. This shelter goes above and beyond to take good care of its animals. When you walk in the door, it is a very welcoming place. You are immediately taken back by the warmth of the people. The animals are treated great and taken out as often as possible. There are volunteers who take the animals to the park, out for long walks, and on overnight sleepovers. This is a wonderful place to be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I have attended the Walk-4-Paws event for the past two years. This amazing event brings the community together to not only raise money for the organization, but to also raise awareness for various other groups in the area. Additionally, two years ago my students raised over $800 to help a dog at the shelter that was in need. As a thank you, the organization came to our school, educated the students on animal care and awareness, and allowed the students to play with a puppy. Bobbi and the Strays is an amazing organization and I always recommend them when someone is looking for a dog or a cat. Their staff is incredible, always available to answer questions and assist you in any way that they can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

A strong shelter with a very dedicated staff and a nice group of volunteers. The shelter is extremely well run and I always felt welcome and appreciated as a volunteer. Volunteers here are an important part of the team which is sometimes not the case elsewhere. The cats and dogs are very well taken care of. The shelter utilizes Pawsative Training which does very impressive work with the dogs and dog handlers. A very good operation!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

As a potential adopter I was shocked by the way we were treated..so rudely like the lady had something more important to do other than help us find an animal to adopt. The building smelled like feces and urine. The animals we saw all needed grooming and from the looks of it more food and medical attention. There were dogs and cats with gooey eyes and most looked underfed. Needless to say we did not adopt from this shelter but we did adopt and we are grateful for Harvey and would not change a thing about our adoption process with him. I can not believe there is no state agency that governs the cleanliness of the facilities and animals as to allow this place to continue to do business.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I am responding to a rumor, I am a volunteer at this shelter... LOVING staff, COMMITTED volunteers.... the animals love the staff and us volunteers we hope so :) because we love them. Let's focus on the animals rather than personal vendettas. Bobbi & the staff I thank you for committing your life to the animals... shelters are hectic we get that.... sometimes not everything is perfect, AGAIN, we get that! Instead of bashing organizations lets work together and lay out the problems and solve.... come on... we are all adults here. Isn't all of this for the animals.... or is it not? NEXT TIME WHEN YOU MAKE AN ACCUSATION trying visiting the shelter more than once.....speak your opinions and be heard!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

Live in Queens and have visited this facility many times- its wretched. I retrieved a dog from them with MANY medical issues and a year later am still paying out of pocket for it. I am currently reading the drama on their Facebook page and what's funny is they have all these goat followers speaking on their behalf and the trashy garbage that is coming from their mouths is disgusting. This place needs to be bulldozed- unhealthy, and full of trashy people, I feel extremely bad for all the animals in there. Poor souls.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 5, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

THIS ORG FALLS VERY SHORT of decent care for the STRAYS. IN 2011 they were aware of a Canine Flu outbreak in their shelter and did not act pro-actively. They continued to adopt out dogs, had rounds and rounds of a variety of infectious disease. They use a vet in Queens, who is little more than a butcher. OBSERVED in this shelter: commom filth, animals standing in their own filth. CASES of mishandled animals: Stella broker her jaw fence fighting another dog next to her...rather than being proactive, they allowed this to escalate at the detriment of the dog. A female Pit Brooke was adopted out un-spayed to a man who they later learned had an un-nuetered male and un-spayed females in his home (a breeder? yes.) Autumn a shep/pit puppy came in walking on all 4's...but had a leg break because she fell out of her top crate due to the less than stellar staff not ensuring her crate was properly locked. This is a sampling of the events of 2011. ON HUMAN CAPITAL: i fostered for them for 8 months until i attended an adoption event that led to 2 days later (proper incubation period) for full blown K9 influenza which not only my foster succumbed to, but the dogs i own personally. Bobbi did not take ANY responsibility for this horror, financially or personally. ON other human capital..volunteers are not maintained...there is a very quick rotation as they have issues keeping good people. ON BEST PRACTICES: they do not have an isolation room for newcomers therefore all animals are in general population..where sickenss and infections run rampant and go round and round. ON CLEANLINESS: it is dirty, the grounds are dirty, waste is left longer than it should be. The smell is overpowering. MISC. dogs are walked but not frequently enough, they are frustrated by lack of exercise. ON HOARDING: they are little more than horders with lack of good care, medical and otherwise. they pull animals from the CACC, but don't offer much more than the C does to improve quality of life. SPEND YOUR $$$ WISELY...go to a properly run organization

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Does wonderful work helping rescue, adopt and care for dogs and cats. Has recently taken over a 4th location at Freeport New York.

Bobbi is a very hard worker dedicated to welfare of all her animals, all money donated goes directly to the facility. They accept any type of donation aside
from money, blankets, towels, left over dog and cat food supplies etc.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seen their facilitates and how clean they are and the hard work all the people do

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them raise more money and expand the Shelters

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers