Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.347835
Write A Review
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

I have been with Bobbi and the Strays as a volunteer since I adopted my dog about 6 years ago. Bobbi and the volunteers work tirelessly to ensure that all the animals in their care are nurtured, loved and placed in loving homes. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a new best friend.
November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I brought my daughter to BATS several times to drop off donations and socialize the cats. The volunteers are so dedicated and they always make us feel welcome. I always leave feeling warm and the life experiences my daughter gains are invaluable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I've volunteered with Bobbi and the Strays for a few events, and will definitely continue to do so! After visiting the Freeport shelter & seeing how many dedicated and caring individuals were involved in helping the rescued cats and dogs and seeing how well they were cared for, I realized what a great organization BATS was. Everyone involved invests a great deal of time to find the animals loving homes through the adoption/fundraising events, social networking sites, and the adoption screening process. The shelter is open 7 days a week, making it easy for anyone to visit and find their new best friend. It feels good to volunteer with an organization that really makes a difference in the lives of animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The staff and volunteers at Bobbi and the Strays work tirelessly every day to give the animals the best care possible. They are selfless and resourceful which allows them to care for over 300 animals daily without compromising the quality of care - even when it means they have to stay at the shelter two hours later than normal or dig into their own pockets to buy specialty food for a dog or cat with allergies etc They always are more than willing to go to the extra mile.They have an awesome volunteer vet who comes three times a week plus relationships with several clinics and specialists. they take in dogs that need eye surgeries, cancer dogs that need chemo, heartworm positive dogs that need treatment, diabetic cats that need daily care, FIV kitties and even have a sanctuary for Felv kitties. They have volunteer trainers who train the staff and new volunteers and work with the hard case animals taking them to classes and on hikes in the morning with other dogs to help socialize and train them. They do off site adoption events almost every weekend to maximize exposure and generate awareness. They are open 7 days a week from 11am to 7pm, 365 days a year to ensure that its easy for the public to come in and adopt.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

Bobbi, her staff and all the volunteers that make up Bobbi & The Strays are true heroes for the animals. I have had the good fortune of getting to know a few of them personally over the time I have been involved in rescue.

This group of loving and compassionate people sacrifice everything
in their lives to be there for the hundreds of animals that need them each day in their shelters. Many of these animals require extensive medical care, training and even rehabilitation. They offer rescue to the hard cases, that many would shy away from. And not only are these amazing people there physically day in and day out, but they are there emotionally for these animals. Animals that until coming to Bobbi’s rescue have not known the gentle touch of a loving hand.

This is why it is extremely important that Bobbi & The Strays be recognized and supported by the community. They are there for these innocent animals when no one else is. We as a community need to be there for them.

Sloane Quealy-Miner

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I am a huge supporter of Bobbi and the Strays! The way they take care of the animals is souly led from their LOVE for animals. They take animals that most shelters will not take due to the need of training or medical problems. This does not stop them from wanting to help. Taking over the Freeport facility has changed the life of every animal that was there. They were living in filth and in desperate need of medical attention. The cats and dogs are now in very clean, comfy, and loving environments! They are healthy and extremely loved by each staff member and volunteer as if it was their own pet. They are non stop and go over and beyond for every single animal! Even the feral colony they have outside are treated the way any good pet owner would treat their animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

Bobbi and the Strays is a wonderful rescue group. I not only foster but I also do the grooming for these poor babies. I have seen some horrible conditions and they are treated with vet care and love. Everyone there truly loves these animals. Knows them by name without looking at an ID tag. They socialize them, walk them and play with them. But there is never enough space and money with what comes in. I also foster and have adopted a few from there myself. Unfortunately I would love to adopt more but no room at my house either. I truly believe that as we work together and bring the community together that these pets will live in great homes (yes home checks too). Fundraisers help but since we are overloaded they do the best they can with what they have and a great job is done. Workers will bring a dog or cat home for the weekend of day just to get them out of a kennel situation. Like I said they have heart and soul and are so needed for all of the beautiful animals that walk in the doors. PLEASE HELP, we need as much as possible and the feeling you get back pays for itself ten fold. Thank you

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 6, 2011

In response to the horrible post. I volunteer for Bobbi and the Strays anywhere from 5-7 days a week. The volunteers that come in are consistent because I speak with and see them every week. Most imp... more

October 16, 2012

Bobbi and the Strays is the most amazing rescue group I have come accross, not to say there aren't others I do not like but there is just something truly special about BATS! Maybe it is the fact that it is an operation run by few paid staff and many wonderful volunteers, all super dedicated. Bobbi has dedicated her life to helping animals and helps so many people along the way, sacrificing "time for herself". I invite anyone to stop by and pay a visit to any of BATS locations to see what I mean!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In response to the horrible post. I volunteer for Bobbi and the Strays anywhere from 5-7 days a week. The volunteers that come in are consistent because I speak with and see them every week. Most importantly BATS takes excellent care of their animals, when they need to be vetted they are. The vets the organization uses are excellent...I know so because I see them in action and I take my own animals to them. In specific response to Autumn the puppy and her alleged broken leg...I was in the room while the vet was examining other animals, AUtumn was being a happy puppy in her properly closed caged, the only one to blame for anything are her irresponisble owners who dumped her on BATS. Cleanliness is highly exsistent organization wide. Bobbi, Laura and their staff as well as their team of volunteers are the most dedicated I have EVER seen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Bobbi and the Strays is a non profit where everything is about the animals. They do not discriminate taking animals based on breed, age, medical or behavioral issues. They rehabilitate all of the animals before finding them amazing "fur"ever homes. It doesn't matter if you are a worker, volunteer or potential adopter, everyone is made to feel like a huge part of the organization and that the organization needs you. Bobbi and the Strays cares for each one of the animals, giving them all special time and a place in their hearts. This organization is so special to me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Since working with Bobbi and the Strays I have made many new friends and connections. They have even done an educations, program in the school that I teach at!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel very important and needed!

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 5, 2011

Bobbi and most of her staff are the most dedicated animal lovers I know. She relies soley on volunteers and I'm amazed at how she makes it work. When all your money is going to caring for pets medic... more

October 16, 2012

Bobbi and her volunteers are always working hard to save and protect all homeless and abused animals!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Bobbi and most of her staff are the most dedicated animal lovers I know. She relies soley on volunteers and I'm amazed at how she makes it work. When all your money is going to caring for pets medical bills, it can be hard to keep up appearance, but what is more important? The animals health or the appearance of the shelter. Bobbi took over that shelter in horrendous condition and already made it look and smell ten times better than it ever was. Please don't know her or the organization as I'm sure in her life she has helped many more animals thus far than you. When you get you open up your own "legal" shelter with no money and survive on donations, let's see how you do. Right now she's helping as many animals as she can, animals that would be dead if they didn't arrive at that shelter. Stop and think before you talk. Words hurt, especially those that are trying their best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers