Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1.52345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

We are experienced dog owners and were very specific in requesting a SUBMISSIVE male dog good with other dogs. Things went well when we drove to another state to pick up the dog BRBR recommended for our family, and we brought our new dog home. within a few days there had been several fights between our current dog and our new dog. We were encouraged to continue, and assured it would work itself out. I wrote all the required updates advising the rescue staff of our inability to leave the dogs in the house together, the dominance issues, and trips to the emergency vet. None of my requests for help were addressed, nor did we receive any of the promised support. It has been over a year and the dogs continue to fight. It breaks my heart that the boxer we adopted and love is now back on their site for adoption because he isn't safe in our home. We have agreed to keep him here while waiting for a new family. I couldnt help but notice they are asking $250 for his adoption and requesting people sponsor him. Outrageous! He lives with us and we pay for everything. What a sham. They weren't honest about his behavior. They weren't honest about the support they offered. And they clearly aren't being honest about where the money is going. Shame on them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put the dogs first. Stop making promises they don't intend to keep. Be honest with people. We didn't expect perfection, but we did expect support if something went wrong.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I moved to NC a few years ago and began to look for a group to volunteer for. I had been involved in dog rescue in New England for several years. Blue Ridge Boxer Rescue is an organization of the highest quality. They care for all their rescues as if they were their personal dogs. The foster family provides food and flea treatment. The rescue for provide heart worm treatment and all other medical care. The volunteers work tirelessly to raise funds for these poor unfortunate dogs who through no fault of their own have had a tough life. The rescue also screens prospective adopters very throughly. After all the dogs have had more than their share of questionable care. This rescue is of the highest caliber.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 12, 2014

I adopted my boxer from Blue ridge. They did an excellent job matching me up to my dog. I was very impressed as its a volunteer based organization only.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Never ceases to amaze me how bad this organization is.

Don't foster or volunteer for them unless you have very deep pockets - because you'll probably never really get reimbursed for those medical expenses they made you pay for for your foster. And you really will need to have a lot of
excess money with everything this group expects their fosters to pay for. Monthly flea meds, a new collar and leash to go with them when they are adopted. Medications they don't stock (sometimes you'll get your money back, but don't count on it).

They continually take in dogs when they can't even fully vet the dogs they have in their program. They'll have a dog that needs special surgery but they can't pay for it - but will still continue to take in other dogs. Shouldn't your priority be the dogs you already rescued? And I use the word "rescue" lightly.

They browbeat their volunteers and heap guilt upon them if a dog the coordinators want to pull can't be pulled because "no one stepped up". It's not a matter of stepping up, it's a matter of some foster homes actually knowing their limitations and knowing that they need to be able to care for the dogs they already foster and not take on any more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They should be disbanded. They should lose their non-profit status - they certainly do not have any regard whatsoever for the State of North Carolina's rules and regulations for non-profits because they don't follow them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

What a TERRIBLE ORGANIZATION. I mean, I understand the frustration, but this is how one of the board members and coordinators talks to people/volunteers on their google groups form for all volunteers and foster homes. VERY SAD.

Written by Sonya, coordinator:
I feel like this rescue
is crumbling out from underneath me!
If you can foster either of these 2 dogs please email me privately. I really need to find somewhere for them to go by Thursday.
I leave Friday & you guys, I REALLY cannot do rescue while I am away. I simply cannot. So many people seem to throw their husbands in my face, so I just want to say for mine that he puts up with more than I can even explain or that most of you understand & I refuse to let rescue ruin our 1st vacation in 5 years. I am sorry to sound harsh, but I am stressed, overwhelmed & just a little pissed off right now. I hate feeling this way b/c it is not me, I feel like I am going to EXPLODE!!!!!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They are terrible. They are unorganized. They don't always take back returned dogs in a timely manner (which all other rescues do). They browbeat and yell at their fosters and volunteers. They do not do required legal paperwork as required by the State of NC. They do not manage their finances. They are a singularly awful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Everything. They need new board members, new management policies, new volunters policies, new everything.

April 18, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 18, 2011

I had a HORRIBLE time with this agency. I said up front what I can and can't work with- NO aggression towards my other dog or cats. The dog I got was a sweet dog one on one, and he loved my dog, but he wanted to nom my cats, and that is UNACCEPTABLE. I had to play animal tetris to keep everyone away from each other. Then I couldnt walk him anymore, because while he liked my dog, he would bust off his collar to try to nom other dogs. I liked him, but I lived alone, and this was beyond my abilities at that time. When I told them after a week he was too aggressive for me and he needed to be moved, it took a week to move him, and they acted like I was irresponsible for requesting a new placement. I was treated pretty poorly for having boundaries and "not giving it enough time" though I was upfront from the beginning. In the meantime, he had horrible worms, I told them that up front, I asked for the funds for medical care, the medical director at that time left for a week to Italy, no one wanted me to take him to the vet until they could get a "good vet deal" it took so long for them to approve him, I then had to treat my own praphylactically treat my own dog, which cost me out of my own pocket, though she had just had her annual checks.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

n/a

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get better organized and do more fundraising.

April 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

We adoped a boxer from this rescue center in January. We told them we needed a dog that was house broken, crate trained, and good with small children. What we got was a dog that was very loveable but not crate trained, not house broken, and above all NOT good with small children. This dog ripped up $500 of berber carpet, stained about $1500 worth of regular carpet, and above all BIT our 4 year old daughter 3 times! When we contacted them they said that it was due to the dog not getting enough exercise. That is complete crap! The dog we had was the most lazy dog you have ever met... all she wanted to do was sleep.... we tried playing with her, walking her, running with her, etc and she would just sit there and look at you. They told us that we needed to work with a trainer... the trainer called us one time and left a message, when we called her back she never returned our call. We were finally able to get someone to come and get the dog from us due to the fact that we could not trust it around our child. When the volunteers showed up to pick her up, they did not know her name, did not know why she was being picked up, and treated us like we were the ones at fault. NOT one person contacted the "director" to let her know what was going on with the dog they placed with our family. Now I can not get one person from the organization to contact me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Not one person has contacted me

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They need to be shut down!

February 4, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2011

This group continues to operate outside the bounds of the laws of North Carolina for non-profits. They do nothing to fix the problems, in effect giving the laws and controls "the finger". Right now they have a REVENUE SUSPENDED status beaue they have failed to comply with the requirements of the Department of Revenue pursuant to N.C.G.S 105-203(a)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NOTHING GOOD. They are in violation of state non-profit laws but they ignore the fact that they are in violation (if we ignore it, maybe it will go away?).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put people in charge that know what they are doing and have regard for the same laws that everyone else has to abide by.

January 4, 2011

more

January 4, 2011

Will the madness ever stop? This rescue takes in a very sick pup - that is awesome, that is why there are rescues around. However, they then put him in a foster home that can't afford to feed him the quality food he requires and instead of paying for the special food (most rescues would), they browbeat their existing volunteers into donating money to buy the food. Their existing fosters already spend so much money every month on things like food, treats, flea meds (because this rescue doesn't provide it), and even having to buy a new collar and leash when their foster gets adopted for the new adoptive home because it's required by Blue Ridge. And now they want their already overtaxed fosters to buy special food for a dog. The rescue should step up and buy it.

Also, this rescue does not microchip all of their dogs. But yet they have lots of dogs get lost. Microchip the dogs. It's not that expensive. And don't say it's a money thing. There are some things you do because it's the right thing to do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This is NOT a good sound rescue. They are severely mismanaged.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start all over again. Make sure they are managed properly. You can rescue with your heart without getting in over your head.

December 2, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
December 2, 2010

Does this group even know what the heck they are doing? They expect the foster homes to be solely responsible for noting all health issues for their dogs. And while I agree that foster homes should be involved, it should clearly be the responsibility of the medical coordinator to track all medical issues for the dogs in their program and ensure the new foster homes and adopters are fully aware of all of the facts. To say the medical coordinator can’t track all that is a load of crap. It is her responsibility. Unless they have 500 dogs in the program, she should be able to keep track of all that. But they don’t, they have an average of a 100. And many other rescue groups out there have one central person that tracks all this and they have the same amount of dogs or more in their program than Blue Ridge. This rescue needs to record this information in a central database or another tracking system. This is absolutely ridiculous. It’s just another way of passing the buck for their mistake and blaming a foster parent. This “rescue” needs some major overhauling. It is in sad shape. They should not be allowed to take in any more dogs until they have all their ducks in a row.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They save dogs from kill shelters. but they also consistently hound (and hound is the correct word) their foster homes to take in more dogs than the foster home can handle. that is not right. overcrowding a foster home is not the way to ensure all dogs get the care they need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

TOTAL OVERHAUL or shut it down!

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers