Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BSO provides unparalleled entertainment as well as educational opportunities. From the musicians and director to the board members, talent and dedication abounds at the BSO. Few other cities can boast of such a well run, talented, and positive organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BSO is a premier example of the rich culture of the Arts in Bloomington, Indiana. From the orchestra's masterful performances to the educational programs for the community's youth, every city should be so lucky!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Bloomington Symphony Orchestra offers a rich and supportive outlet for amateur musicians to join together and share their talents, but it provides a much broader series of meaningful services for the local community. In my time with the orchestra, first as a volunteer musician and now as a board member, I've been able to take part in a series of remarkable musical musical events, from tackling monumental works in the standard classical repertoire--i.e., Mahler's first symphony--to introducing stringed instruments to children at an event designed to let kids "Meet the Instruments." Without deviating from its core mission of creating a space for musicians in the community to gather and perform, the BSO supports a series of educational and arts advocacy programs. For example, the orchestra maintains a collection of instruments that it repairs and loans to you musicians in Bloomington, it regularly collaborates with community artists and arts organizations, and it presents a free annual children's concert. Plus, I would be remiss if I didn't mention the incredibly dedicated, dynamic, and welcoming people who the make the orchestra special. The BSO is truly a gem.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BSO is a wonderful organization. It's dedicated to bring music to the world, and it is a huge benefit to the whole community. It's a place for people to play music with one another, and a way for those who don't play instruments to learn about music. I am very proud to be associated with the BSO.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having served both as a player and a member of the Board of Directors, I have been privileged to participate in different capacities with this outstanding community orchestra. Composed of professionals and accomplished amateur players, the BSO has consistently performed at a high level since I first joined the group in the late 1980s. Most recently, under the guidance of Charles Latshaw, this remarkable group has expanded its repertoire and provided thoroughly enjoyable concerts. Bloomington is fortunate to have such a dedicated and gifted group of people who enjoy sharing their talents with the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

The Bloomington Symphony Orchestra has changed my life. I play with the orchestra, support it financially, serve on the board and promote it every chance I get, because I love this group and am incredibly grateful for the many gifts it gives me. Our Music Director is a constant source of inspiration - he brings a depth of understand and sheer joy for the music that I've never seen anywhere else. He loves Mahler, Tchiakovsky, Beethoven, Ravel...all the greats, and he makes us love them too. I've been involved in other non-profits before, but this is the first one that has reached me in such a profound way. Music has become the single biggest joy in my life, and it's thanks to this orchestra that I can finally acknowledge that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to pay the Music Director a living wage.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Play with the orchestra (rehearsals typically run 2.5 hours per week)

Usher at a concert

Attend a concert

Help with fundraising (stuff envelopes, contact supporters, etc.)

Help with the Children's Instrument Recovery Program Volunteer