Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.588245
Write A Review
May 10, 2011

more

May 10, 2011

Bluebonnet Equine Humane Society (BEHS) and their President/Executive Director, Jennifer Williams, PhD., are both highly respected in the horse rescue community.

Founded in 2005, Bluebonnet has taken in over 535 horses into their fostering program, a program implemented by Dr. Williams
when she was President of Lone Star Equine Rescue which she co-founded in 1998. While many rescues operate from a single facility, BEHS has a large-scale foster home network, which can help more horses and the horses benefit from one-on-one hands on care and attention from their foster home.

I am one of the original co-founders of BEHS, I have served as an officer, a director and now a volunteer and foster home. Having been on both sides of this organization, it is well run especially considering there are over 500 members spread across Texas and parts of Arkansas and no single office/facility location. BEHS has an active volunteer staff and many more members who volunteer to foster, help with fundraising activities, inspections on the horses in foster care, inspections on foster homes before a volunteer can foster and inspections on adoptive homes. Many volunteers spend countless hours per week of their time, to help the equines through Bluebonnet.

BEHS' web site at www.behs.org will give you more information about this organization including policies/procedures and financial information.

  

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In many areas from 2005 to present

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not to the organization itself, but would like to see more members who could foster so the organization could help more horses.

May 10, 2011

My experience with Bluebonnet Equine Humane Society has always been quite satisfactory. Having been with several other rescue groups, I can say that this one does try to go above and beyond in its quest to help the horses that are in need. Sure there have been growing pains as they have grown over the past few years, but we are one of the most respected rescue groups in Texas and continue to help out with law enforcement agencies during these difficult times.

It appears that the disgruntled poster that is claiming that BEHS operates illegally, is just that....someone that is angry about some worng that they feel they received and wants to discredit a fine organization. If you know of some illegal activity that is going on and you have proof, you should be informing the authorities, not spreading false statements on review boards.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

2007-10

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

May 10, 2011

Bluebonnet is one of the equine rescue groups served by Special Horses, Inc. They do a remarkable job of serving horses in the wide expanse that is Texas. We are proud and pleased to be able to help them in their efforts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Assisting them with fundraisers and outreach - their finances are used well, and they are scrupulously honest and transparent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they would receive the financial and volunteer assistance to help them grow larger and serve the great need.

May 10, 2011

My Bluebonnet story is an unusual one from most.

For the last 29 years I have been involved with AQHA and APHA show horses.

In 2009 my World Champion show horse was killed in a veterinary accident. I was heartbroken and didn't even want to go to the barn. There was nothing
anyone could say or do to ease the pain.

A friend saw information about Bluebonnet's Rescue Horse Training Challenge. She e-mailed me the information and I logged on to the BEHS website to learn more.

I knew this was my chance to turn a horrible tragedy into something positive. I looked at the horses that were eligible for the Challenge and selected stock type horses (since that is my area) and was assigned to BEHS 252 AKA: Maximus.

Coming from the snooty world of show horses I figured I was in for a real lesson on what being a cowboy really means. I arrived at the foster home where Max was being held for me and found a chubby, little sorrel gelding standing quietly in a stall.

He stuck his nose in the halter and walked out to and into my horse trailer. No chasing him around trying to catch him.....no hour long waiting game begging him to get in the trailer....this boy was smart and tame. He surprised me.

Max rode 2 hours without so much as moving a hoof. He even stood quietly beside the Interstate while I helped a guy change a blowout on his horse trailer. Max unloaded quietly and we got to work, preparing for the Challenge.

Max learned a lot those few months, but most of all, he gave me a reason to go to the barn. Where I had previously dreaded going out there and seeing my show horse's empty halter hanging on the front of an empty stall, I now looked forward to working with Max and teaching him new things that would help him find a forever home.

Max won the 2009 and 2010 Rescue Training Challenge Non-Pro Divisions and was Reserve Grand Champion Overall, both years.

While at the 2010 Bluebonnet Expo Max found his family. It sounds weird, but HE literally picked THEM out. We all knew it was meant to be. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect family to adopt a more perfect horse.

Thank you to all the volunteers and donors who generously give of their time and money, to the foster homes who bring horses like Max back from the brink of death and to the families who open their hearts and barns to these wonderful horses.

And thank you to Max, the little, red horse with a "speckled" blaze, for helping to mend my broken heart. I truly believe that the time I spent with Max helped me a million times more than it helped him.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have worked with BEHS since June of 2009. You could not ask for a better group of people! Their main focus is to help rescued horses be rehabilitated and taught the necessary skills to find their forever homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

May 10, 2011

The group is not very organized. We are an organization of many members and only a handful really do much of anything. This could grow so much, but they do not allow it. People do not know how many animals are not being saved. Jennifer Williams was kicked off of Lone Star because of how she handled the financials. She pays herself now and should not be on the board and also getting a salary. Since she handles the group lists, she was able to stop all communication when Lone Star kicked her out. Horses suffered and volunteers had nobody to turn to. Luckily, Jerry Finch came forth and continues to make a difference. Bluebonnet turns down horses all the time and they are not in compliance with the law. Jennifer Williams tries to control everything and they have lost many people because of her and she should step down and let others make a difference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

2008

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new board!

May 10, 2011

I run Bluebonnet Equine Humane Society and serve as the President, Executive Director and volunteer.

I am fortunate to work with a great group of people who dedicate themselves to helping horses, donkeys and mules.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Running the organization, fostering, volunteering.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers and create a better volunteer program that would include volunteer recruitment, retention, training and rewards.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

design a new flyer or brochure for the rescue, list ads for horses for adoption on websites, conduct an adoption or follow-up inspection, check out a neglect case. Volunteer