Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For many years the Bloomington Symphony Orchestra has provided accessible concerts with a lovely combination of the classic and the challenging. Living in the shadow of an internationally known school of music, the BSO plays an essential role in reaching out to the non-university-affiliated and in working with high school students to help them see how to keep music in their lives. In recent years, the concerts have been especially engaging and informative. The collaborations with other arts organizations, the players' enthusiasm for their conductor, and the great music they make together have been a truly wonderful gift from the orchestra to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful music, wonderful people, wonderful experience for all who get to hear Bloomington Symphony play the programs they perform for Bloomington, Monroe County and surrounding areas. Small groups from the Symphony also bring performances to retirement communities for those who can't attend the entire Symphony performances. The small groups bring a special treat to all who get to hear them play. They are all very special people and performers. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are many great things you can say about the BSO: its broad repertoire, its high level of technical skill, and its professionalism in performance, to name a few. However, my favorite part of the orchestra is its heart. From the energy of the performances to their community outreach, the BSO brings a level of passion and personality that demonstrates that these musicians consider the group to be much more than a simple organization. I highly recommend that the community continued to attend its fantastic concerts, and that any interested musicians join! Ever since I moved away from Bloomington I have missed the BSO dearly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was my pleasure to have served the Bloomington Symphony Orchestra as first a Stage Manager and then as General Manager. In these capacities I witnessed firsthand the dedication of each of the volunteer musicians and board members. Not only do these musicians provide exquisite music for the residents of Bloomington at affordable concerts, they provide a free concert in the park for every citizen that chooses to experience a live symphony that they would otherwise not have the opportunity to enjoy. These concerts have been so successful that after a year experimentation of moving it to a more intimate location the city’s parks department chose to move it back to a larger location to accommodate all of the people that bring their whole families to enjoy the music in the park.
Additionally, this volunteer organization receives donated instruments, rehabilitates them and provides them to children along with lessons given for free by dedicated musicians. These children would have little to no ability to rent instruments or pay for lessons in their communities.
Furthering this mission the BSO, as it is fondly referred to, conducts “side by side” concerts in which children from the local schools play side by side with the orchestra members, providing them with an experience that they may never forget and inspires them. Not least the BSO provides a small prize to a local child who shows talent and dedication with their instrument of choice. Perhaps most notably a very young Joshua Bell was awarded this prize many years ago.
I reiterate that this is a volunteer orchestra, with musicians that are professional as well as those who have other careers yet play at a professional level. It is, in my opinion, a shining example of volunteerism in the arts community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The music programs of local schools and communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them provide the communities with more concerts. Although they already do at least 6 concerts each year. I would also help them with more outreach activites via media outlets.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through a job search. It was a life changing experience that has continued to benefit me to this day.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Play with the orchestra (rehearsals typically run 2.5 hours per week)

Usher at a concert

Attend a concert

Help with fundraising (stuff envelopes, contact supporters, etc.)

Help with the Children's Instrument Recovery Program Volunteer