Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Bloomington Symphony Orchestra is an inclusive group that provides great music to Bloomington! The BSO has unbounded passion for music and camaraderie that brings Bloomington and Monroe County musicians of all ages and professions together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Bloomington Symphony Orchestra has been able to build a phenomenal sense of community - not only through its performances, but also through outreach programs like the Children's Instrument Recovery Program (ChIRP), side-by-side concerts with local schools, a youth concerto competition, and Meet the Instruments (where school kids get to try out the different instruments of the orchestra). Volunteers and audience members all agree that the BSO is something special in our community, and I'm very proud to say I've been a volunteer with this organization for the past 15 years. There really is something special about the BSO.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BSO is a wonderful organization. It's dedicated to bring music to the world, and it is a huge benefit to the whole community. It's a place for people to play music with one another, and a way for those who don't play instruments to learn about music. I am very proud to be associated with the BSO.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful music, wonderful people, wonderful experience for all who get to hear Bloomington Symphony play the programs they perform for Bloomington, Monroe County and surrounding areas. Small groups from the Symphony also bring performances to retirement communities for those who can't attend the entire Symphony performances. The small groups bring a special treat to all who get to hear them play. They are all very special people and performers. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Bloomington Symphony is an unique, and extraordinary musical group. Our conductor leads and rehearses us in a way which brings us to a higher level than we have ever played. Because he believes we can and cheerfully challenges us, we accomplish an incredible concert every single time. The results are remarkable because most of us play well, but very few of us can claim professional status. Our results are the most professional of any community orchestra I've ever seen. We play for the joy of performing such wonderful pieces. We also often have students from different parts of the world. I have shared a stand with Russian, Chinese and German cellists and it has always enriched me. It is a fabulous group with which to perform.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love playing in the Bloomington Symphony. It is a great group of people that make everybody feel welcome. Everybody gives their best and it results in some great music. I really enjoy that in the concerts the background given about the pieces is for everybody and not just classical music snobs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are many great things you can say about the BSO: its broad repertoire, its high level of technical skill, and its professionalism in performance, to name a few. However, my favorite part of the orchestra is its heart. From the energy of the performances to their community outreach, the BSO brings a level of passion and personality that demonstrates that these musicians consider the group to be much more than a simple organization. I highly recommend that the community continued to attend its fantastic concerts, and that any interested musicians join! Ever since I moved away from Bloomington I have missed the BSO dearly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was my pleasure to have served the Bloomington Symphony Orchestra as first a Stage Manager and then as General Manager. In these capacities I witnessed firsthand the dedication of each of the volunteer musicians and board members. Not only do these musicians provide exquisite music for the residents of Bloomington at affordable concerts, they provide a free concert in the park for every citizen that chooses to experience a live symphony that they would otherwise not have the opportunity to enjoy. These concerts have been so successful that after a year experimentation of moving it to a more intimate location the city’s parks department chose to move it back to a larger location to accommodate all of the people that bring their whole families to enjoy the music in the park.
Additionally, this volunteer organization receives donated instruments, rehabilitates them and provides them to children along with lessons given for free by dedicated musicians. These children would have little to no ability to rent instruments or pay for lessons in their communities.
Furthering this mission the BSO, as it is fondly referred to, conducts “side by side” concerts in which children from the local schools play side by side with the orchestra members, providing them with an experience that they may never forget and inspires them. Not least the BSO provides a small prize to a local child who shows talent and dedication with their instrument of choice. Perhaps most notably a very young Joshua Bell was awarded this prize many years ago.
I reiterate that this is a volunteer orchestra, with musicians that are professional as well as those who have other careers yet play at a professional level. It is, in my opinion, a shining example of volunteerism in the arts community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The music programs of local schools and communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them provide the communities with more concerts. Although they already do at least 6 concerts each year. I would also help them with more outreach activites via media outlets.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through a job search. It was a life changing experience that has continued to benefit me to this day.

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having served both as a player and a member of the Board of Directors, I have been privileged to participate in different capacities with this outstanding community orchestra. Composed of professionals and accomplished amateur players, the BSO has consistently performed at a high level since I first joined the group in the late 1980s. Most recently, under the guidance of Charles Latshaw, this remarkable group has expanded its repertoire and provided thoroughly enjoyable concerts. Bloomington is fortunate to have such a dedicated and gifted group of people who enjoy sharing their talents with the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BSO is an amazing group of hard-working musicians with an inspiring, motivating conductor who pushes the group to be more, musically speaking. Many people work diligently behind the scenes to allow the group to do what it does and to promote their efforts in the community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Play with the orchestra (rehearsals typically run 2.5 hours per week)

Usher at a concert

Attend a concert

Help with fundraising (stuff envelopes, contact supporters, etc.)

Help with the Children's Instrument Recovery Program Volunteer